Customer Reviews for

48 Liberal Lies About American History: (That You Probably Learned in School)

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Book which should be mandatory reading for parents and students

Larry Schweikart has put together an outstanding book and it hits home when you look at what has passed for curriculum in many schools. Modern textbooks are so biased in how they present American history that it is time that parents really look hard into what is being ...
Larry Schweikart has put together an outstanding book and it hits home when you look at what has passed for curriculum in many schools. Modern textbooks are so biased in how they present American history that it is time that parents really look hard into what is being presented. As a history teacher, Schweikart corrects many deficiencies that I have seen institutionalized into textbooks and curriculum in many school districts. I would strongly recommend that parents read the book and then take a look at your child's social studies text book.

posted by 941167 on February 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

What?

I read this book as a school assigment and I must say I am surprised a history professor let his own views create such a bias in this book. I won't bother citing any examples as it is blatantly present in the entire text. Not only does he imply that conspiracy theorie...
I read this book as a school assigment and I must say I am surprised a history professor let his own views create such a bias in this book. I won't bother citing any examples as it is blatantly present in the entire text. Not only does he imply that conspiracy theories such as the government being the ones that organized the 9/11 attacks and that Truman only dropped to A-bomb to scare the soviets are taught in history text books, but he also comes right out and says that since the KKK gets a whole page in most american history text books that it portrays america as intolerant and racist throughout the entire 20th century. This book was nothing but a load of conservative bias that offers absolutely no alternative views and damns anything that could possibly detract from anybody's view of America. This book should be renamed "48 reasons why any negative comments on america are wrong and Liberals are heinous conspiracy theorists"

posted by 2376112 on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    Outstanding Book which should be mandatory reading for parents and students

    Larry Schweikart has put together an outstanding book and it hits home when you look at what has passed for curriculum in many schools. Modern textbooks are so biased in how they present American history that it is time that parents really look hard into what is being presented. As a history teacher, Schweikart corrects many deficiencies that I have seen institutionalized into textbooks and curriculum in many school districts. I would strongly recommend that parents read the book and then take a look at your child's social studies text book.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Easy to read articles that tell a further story

    I am a historian, and it always amazes me when people review books that are not blatantly liberal in tone and say they're being "biased." This book is decidedly NOT liberal in tone, but it does present factual evidence showing there are always more details in a mix. Dr. Schweikart has brought out some very interesting points for which every student or reader of history should glean new information.

    The brilliance of this book is that it was deliberately intended to challenge the one sided presentation of the high school history books and make people realize that there was far more to the mix than is presented in the liberal textbooks of today. In fact, I will NOT use a textbook in a class for that very reason.......

    Additionally, I find Schweikart to be historically accurate in most areas whether you "agree" with him or not. IF you follow his research and glean a different conclusion, well, that's the beauty of historical research. However, if you merely READ his book and disagree because you lean too far toward liberalism, then that's just as biased as saying that his view is "too far right."

    Somewhere between the liberal left and the conservative right lies the truth, but if we cover up the conservative right, we will never see it. And that's the true value of this book. I will use it for many years to counter/balance any liberally biased historiography.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Very informative read

    This book was a very through review of a lot of lies being spewed by the left today. Good to see them highlighted and clarified as to what they really are, lies!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    What?

    I read this book as a school assigment and I must say I am surprised a history professor let his own views create such a bias in this book. I won't bother citing any examples as it is blatantly present in the entire text. Not only does he imply that conspiracy theories such as the government being the ones that organized the 9/11 attacks and that Truman only dropped to A-bomb to scare the soviets are taught in history text books, but he also comes right out and says that since the KKK gets a whole page in most american history text books that it portrays america as intolerant and racist throughout the entire 20th century. This book was nothing but a load of conservative bias that offers absolutely no alternative views and damns anything that could possibly detract from anybody's view of America. This book should be renamed "48 reasons why any negative comments on america are wrong and Liberals are heinous conspiracy theorists"

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Great Book

    Awesome book. All high school and college students should be required to read it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Lies Lies and More Lies

    Book covered a variety of topics. Obvious research and hard facts make this book great. So good I am reading A Patriots History to the United States to learn America's history and unlearn some politics.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    Yet another attempt to perpetuate the meaningless war between liberals and conservatives, this book will not tell you anything new, except try to reinforce "conventional" American history.

    I must admit that I only read 6-7 arguments from the book whilst I was in B & N the other day. (I find myself enthralled by this pointless debate between liberals and conservatives, of which I consider myself neither.)
    However, the arguments that I read were only mere reinforcement of "conventional" American history. I think one has to look at both sides of the situation in order to achieve a wholesome experience. This book does, at times, bring up some valid points; however the majority of the book is subject to conservative bias (something that I am ashamed a college professor of history can have). Being an academic myself, I cannot recommend this book to anyone who wishes to become more educated; only those who wish to get a glimpse of this childish mudslinging battle.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    The truth is such a breath of fresh air!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Trivial and Trite (written at grade school level)

    Just about everything written in this book is at least close to the truth. It is also a waste of time for those who would bother to read it. The title alone reveals much about the jejune nature of the contents. Historians in general (liberal as well as conservative) choose this academic "discipline" as the instrument to vent their prejudices because it is a field that does not require much intellectual rigor or honesty. Notwithsatanding Jon Kyl's glowing review (about which I might only offer the observation by Mark Twain on Fenimore Cooper's interpretation of early American "history" entitled "The Last of the Mohicans," that reviewers should have read the book before offering their assesments), this book is juvenile level "liberal bashing" drivel no better than the content of the works about which it complains. If you are an advocate of either the far "right" or the far "left," this book will probably get you excited, not intellectually, but emotionally. For others, it is banal and a waste of time.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Liberal drones just don't get it.

    This book should be required reading. Our kid's text books are a disgrace. So sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    BIASED DRIVEL

    This book is without a doubt the worst book I've ever encountered. Where did this moron come up with this crap? I believe books are to be treated with care and reverance whether you like them or not, except this one. I shocked my family when at our last bonfire I threw it on as I didn't want to take the chance on an impressionable mind being corrupted by it. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but you don't get to make up your own facts to boost your own opinion.

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Some of what he shows is already well known. Some of his conclu

    Some of what he shows is already well known. Some of his conclusions I don't agree with. However it's great to see someone tell the truth about JFK's involving the US in Vietnam (300 advisors to 16,000 advisors) and his analysis of the Rosenbergs was refreshing. He refutes the revisionists and shows how they try to confuse a clear issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    right wing propaganda. please read with a grain of salt unless y

    right wing propaganda. please read with a grain of salt unless you want to get all of your opinions from one guy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3