Customer Reviews for

40 Days for Life: Discover What God Has Done... Imagine What He Can Do

Average Rating 5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    This book is filled with true stories of heart changes and eyes

    This book is filled with true stories of heart changes and eyes being opened to the truth. It is inspiring to know that people still care enough to help someone in need! I love the prayers and thought provoking questions and comments throughout the book. As a post-abortive woman myself, it encourages me to know that people are willing to stand in the darkness to bring light to a dark and dreary place...to bring hope where hope has been lost, and to bring the love of Jesus to those who are scared and hurting! This book is a must read, but don't let it stop there, go out and do something to make a difference in the lives of men and women. It is an honor to be a part of such a great thing that God's hand is clearly on!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    40 Days for Life is a book you must read. Whether you are acti

    40 Days for Life is a book you must read. Whether you are actively or passively pro life, a participant or leader in a local 40 Days for Life effort, someone who has experienced abortion, or even a clinic worker at an abortion facility, you will find yourself
    among the cast of characters in the true stories that make up this book. A great book to read on its own or as part of a devotional during an upcoming 40 Days for Life campaign, it will inspire you and encourage you as you see how prayer can make a difference. If you’ve ever doubted where God is in the midst of the pro life efforts, buy this book today and start reading; you’ll find He’s calling each of us by name, one by one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    This book is an amazing personal witness of lives transformed. F

    This book is an amazing personal witness of lives transformed. For anyone who seeks to understand the motivation behind someone working in the pro-life movement, the testimonies offered here offer the best possible explanation. Pro-lifers are often stereotyped as angry, combative, and closed-minded. Here, one finds stories of transformation, compassion, forgiveness, courage, and dedication. So many lives have been changed - and saved - by the 40 Days For Life movement. I cannot recommend this book highly enough!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    As someone who has participated in 40 Days for Life efforts, I w

    As someone who has participated in 40 Days for Life efforts, I was looking forward to reading this book because I wanted to read about the experiences that others have had while praying at their vigil sites.  After reading the first couple of chapters, which tell the story of how 40 Days for Life began, I honestly wasn't sure that I was going to like the book all that much - I had heard these stories many times before, and thought that I was just going to hear them simply retold in book format.  Wow, was I wrong!!!  The book is wonderfully and expertly written in a way that is much more than just a collection of stories.  It really tells the story of what it's like to be involved in 40 Days for Life in a cohesive and intelligent way.  It can be read as a book, or used as a devotional - either way it's just inspirational!  I found myself truly touched by so many of the beautiful stories.  I had tears streaming down my face as I read about the pain so many women face, and about how God shows his love to them through the selflessness of these heroic people.  As I was reading the book, I found myself asking over and over again, 'What more can I do?  How can I help these women?'  I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has been involved in pro-life ministry, to anyone who is silently pro-life but has never actively been involved, to those who have been turned off by the actions of some people in the pro-life movement, to anyone who is questioning why bother doing anything at all, to anyone who has a heart for the women who are in crisis pregnancies... I recommend this book to everyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Having been involved in 40 Days for Life campaigns for the past

    Having been involved in 40 Days for Life campaigns for the past four years, I was excited to read more about it.. From the opening chapter I was hooked. I laughed, cried, marveled and rejoiced my way through all forty chapters, recognizing many of my own feelings in many of the shared stories. I could especially relate to timid Mark in the chapter titled "The Downpour". The "God-incidents" sprinkled throughout are amazing. I would encourage everyone to do themselves a favor and read this book, for encouragement if you're a long time pro lifer or enlightenment, if you're not.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I loved the book. It gave a complete history of the 40 Days for

    I loved the book. It gave a complete history of the 40 Days for Life movement. The statistics of the babies saved is what caught my attention. The ending of abortion is done one on one and this book inspires people to be on the line with true options for the mothers and love in their approach. Thanks for the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    I loved the book so much...I laughed and cried...and cried some

