Customer Reviews for

The 5-Minute Face

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    Great, up-to-date, beautiful book!

    I think this book is beautifully presented, up-to-date, well organized and easy to understand. What I like most about this book is that is very new(it came out this year) and very modern so it talks about all the new cosmetics out there and the new trends in makeup that we have NOW. Other great makeup books from really famous makeup artists are very very dated, it doesn't matter that they are great if they are from the 90's. I like that Carmindy did not encourage people to buy pricey cosmetics in order to look fabulous and she even gives some advice on how to use stuff that you already have at home instead of buying the expensive stuff like how to do your own shimmery lotion among others. This is her first book and is very well done, the models were beautiful and the makeup breathtaking, she covers everyone,blondes, brunettes, asian women, black women, women in their 50's, teenagers, brides, redheads,and more. She teaches you here on how to create all those trendy looks on makeup like smoky eyes, using metallics, jewel colors in your eyes, bronze colors, retro sixties, nudes, red lips, glowy face, and much much more. One of the reviewers said that she expected Carmindy to tell all the products and tools that she use in the show, but if Carmindy did that then people will say that she is promoting people to buy those brands, so I think it was smart of her to just let people buy any brand they want. In the back of the books though she mentions all the products that she used on the model and then she gives another cheaper option which I thought was great. I love the show WNTW and love Carmindy because she really knows her stuff and I recommend this book 100%!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Amazing ideas, great basics

    Instructions are easy and basic, and the ideas are wonderful. And I love the way this book celebrates the natural good looks of all women no matter what their age.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    Every detail is perfect....

    This book is wonderful. Im a make-up artist for 10 years and let me tell you, is perfect. It has everything from types of skin to how to find the perfect colors for your skin. I love it!! Carmindy is the best....10+ for her. I recomend this book to everyone from teens to older woman, its worth it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Use it now.

    Before buying this book, I bought Bobbi Brown's Makeup Manual. What can this add, you ask, to a book that tells you EVERYTHING about makeup?

    Carmindy's Five-Minute Face brings makeup home for any woman. I'm fat; I have splotchy, uneven, ugly skin; I just graduated college where I walked around barefaced all the time--nary a lip gloss on my face. When I tried makeup, it looked totally incongruous on my face. I just couldn't make it work!

    Then came this book. She keeps it simple, cuts out a lot of steps that makeup artists always want to add into your routine, and simplifies the whole art down to a checklist. With her simple, step-by-step system, I made myself--my incorrigibly ugly self--astonishingly attractive. You think those What Not To Wear moments are TV magic, or only work when the makeup artists are standing by? Wrong. I just transformed myself in my bedroom, using the tools I already had, even though they weren't exactly what I needed (I used shimmer eye shadow instead of highlighter, for instance). The results are what you were looking for. This system works.

    And her skin tips are welcome too--the homemade shimmer and toner spray, for instance, are handy tools for keeping things easy and cheap.

    Carmindy does go into a guide on specific looks you might want to achieve, so for those who want a guide to popular looks or special occasions, she has that too. Wonderful book for the makeup-weary. Thank you, Carmindy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    Fantabulous!*!*!

    5 Minute Face by Carmindy is SOOO helpful to me as a 'tweenager' we tend to not know the correct uses of make-up or don't even wear it! I'm an individual who wanted to play with fun colors and TONS of eyeliner, which really isn't the best for a 'normal everyday look' I think the most helpful thing to me is the skin care because as you start to hit into your teenage years we start to get break-outs :[ but with fondation, spot concealer, loose powder, bronzer, blush, and highlighter my skin looks MUCH more improved!!! I still LOOOVEE my eyeliner and mascara and eyeshadow and eye glitter etc. etc. but it's nice on a daily bases to make your face look like you don't have to try your just gorgeous natrally (which we all really are)!!! :] I'm a HUGE fan of What Not To Wear on TLC, I loved Carmindy portion of the show! I found out about this book as I was flipping throguh my OK! magazine as a critic's choice as a 4 star rating!!! I checked it out at the book store and I was TOTALLY impressed! Highly recommend it!!! Have fun and stay beautiful!!! :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Very Happy with this book

    I am really glad I bought this book. Carmindy gives great explanations of make-up application and what is best for your skin tone. I also love that she explained how to correctly shape your brows. At the end she gives examples of products (one high price the other lower priced) for everything she mentions in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Finally, a makeup book for any budget!!!

    I read this book in 2 days! It's been amazing and carmindy has covered everything you can possibly use or wonder about. She goes step by step, including the products you should use by name. She gives 2 choices, dept store or drugstore. AKA- expensive or cheaper. Plus, some makeup looks for skin tone and hair color. Then she had even more full picture demo's of how to apply the makeup. From wedding to bronzed beauty. This is up to date and easy to understand. Best beauty book in a long time. The other ones go on and on like a book, but this is a manual and worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    Terrific!

    I absolutely loved this book. Carmindy shows you step-by-step the do¿s and don'ts of make-up. If you enjoy watching Carmindy¿s makeovers on ¿What Not to Wear¿ then you should defiantly take a look at this book! I am 14 years old,and this book was great for me, I believe it would be for just about any age!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    worth a look

    This is a fun and practical (well, as practical as a book about make-up could be) book from TLC's 'What Not To Wear.' She has down-to-earth advice for all women. Seperated by age, hair and skin color, evening, and everyday. She also has a long list of products from cheap to expensive that has proven to be super helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    What a perfect book for beginning makeup mavens. It's simple, ea

    What a perfect book for beginning makeup mavens. It's simple, easy and very helpful. So many other beauty books are too high fashion and out if touch. Carmindy nails it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    This book is good if you've never worn or understand make-up, a

    This book is good if you've never worn or understand make-up, a concept that is lost on me since I have been wearing it for as long as I can remember - and I'm still in my twenties. That said, I thought this would be a good book simply because I always like how the clients on What Not to Wear look. I have been trying to achieve a fresher look using good products, not just piling things on to hide or look like someone else. This book offers a few (very few) pointers, which mostly are her personal tips. I am going to use some of them but this book is not for someone who is into make-up - it will be secrets, myths, and tasks that you've probably already heard..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great!

    Some really good tips here. She breaks it down by skin tone, hair color, and other details to figure out the best look for you. I've gotten lots of compliments using her techniques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3