Customer Reviews for

44

Average Rating 4
( 465 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Great story

A quick read, about 150 pages. Wonderful characters, great story line. Did not see the ending coming, great twist to the story. Recommed highly!

posted by Elaine301 on October 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

.....

The entire story was amateur. You would think a book about a serial killer would be intense, but not so. Abby has visions of people dying, then just goes about her day at high school, just normal as can be. It feels like the topic was chosen to reel in, then switched...
The entire story was amateur. You would think a book about a serial killer would be intense, but not so. Abby has visions of people dying, then just goes about her day at high school, just normal as can be. It feels like the topic was chosen to reel in, then switched to a silly teenager story.

posted by Rxtech06 on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Surprise ending!!!

    Pretty good book. Limited cast of characters allows some decent development of personalities and relationships. The big letdown for me was how the murderer was able to escape and the unexplained lack of police involvement. Sort of unbelievable. The ending was surprising and makes the book worth reading. This is a good read for all age groups and appropriate as far as language and content. This would make a good movie... a goodBruce Willis movie.....
    KMS

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Good

    Interesting read about visions a girl has who drowned and was dead for 44 minutes before being brought back to life. Interesting conclusion.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great read

    This book was great. A little suspensful, but not enough to give me nightmares. The main character is easily liked and well developed considering her unique circumstances. I'm expecting the author to develope her more in the next instalment though. The plot was unique with a great twist, although you kinda see it coming. but if you just read and take it in and don't try to play "who done it" I feel for free dollars, despite many parts being rushed and vague, it is a great book. I enjoy the sister-bond and the overall concept. Overall: GREAT BOOK

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I always like to get the free ebooks to try out new series and a

    I always like to get the free ebooks to try out new series and after I
    read this one I was hooked and immediately went looking for the others!
    The ending has a great twist but looking back the clues that were given
    throughout the book, it was apparent that something (else) was not quite
    right. I would definitely recommend this book. I am starting the second
    one today and should be through with the rest by the end of the week! I
    am very excited to find out that happens next. I will say that near the
    end of the book the writing got a little jumpy. One moment you were
    somewhere and then you were somewhere else with no tie-in, it was a bit
    confusing but I am hoping that the author has streamlined the process
    and the next books with have a smoother ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Hello

    Excellent well-written free 250 page story. Good for young reader who enjoy the paranormal. I do agree with the reviewer who stated that this should be an excerpt to a novel rather than a beginning to a 2.99 250 page story series; can't afford to read the others right now - would be over 35 dollars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Good read, unexpected ending.

    I am really enjoying these books. The ending will tear you up. It is very sad and so unexpected. I haven't cried like that in a very long time especially over a book. The one thing I can complain about is I wish it was a book that ended instead of having another book to buy to find out what is happenin next. I have bought 2 so far and need to buy the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Interesting Read

    I'm a fan of supernatural, slightly odd reads. And this one flirts with the question: "What happens when you die?"

    And then many more questions as I kept reading and wondering "What happened to this particular character?"

    This was interesting, and the ending was a surprise. When I reached the end, I did go looking for the 2nd book, and now realize that there are a number of them. So, they are no on the list to read to continue to follow the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK!

    This book is amaxing, I czmt wait to buy the next one! Though there is another author trying to copy the main idea of the book, called "Tuesdays Child". I for one, am disappointed that there was nothing done about this. I love hiw "44" lets me see the world through Abbys eyes. How we know exactly whats going on at thr point and makes us understand it better. I was personally shocked at some point of the book.Its amazing how there are so many twists and turns. Until i buy the next book, this one will definetely leave me thinking about whats going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Ok

    Not what I expected good for young readers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Very catching!

    Get through the begining and you will love this story! It is a bit slow but so worth the out come! Fantastic book! Serier is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great murder mystery written in an unusual manner

    This is a great book for adults and Young Adults. The author's prologue seems vague and disconnected at first but as the story unfolds it slowly makes more and more sense. The story is great ending with an unexpected twist that leaves the reader wanting more.
    This is a suspense/murder mystery with some romance. Different relationships are explored and developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Good story...

    I enjoyed the story line, but I really didn't care for the way it was written. It just seemed like the author was rushing through the plot, but slowing down for other things... It could have been a bit longer, to really develop the plot more and to have the reader realize the truth that is dumped on us at the end. It was like, here is the story, its over, but here is this last huge detail that you should know... Instead of dropping us hints throughout the story so we could come to the realization ourselves, and want Ally to realize it too...

    Overall, it was good, just not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    This is one of a series of three

    The book had some interesting characters in it. I found some tenents of the story a little hard to believe-it took a stretch; but other than that, a good book. I don't think I could do three in a row, however.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great book !

    I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    a great read

    never saw the ending coming

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Fun little read.

    Did not see the end coming. It could have used a little more effort to make the story flow better, make the transitions more smooth but all in all a captivating story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    A chilling page turner filled with relatable characters and just the right amounts of twists and turns. Perfect for teenaged girls!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was an interesting and quick read with a enough suspence to make it hard to put down. Not the best thriller I have read, but still a solid piece of fiction. Definately geared for young adults. Even with themes of near death experiences and serial murder the writing is easy to undersand, romances are innocent and sweet, and there is no profanity that i can recall. I shared this book with a few of my highchool students and the 9th & 10th grade girls seemed to like it the most.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Ok

    Short book at 127 pages. The main character was filled out nicely. The ending was a complete surprise, but I was a liitle disappointed at the non-ending of the crime spree. Although I guess if you are writing a series, you can't get rid of the protagonist off the bat. Very few grammatical errors, so all in all worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Enjoyed this

    Great plot. Very few edit errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Good book

    surprise ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7