    I loved the book so much...I laughed and cried...and cried some more...you both did such a great job of capturing the emotions of 40 Days for Life.  I especially enjoyed the format of 40 days of prayer.  I hope to use this book to challenge pastors and other religious leaders to become more involved in our pro-life efforts, especially our 40 Days for Life campaign.  I will be buying this book in bulk!  I hope to put this book in the hands of as many people as possible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    A captivating must read on the journey that had humble beginning

    A captivating must read on the journey that had humble beginnings and, in a few years, has grown to the most recognized and respected pro-life movement in the world. If you're among those who say "I can't possibly do this"; "It's not for me"; "I believe in it but let someone else do it", this book is for you. As you read the awe-inspiring stories of personal journeys, you will know that you can do this and make a difference in the culture of life. You may never know the impact of your witness to passers by, the abortionists and staff, and the opposition but be certain that you do make a difference. Once you take the first step, your life will be forever changed through your personal experiences with the power of prayer. As insignificant as you may feel, your peaceful, prayerful presence can save lives of babies, their mothers, fathers, and families. You can do this! Trust in God and follow His plan for your journey in the 40 Days for Life movement.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    "40 Days for Life: Discover what God has done...Imagine wha

    "40 Days for Life: Discover what God has done...Imagine what God can do"- indeed. How appropriate a title for the stories contained in the book. People just like you and I, who just take the first step, which seems so small in comparison to the enormity of the issues surrounding us today. Time and time again we read how God takes the first step and uses our efforts in such a simple action to move hearts and minds and to save the lives- not just of the babies, but of the women who find themselves in need of solutions and support. Like in Chapter 6- 2 men are praying in a downpour in front of the building. No signs. Just standing and praying for an hour. At least one of them didn't even really want to be there. It was his first time and he didn't see what use he could be in front of an empty clinic, in the rain. But shortly after he was there, a young woman and her husband drove up, and she later came out of the clinic, running to the men standing in front, thanking them for being there and giving her the hope she needed. Oh my goodness. All the stories, the tears, the laughter, the heartbreak. There are prayers and meditations for each of 40 chapters, so you can read it all on one day, or choose to read a chapter each day for 40 days, or even do both. Truly a wonderful, motivational book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I purchased this book prior to the 40 Days of Life campaign, but

    I purchased this book prior to the 40 Days of Life campaign, but kept it to read during the prayer vigil. I have read it each day thus far, as has my husband, and we have both been challenged and blessed by it. The short chapters take you into the lives of people from many different walks of life who have been touched by abortion. From stories of abortion workers, to women receiving abortions, to those praying and reaching out to save babies, these stories are personal and bring home the realities of abortion in your home town.

    If you want to remain untouched and unmoved by abortion, don't read this book. This is your warning that you may not stay in your comfort zone; but if you are willing to open your heart to what is happening....and potentially could be happening in your home town, read this book. You will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    This book is truly inspiring. It is a vital tool for anyone inte

    This book is truly inspiring. It is a vital tool for anyone interested in stamping out the evil of abortion. The stories related will tear at your heartstrings and inspire you to be active in participating in your local 40 Days for Life Campaign. You will discover the power of prayer, fasting and constant vigil. When your descendants read this book years later, they will be horrified to know of this evil and will wonder what part you played in its demise. Please treat yourself to this book. You will not have to brag about your ancestors but will give your descendants something to remember you by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    "With God all things are possible."  I have been pro-l

    "With God all things are possible."  I have been pro-life all my life, but it has been frustrating to stay motivated to keep up the fight against legalized abortion in the 40 years since Roe Vs. Wade.  Two months ago I'd never heard of 40 Days for Life.  Then I became involved in organizing a 40 Days for Life campaign in my hometown and had the chance to preview the 40 Days for Life book.  What an inspiration!  It has infused me with such enthusiasm and encouragement as we plan the spring campaign.  The stories in the book are amazing!  They tell of hearts changed and lives saved by the power of prayer and the witness and work of ordinary people seeking to do what God has called them to do.  The use of Scripture and reflection after each chapter is a powerful tool.  I read the book quickly because I couldn't leave it unfinished.  Now I want to re-read it and absorb even more of its power.  READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    40 Days for Life is an amazing movement because it has made a di

