Customer Reviews for

44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Never tiring, always refreshing

Having read all but the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, I happily decided to continue with the author into his second series, and I have not been disppointed. McCall Smith gives the reader something to sink his teeth into. This Scotland Street seri...
Having read all but the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, I happily decided to continue with the author into his second series, and I have not been disppointed. McCall Smith gives the reader something to sink his teeth into. This Scotland Street series is no exception. The characters he introduces in book 1 continue on to book 2. And if you are looking for colorful characters and amusing anecdotes, you will find them here as well as in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. What makes this series special is that he wrote it for serial publication. Each chapter has a little punch, if only in wit, and comes in refreshing bitesize lengths so as never to bore or tire. Highly recommended.

posted by vanhoey on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I kept waiting for something... anything.

I chose this book because I was drawn to the titles of some of the later books in the series. I didn't realize he wrote the #1 Ladies Detective agency (I liked the HBO series and didn't know there were books...) This book was well rated by many.

I kept reading, hopi...
I chose this book because I was drawn to the titles of some of the later books in the series. I didn't realize he wrote the #1 Ladies Detective agency (I liked the HBO series and didn't know there were books...) This book was well rated by many.

I kept reading, hoping for a plot line- there were many oppoortunities, but they never seemed to go anywhere. I read about 3 books per week, and I've read some stinkers, but I've rarely wanted to stop the book mid stream- with this book, I kept hoping that a story line would develop beyond the character development.

Boo.I won't be reading any others by this author.

posted by 1141948 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Never tiring, always refreshing

    Having read all but the latest in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, I happily decided to continue with the author into his second series, and I have not been disppointed. McCall Smith gives the reader something to sink his teeth into. This Scotland Street series is no exception. The characters he introduces in book 1 continue on to book 2. And if you are looking for colorful characters and amusing anecdotes, you will find them here as well as in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. What makes this series special is that he wrote it for serial publication. Each chapter has a little punch, if only in wit, and comes in refreshing bitesize lengths so as never to bore or tire. Highly recommended.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    First of a great series

    This series is even better than "No.1 Ladies Detective Agency".

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Breath of fresh air.

    I simply love this book and the sequels as well. It is written in segmental format as it was first published in installments for the newspaper so you have to get used to that. However, it's not long before you genuinely care about all of these delightful characters and cannot wait to see what happens to them next. It is a slice of life book, a glimpse into the lives of "real people" in a real, very interesting place. I read this book before a trip to Scotland three years ago and not only got hooked on the series, but fell in love with Edinburgh as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Sweet and lovely

    As always

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Wwonderful

    Smith has just enough detail for the characters so you really get to kniw them and heur personality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    very enjoyable book

    I throughly enjoyed this charming book, my first by the author. The quirky set of charters is alot of fun, the plot engaging and the commentary on Scotish society is very interesting. I look forward to reading more of Alexander McCall Smith's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Lilywolf to Velvetstar (On Computer)
    Wait Velvet don't p

    Lilywolf to Velvetstar (On Computer) <br />

    Wait Velvet don't post the clan announcement.  I forgot you're inured and Cloudripple or Cometstorm need to post it!  ~ Lilywolf ♥

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Spottedpine

    He stayed in camp, curled around Mistyrose, Patchkit, and Crystalkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Wavebreak

    She stays with her kits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Seafire

    Pads in, his tail drooping in exaustion. He perks up at the mention of a gathering. Part of him argues that he is too weak to go, but he pads off anyway, not wanting to miss his first gathering as a warrior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Pridefall

    He purred, padding to the gathering with Deercloud behind him. ~Pridefall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Cometstorm

    Sorry, i fell asleep..... should i post the gatherig report, or should cloudy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Mintkit and Firekit

    They look around mint green and yellow eyes blinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Emberleaf

    If they ask about Velvet, Lily, and Goldy, tell them about the flies and just say they are resting. Don't say how badly they are hurt. (Gtgtb bbt)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Cloudripple

    Cloudy can go, and if no one else wants to, she can speak for HorseClan. So, I know we have several new warriors and kits, but I don't remember all of them. Can someone give me a list or something?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Deercloud

    Pads back into camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Flightpath & co.

    They said "Can we go?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Velvetstar to Horseclan!

