50 First Dates: Love Songs from the Soundtrack

50 First Dates: Love Songs from the Soundtrack

4.1 11
     
 
Reflecting the film's Hawaiian setting, the soundtrack to Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore's romantic comedy about short-term memory loss, 50 First Dates, features reggae-fied versions of new wave classics. While technically the songs should have been done with slack key guitars and ukuleles, the collection is a pretty fun mix of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

50 First Dates: Love Songs from the Soundtrack 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great addition to your CD collection especially if you grew up in the 80's and appreciate the reggae sound. I bought this CD because of Jason Mraz and his version of the classic, I'll Melt With You by Modern English. I loved it and I love all the other remakes of some of my favorite 80's songs by The Cure, The Thompson Twins, etc. It's a great CD to play in the summer while you drive with the top down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The songs on this album are too similar to each other to make this a really stand-out cd. I bought the cd for 311's cover of the Cure's "Love Song". The other songs are okay, but it's kind of irritating to sit through half an hour of once-beloved 80s songs covered in half-hearted reggae styles. Good for listening to when you're in a good mood, but not something you want to pull out repeatedly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just saw the movie, I enjoyed all the music that was in the movie. I was just checking out the list of songs and was wondering, why isn't "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" in "reggae" isn't listed. Is it on the soundtrack or not? Thanks.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I too was hoping "Over the Rainbow" by Hawaiian singer, IZ, would be included on this soundtrack. But I think soundtracks that do have it are, "Meet Joe Black" and "Finding Forrester."
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree that this is a fun CD for the 80's revitalization. I feel that the producers of the soundtrack completely missed the boat with the omission of 'Somewhere Over the Rainbow.' That particular song in the movie was so well placed, it was the reason that I felt sentimental and looked for the CD in the first place after the movie ended. I would love to know where to find the track or if it exists?
Guest More than 1 year ago
"Wouldn't it be nice" by the Beach Boys is played twice in the movie-when Lucy is painting and Henry plays it after Lucy's dad gives him the CD-and that song is not on the soundtrack.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed by the omission of "Somewhere Over the Rainbow", too. I had heard this song before and know it is by Israel Kamakawiwo'ole. The original is great because it also includes "What a Wonderful World".
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a good soundtrack. I like "Love Song". One song that was ommitted was "Wouldn't it be nice" by the Beach Boys. I heard it twice in the movie. Lucy sings it while painting and Henry plays it on the boat after Lucy's dad gives him the CD.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Besides "Wouldn't it be nice" there are other songs not on the soundtrack like "Just Another Day" and a No Doubt song "Underneath It All"
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think it was a bummer that there were so many great songs omitted from this soundtrack. I think they should have made two soundtrack cds just like they did with the movie "the wedding singer". The song "somewhere over the rainbow" by Israel Kamakawiwo'ole was also one of the reasons I bought the soundtrack unfortunetly it was not included on the soundtrack. All in all I did love the soundtrack even though a lot of wonderful songs were missing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago