Customer Reviews for

5 Days to a Clutter-Free House: Quick, Easy Ways to Clear Up Your Space

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    5 Days to a Clutter Free House by Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims

    5 Days to a Clutter Free House by Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims is not your typical de-cluttering book.
    The book is divided into two sections.  Section one deals primarily with the way to de-clutter, whereas section two deals with how to develop habits to keep your home clutter free.
    Section one is brimful of incisive de-cluttering tips.  For example the authors urge us to divide room cleaning into stages, using the body  as our guide - feet to knees, knees to shoulders and shoulders up.  As I read section one, I realized my problems are at the level of about my waist.  Counter tops, tables and desks are cluttered.  Interestingly enough the floors, top of cabinets, refrigerator, bookshelves, etc. are free of clutter.  Paper, not mail or newspapers, is on almost all available surfaces.
    My Mom was the classic hoarder and emotional buyer personality described in the book.  As I was growing up, I determined I was going to keep my house in better shape (and I have).   I have no paths from room to room, no stacks of newspapers everywhere, and no boxes and packages of "sales" purchases.  However, like her, I struggle with emotional attachment to things.  I cherish letters, cards and kid's school work.  The authors address this issue in a way that helps ease the discomfort and sadness of letting go of emotional "clutter" items.  Also, like my Mom, I start projects I never finish.  The results are "piled" on and in every available space. 
    I now realize my qualities, as listed in the first section of the book, are what lead to the cluttering aspect of my life. The authors show how different good qualities are the cause of disorganization.
    I'm not into the team aspect of section one, so I plan to apply the ideas to one room at a time until everything is corralled and controlled.
    This book was provided to me by Revell a division of Baker Publishing through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    This book had several great ideas for getting your home clutter

    This book had several great ideas for getting your home clutter free. I liked the idea of not only starting in certain rooms, but starting in certain areas, such as from the knee down. There are tips to help hoarders and people with just a little clutter. It addressed health issues caused from too much cluttering, tips for storing and making more space, and filing. The book even addressed how to handle family members or roommates who are reluctant to help or declutter. I even joyed the part on decluttering your car. My car is always messy, but I've never thought to declutter it or find more useful ways to store things in my car. The only tip I didn't like was recruiting friends to help. There are certain areas, like my closet, where it would be more stressful for me to have friends help me clean it than it would be to clean it myself!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Clutter-Free for the Microwave Generations 5 Days to a Clutter-F

    Clutter-Free for the Microwave Generations
    5 Days to a Clutter-Free House is a liberating joy to read. The authors not only tell how to declutter but also why the living space got so cluttered. I loved reading the positive spin on the personality types that tend to be organizationally challenged. They described me perfectly, unnamed of course, in black and white print on the pages. And they let me know I am in good company. Never before have I understood that positive personality qualities, set loose to thrive, can lead to a thorough cluttering of one's environment. Thank you, authors Sandra Feldman and Marsha Sims, for showing me the possibility of improvement, in only five days time, by using the Mt. Rushmore microwave recipe to freedom from clutter.

    A team approach, worked from a well thought out plan, gives the needed momentum to transform living spaces to cleared out areas leaving only neatly stacked boxes that are small chunks to be tackled later as time allows. Listings on the boxes tell what surface the items in the boxes came from so needed items can be located. In the past I have used some of these ideas on my own for smaller projects, but I have never seen how the approach could be used large scale to tackle a whole house. Awesome!

    I highly recommend this book to all who want to know a quick approach to initial overcoming of a cluttered environment. Additional information is included to maintain the new look of clean surfaces throughout the home. Take time to read the book, build a team (can be a team of one if necessary) and get your boxing gloves on! You can knock out clutter by the time the microwave timer beeps.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    As a recovering clutterer I have tried many fixes and fads to cu

    As a recovering clutterer I have tried many fixes and fads to cure me of it.  Some work for a season but never stick.  I never found a working solution until THIS book! (I know, that sounds like an infomercial)  I was very skeptical and went into reading it with the knowledge it might be another “quick fix” and not a solution.  These two women KNOW what they are talking about. They tried and proved that this method WORKS!
    After only a few pages of them explaining fully, even for those who need it spelled out, I was off and running to do what they said!  It is a wonderful idea that totally makes sense.  YOU are still in charge, not others.  If you are a clutter person you know exactly what I mean by that being a good thing.  I did not have the availability of doing this in a week, with helpers, for my review.  Because of that, I, myself, did what they recommended the “helpers” doing and it works!  I have emptied half this house already in the space of two weeks – not joking.  
    I love how they have it all organized and separated into thoughtful, concise steps.  Finally someone has hit the nail on the head as to how to satisfy the clutterer while helping them DE-clutter!
    I was given this book by the Book Club Network for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    This book is very help and I full of practical tips. If you are


    This book is very help and I full of practical tips. If you are pack rat like me please read this because I believe it will help you. Whenever you are trying De-clutter you house it can be very stressful, but this book is such a blessing to those who need help in organization.
    I received a free copy of this book courtesy of TBCN for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    5 Days to a Clutter Free House is stuffed full of information fo

    5 Days to a Clutter Free House is stuffed full of information for the worst disorganized home to one that just needs a little assistance. The authors share their sure-fire program that can help anyone who admits they need some help. They provide stories of others in various situations and how they became liberated from the clutter. The authors also provide sure-fire advice for clutter after care. The information is invaluable for permanently escaping the bonds of clutter. I highly recommend this book to one and all. Even the most organized can learn from this book.
    Disclaimer: I received this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims in their new book, "5 Days to

    Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims in their new book, "5 Days to a Clutter Free House" published by Revell gives us Quick, Easy Ways to Clear Up Your Space.

    From the back cover: A clean, organized, and restful home is only 5 days away.

    If you've picked up this book, you want to reduce the clutter in your home, organize what's left, and keep it that way. But does the sheer scope of the project give you an anxiety attack? Don't let fear stop you! Organizing and time management experts Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims show you how, with the right game plan and a healthy dose of adrenaline, you're just 5 days from your goal.

    With their proven team-based approach, even the most overwhelming de-cluttering job becomes doable. Section one shows you how to de-clutter, with each day of the week focused on one reachable goal. Section two shows you how to cultivate time-tested habits that keep your house in the clean, well-ordered state you've just achieved. You'll even learn how to deal with common obstacles such as
    *filing
    *storage needs
    *health issues
    *space restrictions
    *the car
    *even family sabotage!

    So what are you waiting for? The home of your dreams is just a week away.

    Some of us are what we call "Messies". We find it very difficult to throw something away now and find we will regret it later even though what we seem to regret is throwing the thing away in the first place and is now contributing to the clutter in our home. To our rescue ride Sandra Felton and Marsha Sims. Sandra Felton, The Organizer Lady®, is a pioneer in the field of organizing. She is the founder and president of Messies Anonymous. Marsha Sims is an international speaker and lecturer on time management and organization. She is the founder and president of Sort-It-Out, Inc. and Clutter-Free University. These two women have divided the task into two sections: Section One: Getting It Under Control and Section Two: Keep The Good Life Going. The good news is if we use their advice we can have our home back free from the clutter we have accumulated in five days. It is hard to believe but it is possible. Then we can invite our friends over and show off our wonderful home while we are entertaining again. Wouldn't that just be wonderful? To bring this plan to fruition we need "5 Days to a Clutter-Free House". You might want to hold it in a special place on your shelf you might be referring to it again and again. This is also a great book to give as gifts to family and friends. They will think of you every time they put it to use. I recommend it highly.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    "Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1