Customer Reviews for

5 Principles for a Successful Life: From Our Family to Yours

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    A Great Read!

    I found this book to be a great read. It is insightful and inspiring, a useful tome to have on the shelf to pull out whenever you need a refresher on what's important in life and how to get there.

    I particularly liked the section on "Dream Big." The authors hit it on the head that too often we don't allow ourselves to dream big enough. Their point that big dreams must be grounded in talent and interest is a sage reminder of what it takes to produce the kind of passion that will lead to great success.

    Despite the famous names of the book's authors and its many celebrity contributors, the advice given is down-to-earth, real and accessible. I appreciated the extent to which the authors and contributors were so open about their lives and beliefs, and willing to share personal stories of their experiences with the reader.

    I heartily recommend this book as a friendly, inspiring and useful guide to all who want their big dreams to come true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    Very good reading

    5 Principles is an excellent guide for life. There are so many great examples of how persistance pays. Great lessons in life from some outstanding people. This book is a great reminder in this facst paced life - good things come to those who work hard for their goals. 3 cheers to Jackie and Newt for sharing their experiences and finding good stories from their friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Positive Energy!

    This is a highly readable and personal roadmap for self-fulfillment. It spans generations and lifestyles with practical ideas for making the most of your gifts. Both Gingriches share stories from their own lives, making basic connections with us all. Contributions from a wide variety of notable personalities also add different points of view. This is an enjoyable and engaging read - plus a healthy dose of positive energy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Great Book!

    Very motivating book! Enjoyable read with inspiring tales from lots of different people. I received it as a graduation gift. Will be a great Father's Day gift too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    This book reaches across the aisle of politics...if you're brave enough to let it!

    I know Jackie as a fellow parent and friend; her dad as a prolific yet engaging author and politician for whom I'd cast a vote any time. One could argue this makes my review subjective. Fine and I won't waste my time in debate.

    The duo clearly shows, through first-person examples and an amazing collection of short essays from a spectrum of "guests," the reader how to lead a successful life.

    While written with an adult reader in mind I'm sure each of our three elementary-school age sons can also easily engage with the principles. I can't wait for them to read it over the summer and talk about it with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Would make an excellent graduation gift!

    Common sense words of wisdom that we could all stand to hear now and again, packed into an easy and enjoyable read. This is a book one can return to again and again. It would make a perfect gift for anyone graduating from high school or college this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Very Enjoyable Book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book--a quick and easy read! It was very inspirational to hear not only from Newt and his daughter regarding their personal insights on success, but also from all of the incredibly diverse contributors--Lou Holtz and Arthur Blank were a couple of my favorites. As a mother of young children myself, I could relate easily to much of what Jackie Gingrich Cushman wrote--it honestly made me want to dream big, work hard, learn every day, enjoy life, and be true to myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    Must Read for all ages

    This book is a motivating, inspiring, and VERY interesting read! I read it, loved it, and bought a copy for everyone in my family from my 75 year old father to my 8 year old son! This book includes easy to read, captivating stories from people of all areas of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    A Must Read for Anyone Who Dares to Dream Big!

    This book -- Five Principles For a Successful Life -- is not what you would expect. Although it is co-authored by Newt Gingrich and his daughter, a political columnist, it is not a political book. Also, despite its title, this is not a run of the mill self-help book. By using history and personal anecdotes, the co-authors frame each of the basic principles in personal and interesting ways. Of particular intrigue is the discussion of how winners have to be great at failing. In discussing his successes, Newt does not shy away from admitting his failures and the personal revelations are endearing. It is also heart warming to hear his daughter's perspectives of the principles as she has seen them applied by her father and others. Yet, the uniqueness and brilliance of the book is in how it interweaves the contributions of such a diverse group of contemporary success stories -- both the unknowns and the well known -- about the principles.

    These co-authors tell of successes in a dynamic way and organize brilliantly the various contributor's stories so as to demonstrate the commonality in work ethic and basic attitudes of each despite their divergent backgrounds. (The 42 or so contributors include comedians, politicians, reporters, pilots and other successful business people. Interestingly, several contributors are politically liberal -- including Bill Clinton). All the contributors give insight as to how they applied the various principles on their own respective roads to success.

