Customer Reviews for

The 4 Day Diet

Average Rating 3.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Must-Read!

I've been on many diets over the years and have gained and lost stupid amounts of weight. But my best success was almost three years ago, I bought Ian Smith's book, The Fat Smash Diet and lost 60 pounds. I was able to keep it off until six months ago and have gained 25 ...
I've been on many diets over the years and have gained and lost stupid amounts of weight. But my best success was almost three years ago, I bought Ian Smith's book, The Fat Smash Diet and lost 60 pounds. I was able to keep it off until six months ago and have gained 25 pounds. I promised myself that I would lose the weight in the beginning of the year, and wanted something new to try.

The 4 Day Diet rules!!!The first part--motivating us to lose--is exactly what I needed. I've done the detox and two of the seven other 4 day diets and they are all easy to follow.

I would also like to recommend yoga to help stay motivated. It's what I stopped doing when I gained the weight. I'm doing it again and it reminds me to take care of my body, to treasure it.

Here's another weight loss tip for those searching to keep on your diet. As an interior designer, when I help clients get rid of clutter, make their homes beautiful, they feel pampered.I have seen remarkable changes in clients--weight loss, meeting new partners, etc. when I help transform their homes. One book that helped me learn a ton is HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET.

Anyway, I am really enjoying The 4 Day Diet because each module is so different and I crave that. Nothing is worse than a diet consisting of eating the same old stuff day in day out.

I have also tried several of the recipes and they are quite good--good enough to eat when you are not even dieting!

Buy this book--Smith motivates you to diet and provides lots of good stuff to eat!

posted by NormaHartie on January 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick weight loss

If you want to lose some weight in 4 days, then this book is for you. I really like Dr. Smith. But, I do think this will work for those who want a lifestyle change and effort. It will be my back up when I put on few pounds after vacations.

posted by juliecruise on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Must-Read!

    I've been on many diets over the years and have gained and lost stupid amounts of weight. But my best success was almost three years ago, I bought Ian Smith's book, The Fat Smash Diet and lost 60 pounds. I was able to keep it off until six months ago and have gained 25 pounds. I promised myself that I would lose the weight in the beginning of the year, and wanted something new to try.<BR/><BR/>The 4 Day Diet rules!!!The first part--motivating us to lose--is exactly what I needed. I've done the detox and two of the seven other 4 day diets and they are all easy to follow.<BR/><BR/>I would also like to recommend yoga to help stay motivated. It's what I stopped doing when I gained the weight. I'm doing it again and it reminds me to take care of my body, to treasure it.<BR/><BR/>Here's another weight loss tip for those searching to keep on your diet. As an interior designer, when I help clients get rid of clutter, make their homes beautiful, they feel pampered.I have seen remarkable changes in clients--weight loss, meeting new partners, etc. when I help transform their homes. One book that helped me learn a ton is HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET.<BR/><BR/>Anyway, I am really enjoying The 4 Day Diet because each module is so different and I crave that. Nothing is worse than a diet consisting of eating the same old stuff day in day out.<BR/><BR/>I have also tried several of the recipes and they are quite good--good enough to eat when you are not even dieting!<BR/><BR/>Buy this book--Smith motivates you to diet and provides lots of good stuff to eat!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good general idea

    I ordered this book after reading an abbreviated version of the diet in Grazie magazine.

    The first half of the book is mostly motivational. Some of the tips are good, but if you have ever read a dieting article or website you've heard most of it before. However, it is nicely packaged and easy to read.

    The real reason most people will be interested in this book is the 'modular eating plan' that takes up the third quarter of the book. The 4 day diet is really a series of 7, 4-day eating plans. Some of the modules contain a food list for each day, on some modules you eat the same basic foods for all four days. The modules vary in intensity. All of the modules rely heavily on fruit, vegetables, and legumes, with some lean meat or fish and brown rice thrown in here and there. In some modules, this is pretty much it, but in others, you get to relax a little and eat pizza, pasta, even burgers.
    The food lists are fairly detailed, but they can be ambiguous. There is not much counting or complicated measuring, which makes things simple. But if you just followed the food list exactly, your food would be incredibly bland. I'm pretty sure it is ok to add, for example, some ginger and garlic to the 2 cups of leafy green vegetables, or some ground cumin to the brown rice, but there is no mention of this in the book. I think that if I didn't add some flavour to the foods listed, I might not want to eat some of them. Who eats plain, boiled beans? Especially four days in a row?
    Luckily I am used to making food from scratch and I am pretty comfortable in the kitchen. Otherwise, I might not know what to do to make the food taste decent.

    There are some recipes in the back of the book which look good, but they appear to be completely unrelated to the eating plan outlined in the book. I guess you could cross-reference the ingredients with the foods prescribed for each day, but this would be really time consuming, since every day is different. Also, some of the recipes contained ingredients that were not in any daily plan OR the snack list. So I'm not really sure what the point of the recipe section was.

    Also, the book doesn't seem to be edited very carefully. There are things like a "vegetarian" soup calling for chicken broth and references to things that haven't previously been mentionned (juice from the cooked vegetables, when no vegetables have been cooked).

    After all that, the diet plan is good. I'm not a nutrition expert, but it seems like the plan is well-balanced. I like the emphasis on real, whole, foods as opposed to diet products. I also like the shift towards legumes as an alternate source of protein.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    This is the best little so call diet book ever... I have to lose some weight is it a must, so I got this book, I was thinking it maybe like all the rest, but I saw him on TV, the doctors show and I said I would buy it and try it ... and I did...

