Customer Reviews for

50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know: What to Do, What to Say, & How to Behave

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    I liked this book. The only thing I wish the book had that it d

    I liked this book. The only thing I wish the book had that it doesn't is a picture page of a place setting for a formal dinner. I believe that a picture is worth a thousand words and a quick picture reference page would have been a great addition to the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Good Book that's Needed!

    I certainly recommend this. If you have a young lady in your life, I would highly, highly recommend this. Even as an adult, I found rules in this book that I was never aware of. The suggestions in this book are really good, and in an age when manners don't seem to be as important, this is a really good read. The rules do mostly seem to be common sense, but a lot of the rules are things that I don't see many people obeying, so it might not be as common-sense as I originally imagined. The rules seem to all be things that the average person should know, though, so I definitely think that it's a good read. My only two complaints: A) the book is a bit too narrow to be held comfortably open for reading, and B) Sometimes the book seems a bit sexist in the fact that these are things only "women" should be doing.

    Other than those two points, I am fond of the book, and I'd recommend it. The book covers things like asking permission, asking for a favor, taking photographs, traveling on a plane, walking, sitting, exiting and entering a car, and tons of other topics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know ~ What to do, When to do it, and Why

    With all of the events, parties, and social organizations girls are a part of they interact with more people than almost anyone else on earth. But it seems like with how full their lives are, they've missed out on one of the most important things: how to be a lady.
    50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know teaches a young girl how to use good manners in a way they aren't taught today. Everything from taking and receiving a compliment, to talking and listening to adults, good table manners and even what to do when asked to dance.
    The authors will teach girls through this book what you should never put on you Facebook wall, how to respond to your parents, and what to do when your friend gives you a movie you already own.
    All the advice in this book is essential for any young lady wishing to make a lasting impact with anyone and everyone she comes in contact with.
    A book perfect for moms or grandmothers to go through with their pre-teen daughthers/grand-daughters, or for older teens and young adult to read on their own; an easy go to gift, for any girl.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Learn Your Manners

    In today's culture behaving like a young lady is a fast becoming a thing of the past. It is so refreshing to see that there are still people out there who care enough to raise their daughter's to behave like young ladies. 50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know is the latest book in the GentleManners series and was written for girls ages 8-14.



    Topics covered in 50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know include:


    .Making conversation with adults
    .Accepting a gift you don't like
    .Using social media
    .Dressing appropriately
    .Winning and losing graciously
    .Writing a thank you note

    Each situtation is described,defined and then followed by "What you do," "What you DON'T do" and "Why." This book is easy to read that communicates it's ideas in a very clear manner. Most people will say that these are very basic are elementry topcs but if you look around you will see that basic manners is fast becoming a things of the past. This book is a great starting tool for those who are looking to teach their young girls manners or just looking for reinforcement.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good

    I recommend getting this!!! It offers great information for young ladies. I don't hav eit on my NOOK¿Tablet, but the actual book and it is pretty good. I an only on like chapter 10 and have learned a few things but once I read more I know I will learn LOTS more!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    best read in a long time!!!!

    I have finished reading "50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know". it is written by Kay West with John Bridges and Bryan Curtis. I was very keen to get this book because I have four little lady's at home ranging from 8 to 1. I flew threw this book faster than imagined, then read it again. The book is very easy to read each chapter is quick and to the point and has wonderful guidelines at the end to help you with what you just read. After reading I think this book should be taught in grade one and two, It is full of common sense that people don't seem to have now a days. The book has a chapter for each thing they teach. These 50 thing's range from how and when to say please and thank you, being a dinner guest, the computer, personal grooming, and helping others.

    I recommend every one to read this book not just the parents with little girls. the hole world could do with a health dose of manner and kindness. I have had the pleasure of reading this book for free. I received this book threw booksneeze dot com. and they supply me with books for free as long as I write a review on them. This book needless to say has earned a five star rating from me. Enjoy!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Etiquette has it's own reward.

    This book was able to change so many young girls attitudes! Saying this as a fourteen year old girl, so many of the advice chapters that the book gave. This is really useful, I recommend this book to other girls, and I think a lot of moms will agree!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Recommended by a tween - and her mom!

    In my 12-yr old daughter's own words, she likes this book because it tells her exactly what she should say/do. She also appreciates that it is written in an easy to read, often bulleted format. I'm simply happy that she's reading it and seems to enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Madi

    Actually i have a heart and so wat im only a bi<_>tch because u pis<_>s me off

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know

    50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know: What to Do, What to Say, & How to Behave is a Thomas Nelson book I recently read written by Kay West with John Bridges and Bryan Curtis. The book gives young girls practical advice for things like being a dinner guest, expressing sympathy, asking permission, borrowing clothes, saying "excuse me", and cosmetics. There book is broken into 50 chapters, and each chapters look at a different concept. Each chapter then gives examples of "You Do" and "You Don't". The chapters also end with quotes of what a lady does.

    I thought this book was cute, and it is a good reference for an adult to use when their child asks them questions or when they are going to be spending time with another family for the first time. I really enjoyed reading through this book. It was a quick read, and it will be a perfect gift for a young family member.

    I received this book free of charge from the Booksneeze Bloggers Program. I was not required to write a positive review of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Loved it! Perfect to pass on through the family.

    This book is just what I have been looking for! With two young ladies in my house I couldn't wait to read 50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know by Kay West with John Bridges and Bryan Curtis. It is so simply composed. Geared toward the 12-14 age range, this book is a collection of 50 logical reminders of how to act in public, with friends and even personal grooming. Each chapter has just a few short paragraphs with relatable situations followed by "do's" and "don'ts" on the topic. Starting off with saying please and working through more difficult social situations such as social networking, the book is easy enough to be read by a nine year old but mature enough for a teenager. This modern and upbeat etiquette guide would make a great gift for young women who are at the beginning of their road to womanhood.
    As soon as I opened the envelope this book came in my nine year old daughter exclaimed "Is that MINE!?" Once I explained I was planning on reading it first, she curiously asked how long I would be borrowing her new book. My plan is to let her read this at her own pace. I know as she progresses through the chapters we will have the opportunity to discuss the various issues covered. I am just thankful I have a guide to help me tackle this new stage of our lives.
    Booksneeze provided my free book to review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Great for young ladies

    I really thought this book was a good idea and nice read for the younger generation and for young ladies. It has different subjects on different things in life that ladies should know and learn in life. It would make a great gift for your daughters or granddaughter's. Young people today are coming up in a generation that don't know how to handle certain situations in a right manner and polite way. The topics range from just the basic way of saying "Thank you" or "Accepting gifts" that you don't like or even in public places like saying excuse me or respecting other people. It also cute little sayings at the end of each topic. I really enjoyed this little book and thank young ladies would benefit from it in today's world. It's shows them the way they should act in situations.
    Got book free from booksneeze for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1