    In short, the book is unique, topical, and took only a few hours to read. Best of all, I think it will inspire you to pursue or recommit to your own personal success path and dreams. It is a must read for anyone who dares to dream big!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    a prefect read and reference for life

    It is a great read that I can relate to as an adult, parent, mother, step mother, daughter, step daughter, grandparent. We read it as a family and reference to recall good stories and thoughts of leaders and leadership today. We loved the personal stories, the honesty and humor.What a gift when a very public family and families share their thoughts to help others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    Timeless Principles

    This book boils it down to Five Principles for a Successful Life-
    1. Dream Big
    2. Work Hard
    3. Learn Every Day
    4. Enjoy Life
    5. Be True to Yourself
    All lessons that help you keep life in perspective. Throughout the book, I kept thinking this is what I want my kids to learn. Its really all about "Keeping the main thing, the main thing..." I love it that Newt Gingrich and his daughter, Jackie brought the principles to life through highlights and examples of Successful Americans. People from all different political viewpoints, professions, and backgrounds. It is not a book about whether or not one is a Republican or Democrat, but a book about how much we can learn from each other regardless of our political views. In the end, these principles are timeless. A great read! And a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Definitely a worthy read - insightful look into the lives of successful peopls in all walks of life

    Not only is it a insightful guide on how to focus on what's important in life; with the commentary of successful leaders in politics, business, sports and entertainment, it's a moving tribute to people who have overcome obstacles to make a difference in the world. Jackie Cushman and her father put a great deal of thought and love into creating this book, as they share stories of their own struggles and successes - both day-to-day and long-term. It was clearly a labor of love. What a wonderful gift for someone who has achieved success or who is seeking to do so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Great Gift book

    Perfect book for all your relatives and friends! Birthdays, graduation, father's day... the chapters are short and interesting and perfect for a summer read.
    I found myself reading several of the stories outloud to my young sons.
    The message is just what we need now. Upbeat and inspirational are what comes to mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Principles everyone should follow

    This book is a "must" read. It reminds me of the principles we grew up with not so long ago - principles my father taught. Principles that, when followed, lead to a life full of passion, enthusiasm and respect for yourself and your neighbors. What better way to look at life than: 1. Dream Big 2. Work Hard 3. Learn Every Day 4. Enjoy Life 5. Be True to Yourself. Newt and Jackie have proven with this book - they still live in each of us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Graduation Gift!

    Great for high school and middle school kids because it has short chapters and guest writers from a broad base of experience.
    Kids won't get bored once they pick it up.
    Bi-Partisan guests and Non-Partisan writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    What a find!

    I have been a stay at home mom for the last 11 years and am now looking for what's next in my life. This book came just in time! The 5 principles were clear and concise and are followed up with successful public figures' own stories, which made a potentially dry book incredibly interesting. "Five Principles" will be a reference guide for me as I pursue the next stage of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    5 Principles for a Successful Life

    In their book 5 Principles for a Successful Life: From Our Family to Yours, father/daughter team Newt Gingrich and Jackie Gingrich Cushman share their thoughts and experiences toward living a meaningful and successful life. They eloquently illustrate the principles all parents hope to communicate to their children in word and deed. I plan on reading and discussing this book with my own children. The words of other successful Americans, from Bill Clinton to Whoopi Goldberg, Rudy Giuliani to paleontologist Jack Horner, are shared and inspire the reader to live according to the principles:
    1. Dream Big
    2. Work Hard
    3. Learn Every Day
    4. Enjoy Life
    5. Be True to Yourself
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will refer to it often as a wonderful resource which will inspire us toward better living and thinking. During these hard times in which we live, Newt and Jackie's book is a wonderful investment toward an improved way of life! I will recommend it to everyone I know and give it as gifts to the people I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    principles for a better life

    speaker newt gingrich and his daughter jackie gingrich cushman have teamed up to write "5 principles for a successful life" which is an amazing bestseller. what they have done is they have studied the lifes of many successful people such as mary matalin david patroleus walt disney and william shakespere and many other famous and not so famous individuels and find out what made them great and found some special principles that can be applied to anyones life that can help them get better encouragment wonderful skills that they can learn from these amazing people. it is great that these two arthurs have put together some principles from these great leaders in the world. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1