    I have lost 18 pounds reallly EIGHTEEN, and I started on July 1, 2009 Wednesday. I weight myself every Monday morning. I started off at 278, on July 6, I was 270 yep! I didn't feel sick just a little tired. July 13, 268. July 20, 263. July 27, 260.5 If this keeps up, well what can I say I will be one happy, healthy person. What have you too lose, a little time reading on how to lose some of those pounds, read it and do it. and oh I didn't get paid one red cent for this, and I don't know the guy, but the way things are going so far I do love him, and his book...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book helped me!!!

    I purchased this book with the attitude of it not working but to my surprise it did. I followed the modules as directed and in 1 week, I lost 6lbs. I didn't do the exercises but had I followed them, I probably would have lost more. There is no calorie counting but I do recommend keeping a journal to jot down what you're eating. The best part about this book is that if you mess up, you can always start over and no one will ever know. I would recommend this book if you're trying to get the weight off without surgery or medications.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    I lost 42 pounds in 11 weeks!

    I absoultely love this man for making this book! It changed my way of thinking when it came to exercise, food and most importantly myself! I highly recomend it to anyone wanting to change for the better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    It Works

    I saw Dr. Ian Smith on the Rachael Ray Show a few times and I liked what he had to say. I tried other diets that try to help you change your life style but I could never stick to them for more than a few days-I would just get bored. I love how he gives you 4 day modules. The diet is really for the rest of your life, but it's broken up into modules to step you up to better eating habits. I really enjoyed the book and all the motivational stuff at the beginning, which I usually regard as frufru but it was very nice and informative. So far I'm through 2 of the modules and I haven't been hungry yet. It looks like a very little amt, but I never felt starving/deprived. I also have a job where I sit all day (definitely not active) so that might make a difference. but I also didn't eat everything in the list for the day and wasn't hungry. My biggest hurdle has been cheese-I LOVE CHEESE. And that's really the only thing I've missed despite my wicked sweet tooth. Hope that helps. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends/family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Fabulous plan, but you need to be motivated!!

    I loved this diet plan because everything is so well laid out that it made it so easy to follow. Tip: I took the food lists from each phase and put them in a spreadsheet so I could keep track of what I could eat each day. It really helped me stick to the diet. I will admit that the first 4 days are the hardest and you'll want to give up, but don't! You'll be happy when you see the results! The list of snacks is awesome, too! I found things that I really like to eat and didn't feel deprived from the junk that I loved. I found that at the end of the whole plan (28 days), my body was better programmed in figuring out how much I should be eating. It actually made me feel sick if I ate too much! This sounds gross, but I think because of the cleansing your body goes through, your typical bodily functions don't smell as badly. :) In the end, I lost just under 20 pounds and my husband lost somewhere between 25 and 30 pounds. We took a break from it this summer but are starting back up again soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Lost 17 Pounds!

    I'm on day 25 of the diet & I feel as though it has changed my life drastically. I've lost 17 pounds. This is the first diet that I have stuck to. I've been trying to lose a little bit of weight for years but I have had a hard time sticking to a specific regemin. I love that Ian has each day spelled out for you. This book is meant for serious dieters... you really have to stick to the plan and measure out your food. There are ways to give yourself variety between snacks, different salads, and switching up the fruit and vegetables. The first couple of days are the hardest -- but if you stick to it you'll have no regrets!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    It's only 4 days.....yeah right!

    So, I have been on this weight loss journey for about 6 years. So far I have lost 75lbs and I still have a ways to go. I was losing at an OK rate, but I really wanted to step it up! So my sister recommended this book. I read and then WORKED 2 of the 4-day modules and I lost 6lbs.

    PLEASE, try this book if you would like to change your lifestyle but not give it up.

    about the book

    The book is a good read if you're new to weight loss. The beginning of the book devotes a great deal of time into the how's and why's of weight gain. This part may not be what you want to hear but it really helps pin-point a couple of problem areas in your diet and/or exercise routine. By the time you finish reading all the fat info, you're ready to get on the modules. The modules are really just for four day each, but the idea is to keep the modules going. Anyway, read, do the modules, and you'll be dropping weight left and right.

    Also, the recipes in the back of the book are yummy! Well, as least the three I have tried.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Intense.

    If you want to lose some weight in a short amount of time--four days, to be precise--then this might just be the diet for you. I really like Dr. Ian and his advice and thought the diet was good, but maybe a tad too disciplined for me. But, I do think it will work for others who want to put in the time and effort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Beginning of MY Journey

    The 4 day Diet is a great read and inspritational to the soul. It is clear and understandable why so many have lost so much weight by following Dr. Ean path to self discovery. I have only read 4 chapters thus far and I am proud to say this will give the modivation to make the changes I need to succeed at my weight lost goals.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Very Good

    The 4 Day Diet is easy to follow, if you have the discipline. Dr. Ian teaches you how to mentally be prepared to reach your goals. Don't consider this a diet, but rather a way of learning how to make wiser food choices.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    I love it

    I like that is spells out exactly what to eat and drink. Not only am i loosing weight but learning how to eat more healthily. So even when im not specifically following the diet in the future, i wll be more concious of what im eating and how much. This is defenitely a good guide for people who generally dont diet but want to shed some pounds and learn how to incorporate more healthy food choices in their diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Good book

    Great book for new dieters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Dr. Ian is great. I have watched him for several years on Celebrity Fit Club and I trust what he says. He seems to be very knowledgeable in his field of work.

    I have watched Dr. Ian on Celebrity Fit Club for several years and know from what the contestants say that if you follow his diet plan from the book that it really works. I am hoping that it does work. I have read the book and Dr. Ian has written it in plain English. It is very understandable and the diet looks like it will be very easy to follow. Alot of diet books spend three-forth of the book going into complicated research and science to prove their results. But this book goes straight to the point and doesn't bore me with alot of details I don't want to read.

    I am eager to get started on Dr. Ian's diet and see for myself it it really works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2