Customer Reviews for


Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Each track features some interesting and delightful guest appearances

    Larry Sparks celebrates forty years of expert playing and singing with a generous 16-track album that immediately makes one sit up and take notice. Just inside the 28-page CD jacket full of photos and liner notes is the statement that “When the roll is called up yonder, Larry Sparks will stand among the greatest country singers in history.” Robert Oermann’s notes explain that by choosing the bluegrass music field, Larry Sparks has not achieved the fame, recognition and airplay of big-time country singers. However, some used to affectionately refer to him as “The Elvis of Bluegrass.” From southern Ohio, Sparks who now lives in Indiana began singing and playing bluegrass when he was only five years old. His sister Bernice taught him to play guitar. In 1965, Sparks’ first professional job (at age 18) was as guitarist with The Stanley Brothers, replacing George Shuffler. After Carter Stanley died in late 1966, Larry Sparks took over as the lead singer with Ralph Stanley and the Clinch Mountain Boys until 1969 when he formed his own band, The Lonesome Ramblers. Released in March 2005 and produced by Don Rigsby, this album features an all-star cast of Andy Griggs, Alison Krauss, Ricky Skaggs, Rhonda Vincent, Kevin Denney, Stuart Duncan, Ralph Stanley, David Harvey, Randy Kohrs, Chris Jones, Josh McMurray, Tom T. Hall, Ronnie Bowman and many others. Each track features some interesting and delightful guest appearances from Larry’s friends and supporters. For example, Krauss sings with Sparks on “John Deere Tractor,” and Vince Gill joins him on an up-tempo rendition of “Blues Stay Away From Me.” The Isaacs provide some exceptional vocal harmonies of “Where the Sweet Water Flows,” a song written by Larry and his sister. Halfway through the project, an a cappella version of “I Need Jesus” with The Marshall Family is very tastefully rendered. Following that is the up-tempo “Sharecropper’s Son” which is rendered with an arrangement faithfully close to the first song that Larry recorded with Ralph Stanley on May 7, 1967, complete with harmonica provided by Kirk “Jellyroll” Johnson. In October 2004, Larry Sparks won the International Bluegrass Music Association’s Male Vocalist of the Year Award. He closes “40” with a rawboned version of Homer Jackson’s “New Highway,” with guitar, bass, mandolin and with Larry singing all three vocal parts. This album is a must-have to fully understand and appreciate the talent and depth of one of bluegrass music’s most respected and cherished stylists. But if one were just to think he’s a vocalist, don’t be mistaken. Check out the instrumental “Carter’s Blues” with top guitarists Kenny Smith, Vince Gill, Tim Stafford, and Jim Hurst sharing the breaks with Sparks. (Joe Ross, staff writer, Bluegrass Now)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1