    40 Days for Life is an amazing movement because it has made a difference in at least 6, 000 or more lives
    that we know of. This book
    contains the inspiring stories of the lives saved. I read it in one sitting because I couldn't put it down. It is a book filled with hope because of the difference that ordinary people can make with God's help. This book is a must for anyone who is pro-choice, for anyone who has suffered from post-abortion-syndromw and for all who are pro-life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    great book. looking forward to this 40 days for life even more.

    great book. looking forward to this 40 days for life even more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    This is an important and timely publication for two reasons. Fir

    This is an important and timely publication for two reasons. First, it will lift the spirits of prayer volunteers everywhere and spur them to even greater participation in the effort to save lives. Second, the book effectively details the history and mission of 40 Days for Life by focusing on the day-to-day faithfulness, energy, and successful outcomes of this grass-roots campaign that encourages ordinary Christians to trust God and put their faith into action.

    This book does an admirable job of covering the many different aspects of 40 Days for Life, with each chapter illustrating very well a different way that the campaign has touched people's lives, made an impact, or taught an important lesson. God is given the credit throughout, from planting the idea for the first campaign to spreading the campaigns throughout the world, and for all of the guidance and answers to prayer that have occurred.

    Each chapter is important for illustrating a different point, and all are very interesting to read. I was especially touched by "Jakai," which tells how a new prayer volunteer was instrumental in saving the life of a baby boy. It describes the supreme hope of every person who stands vigil -- to see a life saved as a result of his faithfulness and prayers. What an encouragement to read accounts like this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    This book was a ¿shot in the arm¿ on so MANY levels. I read it

    This book was a “shot in the arm” on so MANY levels. I read it in record time … could hardly put it down. Read the reflections at the end of each story carefully. Then pray the prayers with the authors! I have been involved in 40 Days for Life for 5 years … heading into my 10th campaign. This book helped take the word “weary” out of my vocabulary! And it helped me focus on Christ and brought me Hope! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    The book "40 Days for Life; Discover What God Has Done . .

    The book "40 Days for Life; Discover What God Has Done . . .. . Imagine What He Can Do" takes you into the 40 Days for Life movement in a unique and moving way. You will have the feeling that you are sitting with friends and hearing them share stories of their experiences. The stories take you to the sites, struggles and ministry of pro-life like nothing else. The witness to human life - baby, mother and father -is moving and inspiring. This is a wonderful, easy read that I would emphatically recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    This book has come at a most important time. I hope that many wi

    This book has come at a most important time. I hope that many will make the choice to read this book. After reading this book I feel empowered and educated to join in the Pro-Life movement. I hope you do too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I especially enjoyed chapter 5, "Downpour." It speaks

    I especially enjoyed chapter 5, "Downpour." It speaks to my own fears of moving beyond my comfort zone. I need to do a lot of telephoning for Communty Outreach. Telephoning is definitely beyond my skill set and talent. I do it anyway; I do it scared. If I don'tdo it scared, it won't get done. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Chaplain Pete

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Inspiring, challenging, and just what you need if you've never p

    Inspiring, challenging, and just what you need if you've never participated in 40 Days for Life and want more info or if you need something to relight your passion for standing for life! The first 5 chapters of this book tell the story of how 40 Days for Life began... if you've been a part of a 40 Days for Life campaign, whether helping coordinate one or simply participating once - it will give insight that you've never known! The format of the book makes it easy to read - each chapter is short and only takes a few minutes to read. You could read one chapter a day or fly through the book in one sitting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6