Customer Reviews for

3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I was completely heartbroken with this one. (those that have read it know why) I take my nook and read on my lunch break. I came back from lunch with tears in my eyes. Some don't understand how people get THAT into a book. But its just been that great of a read. This ha...
I was completely heartbroken with this one. (those that have read it know why) I take my nook and read on my lunch break. I came back from lunch with tears in my eyes. Some don't understand how people get THAT into a book. But its just been that great of a read. This has been a wonderful series thus far and I highly recommend these books. Can't wait to get further into the series, though it will never be the same.

posted by sdquick on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Crazy About This One Compared to the Others in the Series

This one lost me a bit. The plot was not as interesting as the others and what happened to one of the girls is very, very disheartening. I can't imagine how the series will recover from this one, it just won't be the same. (I guess I will see). In addition, Claire w...
This one lost me a bit. The plot was not as interesting as the others and what happened to one of the girls is very, very disheartening. I can't imagine how the series will recover from this one, it just won't be the same. (I guess I will see). In addition, Claire was markedly absent in this one. It didn't seem like the whole team was really a part of this one. I guess you would need to read this one in order for the following books to make sense, however, I didn't find it as enjoyable as the others.

posted by NurseKelley on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson doesn't disappoint, ever

    I've read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series by James Patterson. Although 1st To Die was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Lindsey and Claire, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. Patterson has never disappointed me with his Alex Cross Series either. I highly recommend Jack and Jill. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I love the books, but have found I can get them cheaper in paperback on Ebay. If I have to pay $10 a book for these, it's not worth having the nook or the kindle apps. Very sad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Another page turner

    Hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great again!

    Great again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Great

    I have never been disappointed Keith one of Mr. Patterson's books. I love the characters and when there is a series, I must read them all. I would recommend this book and also the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A speedy thrill ride!

    Crime fiction is now supposed to contain a twist. Same with movies now. Readers are now looking ahead to the twist. Here, Patterson is sending the reader in one direction and the whole time I'm assuming that it won't go that way. That there's a red herring and then a twist. So, I was pleasantly surprised here when the author did what I thought he wouldn't do. While, yes, some of the other elements are predictable the book is good. A super fast read but a good book with intense drama and radical antagonists. Not the most complex novels but an entertaining and emotional book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    3RD Degree (Womans Murder Club 3)

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Good read !

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    If you like good detectives and a great story line read this book. I would suggest you read the first two books in thw women's murder club series to become acquainted with the main character.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    <3

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great Read!!

    I love this entire series so far!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    All womens muder club books are fantastic!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Good read!

    This book wasn't "jump-up-and-down" fantastic but it was an enjoyable read. Fast paced and quick reading, typical James Patterson. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Perfect Addition to an Awesome Series

    It can be difficult to keep a mystery series interesting and surprising but the Women's Murder Club has demanded my attention over and over again. I love mystery books because I enjoy the puzzle and the game of trying to figure out the ending before it is over; however, this series keeps me guessing. Also, it is the only series that has taped into my emotions as well as my need to figure things out. With characters that you cheer for, villains with no specific pattern or motivations, and victims that require nothing less than justice, this is a book that misses no qualification. I could not put this book down for many reasons and would highly recommend to anyone who is an avid mystery lover or simply looking for an easy and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    Death Cycle

    James Patterson is by far one of the best authors I've read.While I read his books, I tend to get a vision on what's happening. Lt. Lindsay Boxer who works in homicide is a strong, and courageous worker. She calls three of her friends for help to solve murders. I like Lindsay because even though she has a weak stomach, she still goes on wth her job. I recommened that all James Patterson books should be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Right in line

    Are James Patterson's books perfect? Not by any means. But they're entertaining as heck. In the same line as First to Die and Second Chance, THIRD DEGREE does not let up from page one till the end. Fast and easy to read, I'd highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    What a woman to do?

    This was not a bad read.I read it in 3 days.Read books for yourself and dont get discouraged by reviews.Patterson does a great job and all his books are good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    Outstanding as always

    Once again I am not let down by the wonderful, every detailed and explainatory ways of writing. I love the suspense the realness of all the stories written. Once again, great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Edge of Your Seat Thriller!

    Though I prefer the Alex Cross novels, I'm quickly becoming a fan of Lindsay Boxer and The Women's Murder Club series. 3rd Degree is Patterson at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Enjoyable read!

    When Lindsay and Jill feel that nothing of can wreck an enjoyably quiet afternoon in San Francisco, a townhouse in front of them explodes. Thus ends the peacefulness and starts the adventure as ¿August Spies¿ starts a rampage of violent acts throughout the city driven under the umbrella of political terrorism. Just to drive the interest up a notch, the upcoming economic summit will surely be the idea target for ¿August Spies¿. James Patterson is noted for fast-paced tales with twist and turns. However, some of the small points in the story just seemed to be thrown in with little reasoning because the writer appeared to run out of ideas to justify them. This doesn¿t affect the overall story, but it is a tad disturbing and something I hope the author leans away from in future projects. Still a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7