BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

5 Very Good Reasons to Punch a Dolphin in the Mouth (And Other Useful Guides)

Average Rating 3.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The extremely funny comics of the oatmeal all rolled up into a book.

The comics written by the oatmeal (Matthew Inman)are a unique mixture of everyday situations and the bizarre. Each comic is a new adventure into the mind of creator Matthew Inman that will have you laughing from beginning to end. I thoroughly loved this book and hope y...
The comics written by the oatmeal (Matthew Inman)are a unique mixture of everyday situations and the bizarre. Each comic is a new adventure into the mind of creator Matthew Inman that will have you laughing from beginning to end. I thoroughly loved this book and hope you find as much enjoyment from it as i have.

posted by Zen_Diner on February 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Hard to read on the NOOK

I give this review 3 stars because I am a huge fan of TheOatmeal. I can't give this a full 5 stars simply because AFTER paying for it and downloading to the NOOK did I find out that half the comics are either too small to read (and you can't enlarge the text on the comi...
I give this review 3 stars because I am a huge fan of TheOatmeal. I can't give this a full 5 stars simply because AFTER paying for it and downloading to the NOOK did I find out that half the comics are either too small to read (and you can't enlarge the text on the comic) or were already on the The Oatmeal website. I thought I would get original comics here that weren't available for free on the website.

Overall I wish I could get my money back, but not because I am disappointed in The Oatmeals work. Matthew Inman is a comedic genius.

posted by ASudduth on March 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Mathew Inman!!!!!

    You cant write that about dolphins!!!""!!!! DDOLPHINS ARENT SUPPOSED TO BE USED AS A PUNCHING PAD!!!!!!!!!!I THOUGHT IT WAS A NICE BOOK BUT NOW I KNOW IT SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!BBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLOLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLOLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLOLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLOLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Cant see on nook simple touch

    If theres a way to view it i would like to know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Yeah

    Awesome!!! !BUY THIS NOW!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Reeeeeeeeeeee

    Dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeoooooooooioooooooooooooooooooasomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    H

    J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Dolphins...

    I for one am not a fan of dolphins so if some one starts useing it as a punching bag i would grab a soda and watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Poo

    Pee poo pee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Great online, not so much for Nook

    I love The Oatmeal and have spent many hours reading comics and answering quiz questions on his website, but the ebook sucks. Most of the time, it's very hard to make out the text, not to mention it's in black and white. I've read some other peoples comments on how it works fine on the tablet and HD nook, but not for people with the simple touch model, like me. So you'll have to trust others if you have a better model, but read it online if you have something like mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    OH EM GEE!!!!!!!!!

    If you hate this book, you have no right to live!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    LOL :D

    Hallarios

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    You Can't READ it!!

    It's so small and you can't enlarge the image! I want my money back!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Unreadable on Nooks

    I've been trying to read this on my Nook HD+ and the scan is so horrible that it makes the comics unreadable. You literally cannot zomm in, in a reasonable way, to make this even tolerable. I will be asking BN for a refund. This is the second time I've bought something and the scan ruined the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Awesomely funny!

    I laughed the whole time. There's a lot of crude humor which makes things pretty hysterical but I would not reccomend for those 10 and under. Matthew Inman has a great taste for comedy and some of the comics even had me thinking "so true!" like the one about calling customer service. The only issue is that the nook adaptation makes it hard to read unless you have really good eyes because the text is really small.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Hjhwjehwjwkdifje














































































    ,

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Help

    Can someone just tell me the reasons so I can be done with this

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    This book is cools

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Don't buy as ebook

    The Oatmeal website itself is awesome! However, the comics size is too small to read digitally. I tried on my PC and iPad and could barely make out the text in the comic strips. Pass on the ebook and buy the softback.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Completely unreadable on the Nook. And it can't be returned. WH

    Completely unreadable on the Nook. And it can't be returned.

    WHY did they make a Nook version if it can't be read? Arghhgghhghghghghhghghghghghhg!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    2 #7

    WHY NOT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5