Customer Reviews for

50 Classic Books: Volume One

Average Rating 4
( 898 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(434)

4 Star

(179)

3 Star

(134)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(93)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Many books here worth reading

This is 50 full-length books, fiction and nonfiction, for $2.99. All of the books are out of copyright, which is why they're so cheap. Such a long list will inevitably have some books you own and others you wouldn't want to read, but I found many here that I like. The...
This is 50 full-length books, fiction and nonfiction, for $2.99. All of the books are out of copyright, which is why they're so cheap. Such a long list will inevitably have some books you own and others you wouldn't want to read, but I found many here that I like. There's also a companion Volume Two with 50 more books.

This collection appears in your Nook's library as a single book, about 15,000 pages long. You can bring up any particular title by clicking on it in the table of contents, which worked fine on my Nook, but there are a few tricks I figured out that make it easier to use. First, the Nook shows only the total number of pages in the book, so you can't easily see how many pages you have to go in the book that you're reading. The solution is to note down the page number where the next book in the series starts to help you keep track. Also, I put a bookmark in any book I'm reading so I can find it again if I accidentally navigate away from it.

posted by 5423763 on December 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

save your 2.99

This e book is supposed to have a searchable TOC can't find it on my nook and can only see the first three books. All of these titles are available for free on line but bought it for the searchable index, but it doesn't have one. After having the book for a couple of ew...
This e book is supposed to have a searchable TOC can't find it on my nook and can only see the first three books. All of these titles are available for free on line but bought it for the searchable index, but it doesn't have one. After having the book for a couple of eweeks, I finally found the searchable TOC. It is on the very last page. Hope that helps anyone who might buy this book.

posted by egon on November 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 434 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Many books here worth reading

    This is 50 full-length books, fiction and nonfiction, for $2.99. All of the books are out of copyright, which is why they're so cheap. Such a long list will inevitably have some books you own and others you wouldn't want to read, but I found many here that I like. There's also a companion Volume Two with 50 more books.

    This collection appears in your Nook's library as a single book, about 15,000 pages long. You can bring up any particular title by clicking on it in the table of contents, which worked fine on my Nook, but there are a few tricks I figured out that make it easier to use. First, the Nook shows only the total number of pages in the book, so you can't easily see how many pages you have to go in the book that you're reading. The solution is to note down the page number where the next book in the series starts to help you keep track. Also, I put a bookmark in any book I'm reading so I can find it again if I accidentally navigate away from it.

    73 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Super Deal Both Volumes I and II

    I erred in my review for Volume II and can't change it now so let me correct it here: these are both great deals and highly recommended. I erred in my earlier review because Volume II's Table of Contents isn't as readily apparent as the one for Volume I.

    If you want to get a quick down-and-dirty library at little cost, these are both terrific.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Perfect Nook Money Saver ! Life Goals in a Nook !

    I was so disappointed when I found out our library had almost no books to "checkout" on the Nook and that it's quite a hassle (and I live in Orange County, CA so not a small library system). Bought too many books right away with the Nook (so easy to keep grabbing the next book in a series so I was spending twice as much on books with the Nook... THEN I found these tow inexpensive collections of Classics. I'd forgotten how cool Dracula and 20 Thousand Leagues Under the Sea were, I'm working my way thru all 100 and it's a blast and inexpensive!!! I think there's actually a Two and a Half Men episode where one character has a meltdown in a bookstore (Alan) because he's never read all the classics and now I get the point. Enjoy. Best money you'll spend on your Nook - by the time you get thru all 100 you'll feel like buying the Nook was a great life goal!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really love this series of books, and even though it's sometimes hard to find each book if you know how to use your Nook really good it becomes super easy. I love all of the books and I think they make for a great Classic read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    great!

    a must read for any lover of classic literature. 12000+ pages!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    a 50 in one deal!!

    this book has many wonderful books! infact, it had 50 books on it! it was only$2.99!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    excellent, always worth a visit

    as the original of the two volumes, the revisit allows me to read old favorites from my childhood. well worth the moments i have spent with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    A great deal

    Very low price for some great literature. Will provide many hours of reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great

    This book is wonderful. It has all my favorite books for a GREAT price! Get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Deal If You Like Classics

    This book is a wonderful deal and well worth reading no matter who you are. Be sure to get volume two as well. If you've never read any classics, you should try this inexpensive book out. Some people have reported having problems with the download. It downloaded fine for me, but since it is a very large book it did take a while longer to download than other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    COMPLETELY WORTHWHILE!

    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Kighly recommend this; worth the money

    This is a terrific collection of classic books that will not disappoint those who love to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Highly recommend, can't beat the price

    Great collection of classic stoties at a great price,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    50 Classics Vol 1 and Vol 2; Excellent BN Store Help

    Well worth the cost! I downloaded vol 2 first and it worked fine on my own wi-fi. But during the download of vol 1, I probably interrupted the download and it wouldn't open. I went to Barnes and Noble in Charlottesville and they fixed in in a very short time by archiving and then downloading again. In their store the download was extremely fast compared to my much slower home system.

    Love my Nook! Got a 28 dollar book for Christmas that could have been bought for 9.99 as am ebook. Also, I can read the print much better on a Nook than in a regular book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Very satisfactory whim purchase

    I bought this volume on a whim while waiting for my coffee and its excellent. So far I have reread Anne of Green Gables and The Idiot. A great resource for anybody that likes the classics but doesnt want them cluttering your shelves. It looks like the issue of no direct links to the works in the content section has been resolved but you still need to turn the page to get to the content.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    A must have!!!

    A must have for any lover of great literature. I have a Nook Color and it is VERY easy to navigate between novels (just use the contents). Since the file reads as one continuous book use the bookmark feature often. Well worth the price!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Great Deal

    Reads well on Nook. Much better than free Google scans(many mistakes) Great deal for the $. Could not drive two and a half miles to the lib. for the cost. Downsides: Don't lose your place! Nook treats the 50 books as one. Thousands of pages!!! Just bookmark often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    What a bargain!

    I am amazed by these volumes. I bought volume one and two and I love them! The table of content works fine so I don't understand the negative remarks regarding this. I have a nook color so I don't know if this made the difference. Any time I can get 100 books for $6 I am happy but when they are great classics such as these well I almost need to pinch myself to make sure I am not dreaming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Fantastic!!!

    I love it! I think it is a great buy! It has fabulous books in it! BUY THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Zit izz gooooooooooooood

    Classics sparta remix...........................scroll down......................................................................................l...........clcfclclclclclclaalalalaalaalalalaclclclccclcllclclalalalalalalalala These Are CLASSICS! This is SPARTA!THIS IS SPARTA!THIS IS SPARTA! THIS IS SPATULA! wait what?......................

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 434 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22