    Ok we are moving again, Lilywolf keeps getting locked out so we hafta find a place where that doesn't happen. We are moving to James Dashner results! That's James Dashner people, don't forget it! :) If someone wouldn't mind going back to Miss Silver Mystery, and Grey Mask, and posting our new camp location there that would be awesome. I don't want someone to come along and have to check four camps to find us lol and I have to go. See everyone later! -Velvetstar-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Goldenstripe

    Goldenstripe tensed when she brought up Roman; it seemed he could never escape from his mistakes no matter what. He was grateful for her saving Velvetstar, but still he would've picked her safety over her help, and he didn't understand why that gave Lilywolf the right to be upset now. The golden tom didn't respond, but only watched as she left the den, wishing there was something he could say to make her forget about it and stay. He wished there was a way to make her understand that he never did anything to hurt her on purpose, he loved her more than anything in the world but he still did stupid things he didn't mean to. Everything about her, on the other hand, was perfect, even now she was still beautiful, and she never did anything wrong. Somehow she always knew the right thing to do in every situation, and he never knew what to do. He did his best, but things like this happened nonstop and it hurt Goldenstripe deeply to always be the reason she was upset. Goldenstripe sighed and layed on his side, looking at Velvetstar's sleeping sillhouette(fail...I think lol) "If you're both mad at me what do I have left?" He whispered sadly, feeling alone and guilty. Goldenstripe layed awake for most of the night, thinking and wishing he could find Lilywolf and sleep next to her. But he knew she wouldn't that, and there was a difference between him and her. Lilywolf could do whatever she wanted, hurt him as bad she could, and he'd still want her company all the time no matter what. But the same didn't apply to her. Goldenstripe figured it was because she didn't need him as much as he needed her. And why would she? She has a whole clan of close friends and family in addition to him. But, all he had was her. All he had was her and he kept pushing her away. But he had to stop, because all he had was her. That setance just kept playing in his mind until Goldenstripe fell asleep, making him sad but at the same time grateful, because if he could only pick one thing in the world to be his, he would chose Lilywolf. ~Goldenstripe (Ok, I will be on tomorrow after I get home from work and possibly groccery shopping depending on if I can get Velvetstar to go :) Night!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Lilywolf

    (Lol thanks I try!) Lilywolf flattens her ears at Goldenstripe's words and she looks away. They stung more than she could bare but she felt it'd be weak to admit it. The tabby brushes off her tears and growls, "If I remember correctly you accused me of being with Roman when he raped me! And I've had no track record. But if it doesn't mean anything to you that I saved your sister when you physically couldn't then fine! Fat lot of good it would have done if I went home and you both got killed!" Rising painfully to her paws, Lilywolf half drags herself out of the den, much more sad than angry. As soon as she's clear of the den, the tears come. Between the pain that took her breath away and the emotions swirling inside, they flowed without stopping. "Stupid tom! Stupid flies! Stupid me..." She thinks sadly, kicking herself for being so suspicious all the time. But she was so use to betrayals or misunderstandings that it came almost natural to assume the worst. Struggling for breath as she reaches the clearing, the tabby nearly faints next to Rosepetal. Sometimes it felt like her sister was the only one who she could trust. She was incapable of being mean or lying. Pressing her torn body next to Rosepetal's equally ravaged one, Lilywolf curls her tail around her sister and stares forlornly up at the stars. "Wolfheart." She thinks silently. "I'm sorry. I didn't mean to hurt him. I just wanted to keep him safe. There was no way he could have gotten out of that pit with those flies and Velvetstar. How could I have gone back? They would have died! But now he's all torn up because he was trying to save me... Oh why can't I be stronger? If I could have just made it into the pond... I..." The thoughts become too painful and Lilywolf returns her gaze to her paws. She had always considered herself strong and hated when Goldenstripe treated her like a kit. But now she felt she had let everyone down by not making it to that pond. It was her faut he was torn up. Why hadn't she made it? She had tried her hardest to. For the tabby, it broke her heart to be responsible, in her mind, for Goldenstripe getting injured. A small part of her whispers that even she is not invincible and it isn't her fault she'd passed out but to her, those whispers just sound like excuses. "He should have just left me to the flies. Then at least he wouldn't have nearly died because of me." Lilywolf thinks sadly, already missing the golden pelt next to her. She had wanted to climb into his nest until she saw Mouse and everything went south. Now she felt cold as the leaffall wind blows across her destroyed body. Curling up, the shecat tries to keep warm as the wind blows leaves against her pelt. One leaf had a particular insect on it, a tick. But this was no ordinary tick. The deer tick slowly crawls onto Lilywolf and finds it easy to bite her at flesh that it normally couldn't even reach. Latching on, the tick transfers the bacteria that would soon cause the shecat more pain. "I should apologize." The tabby thinks as she slowly nods off to sleep. "I'm sorry Goldenstripe." Without her mate, the black Goldenstripe was sure to visit and throughout the night and a red bump appears, the beginnings of a very painful rash. ~ Lilywolf &hearts P.S. First post where I've actually cried in awhile! :O :,( I'll be on after my french horn lesson tomorrow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2