Customer Reviews for

4th of July (Women's Murder Club Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Don't Miss This Great Read!

    I had almost given up on James Patterson! His last few books were not worth the time spent reading them. I picked this book up because I had read the first three in the series. I am very glad I gave it a chance. I really enjoyed the entire story line. The story deals with Lt. Boxer solving multiple cases yet it never confuses the reader. I highly suggest this book. It is a fast and fun read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    i am not impressed

    I am not impressed. This book is way overrated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    JP - Dir Human Resources

    When will the real James Patterson please surface? Book was really a lame read after reading his earlier books. Too sappy and predictable. Terrible ending. Needs to go back to his own ideas and stop co-authoring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Not good at all

    THis book is reserved only for the bottom of the beach bag, covered with old tanning lotion. I know for a fact that it was not James Patterson writing the story; and my question to you Maxine, is: why did you put up with Patterson's picture taking up the entire back cover? The story was a cliche at best, and the drama was too light hearted, and too 'go get 'em good guys!' I find it to be terrible plot making when Lindsey relaxes on her porch and for no apparent reason, day dreams about an unsolved John Doe case from 10 years prior, only to have the very next chapter deal with the return of this dormant killer. James Patterson has found his niche on the bookshelves, and after going to many signings, realizes that his biggest crowd is no longer men readers, but women. The evidence is shown in the sappy, and unrealistic prose. James Patterson is an author who has lost his unique style, and now 'co-authors' 5 books a year just to get them out and sell as many as possible. James Patterson has it in him to be a fantastic writer, as is seen with the novels of the past, however he needs to realize that quality is above quantity, and maybe after he comes to this epiphany, will he have his picture on the Barnes & Noble cafe wall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Not worth it

    I was very disappointed in this book. I read the first 3 Womens Murder Club books and thought they were great developed characters and plots. This one seemed like a middle schooler wrote a mystery story. It seemed like the main character, Lindsay, was a different person that she'd been in the first three novels. I found the same thing with the Alex Cross novels, the first few were great reads, then they just seem to get lazy. The latter books are just not consistent with the quality or tone of the first. If you want to read this book try the library, dont waste your money on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Save your time and money

    This book must have been written in 5 days. It shows an astonishing lack of knowledge of the legal system. There couldn't have been any proof reading. The dialogue didn't make sense on several occassions. Quantity is obviously more important than quality. This is the last book from this author I would ever order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    This is #1 on the bestseller list? Must be based on sales alone, not content.

    This book is a waste of both time and money. Two different stories going on. It is very clear what sections Patterson contributed. This was once a decent series. Now, I am not sure where it is going. I am extremely dissapointed that this book was published. What was the editor thinking? Total trash storyline. The pornography shop incident was very 'high school'. I want the old Patterson style back. These books are being put out too quickly. I would rather read one really well written Patterson book a year, then this drivel. Stop the co-authoring already. It is killing the end result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1