Customer Reviews for

44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Never tiring, always refreshing

Having read all but the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, I happily decided to continue with the author into his second series, and I have not been disppointed. McCall Smith gives the reader something to sink his teeth into. This Scotland Street seri...
Having read all but the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, I happily decided to continue with the author into his second series, and I have not been disppointed. McCall Smith gives the reader something to sink his teeth into. This Scotland Street series is no exception. The characters he introduces in book 1 continue on to book 2. And if you are looking for colorful characters and amusing anecdotes, you will find them here as well as in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. What makes this series special is that he wrote it for serial publication. Each chapter has a little punch, if only in wit, and comes in refreshing bitesize lengths so as never to bore or tire. Highly recommended.

posted by vanhoey on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Move a little faster.

Smith gives too much detail into his characters. It isn't necessary for such a simple plot. Maybe that is the point. Not a lot of plot so develop the characters. However, this is the 1st of 4 books so maybe he will beef it up in the next book. I will read Espresso ...
Smith gives too much detail into his characters. It isn't necessary for such a simple plot. Maybe that is the point. Not a lot of plot so develop the characters. However, this is the 1st of 4 books so maybe he will beef it up in the next book. I will read Espresso Tales, the next in the series, because I enjoyed The #1 Woman's Detective. I know he has potential.

posted by 2036913 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Never tiring, always refreshing

    Having read all but the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, I happily decided to continue with the author into his second series, and I have not been disppointed. McCall Smith gives the reader something to sink his teeth into. This Scotland Street series is no exception. The characters he introduces in book 1 continue on to book 2. And if you are looking for colorful characters and amusing anecdotes, you will find them here as well as in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. What makes this series special is that he wrote it for serial publication. Each chapter has a little punch, if only in wit, and comes in refreshing bitesize lengths so as never to bore or tire. Highly recommended.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    First of a great series

    This series is even better than "No.1 Ladies Detective Agency".

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    An absolute delight

    After you get used to the format dictated by the fact that this was initially a daily serialized novel, you cannot help but fall in love with the delightful and quirky residents of 44 Scotland Street. Not a lot happens but there is a tremendous amount of the small victories and defeats that characterize real life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Breath of fresh air.

    I simply love this book and the sequels as well. It is written in segmental format as it was first published in installments for the newspaper so you have to get used to that. However, it's not long before you genuinely care about all of these delightful characters and cannot wait to see what happens to them next. It is a slice of life book, a glimpse into the lives of "real people" in a real, very interesting place. I read this book before a trip to Scotland three years ago and not only got hooked on the series, but fell in love with Edinburgh as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Entertaining & Interesting Characters - I was hooked!

    This book has made me laugh out loud at times and shake my head at the antics of the characters and situations they get into. I will definitely read the other books in the series. I got attached to a few of the people so I am glad I get to keep up with them. The book reminded me a lot of Marian Keyes style writing and people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Sweet and lovely

    As always

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    awful

    This story showed glimpses of promise, but then nothing much would happen. It seems to me, the character development was the story. I wish I could get those hours I spent reading it back.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    I kept waiting for something... anything.

    I chose this book because I was drawn to the titles of some of the later books in the series. I didn't realize he wrote the #1 Ladies Detective agency (I liked the HBO series and didn't know there were books...) This book was well rated by many.

    I kept reading, hoping for a plot line- there were many oppoortunities, but they never seemed to go anywhere. I read about 3 books per week, and I've read some stinkers, but I've rarely wanted to stop the book mid stream- with this book, I kept hoping that a story line would develop beyond the character development.

    Boo.I won't be reading any others by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Wwonderful

    Smith has just enough detail for the characters so you really get to kniw them and heur personality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Quirky

    I really enjoy reading Alexander McCall Smith. His books are quirky and fun. I love to walk through Edinbourgh with his characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Recommend

    A friend recommended this book and I'm very glad I got it. It's been delightful. It's entertaing and some unfamiliar terms are used but it makes it interesting to learn some of the English terms. It was a good purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Move a little faster.

    Smith gives too much detail into his characters. It isn't necessary for such a simple plot. Maybe that is the point. Not a lot of plot so develop the characters. However, this is the 1st of 4 books so maybe he will beef it up in the next book. I will read Espresso Tales, the next in the series, because I enjoyed The #1 Woman's Detective. I know he has potential.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    leaves you hanging

    I found this book a little hard to get started with, but I kept reading and am glad I did. But the ending is unsatisfactory-too much is left unanswered. I found Domenica a delight and loved her stories-what a wonderful friend to have! I'm hoping there's going to be a sequel, because it was disappointing not to know what happened to the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    very enjoyable book

    I throughly enjoyed this charming book, my first by the author. The quirky set of charters is alot of fun, the plot engaging and the commentary on Scotish society is very interesting. I look forward to reading more of Alexander McCall Smith's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4