Customer Reviews for

50 Ways to Hex Your Lover

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Very Funny and Zanny!!

Enjoyed reading this!! This is about a hard-headed young witch who wants to have her way even though she has been kicked out of the witches cousel....she also has a hard time shaking badboy Vampire Nickolai Gregorivich. They aren't supposed to like each other and they d...
Enjoyed reading this!! This is about a hard-headed young witch who wants to have her way even though she has been kicked out of the witches cousel....she also has a hard time shaking badboy Vampire Nickolai Gregorivich. They aren't supposed to like each other and they do. She works for a horrible...something named Dweezil part time. This is all made up to be a cute story of mahem and catastrophe with love all entangled in it!! I reccomend this if you want a little twisted paranormal humor!!

posted by emsphatgyrl on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not impressed...

I managed to download this eBook as a freebie and am quite thankful for that stroke of luck; I would have been VERY upset if any money had actually been paid for this story! I had hoped it would be along the same lines as "How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf", but it is ...
I managed to download this eBook as a freebie and am quite thankful for that stroke of luck; I would have been VERY upset if any money had actually been paid for this story! I had hoped it would be along the same lines as "How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf", but it is not. Nevertheless, I have been trying my hardest to "get into" it and give it a decent chance, but I am only at page 28 and I am ready to call it quits! The main character, as other reviewers have pointed out, seems to be in a constant state of PMS. I find it irritating and hard to associate with her - it's like reading a story about Oscar the Grouch, if you stripped away all his endearing qualities and humor and gave him the ability to shoot fireballs, call thunderstorms, and speak to ghosts. Aside from being very cranky, the character seems to lack depth and, I am sorry to say, feels more like a "Mary Sue". The most tedious aspect of the book is the writing style. It's choppy and hard to follow. Some sentences seem unnecessarily long and complicated and others are mere sentence fragments. It distracts from the flow of the narrative and I feel like I have to spend more time figuring out what the author is trying to express than actually enjoying the story. It could possibly have a worthy plot, but I feel like it would be pulling teeth to continue reading. I am not sure I want to invest the time and effort into finishing it when I already loathe it and am only 28 pages into it. At this point, I would NOT read anything else by this author or recommend the book to anyone.

posted by Molica-MakeBelieve on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Funny and Zanny!!

    Enjoyed reading this!! This is about a hard-headed young witch who wants to have her way even though she has been kicked out of the witches cousel....she also has a hard time shaking badboy Vampire Nickolai Gregorivich. They aren't supposed to like each other and they do. She works for a horrible...something named Dweezil part time. This is all made up to be a cute story of mahem and catastrophe with love all entangled in it!! I reccomend this if you want a little twisted paranormal humor!!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Fun story

    This was a fun read! I enjoyed the characters, and didnt find Jazz to be "pmsing" all the time as some reviewers did. She was simply strong willed and given the history between her and Nick, I can see her reacting the way she did. She is, after all, a supernatural being.

    The only reason I did not give this book 5 stars is that I dont care for the graphic sex and sexual language. That said, it wasnt rampant throughout the book, but it WAS there.

    Glad I didnt listen to some of the reviews !

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not impressed...

    I managed to download this eBook as a freebie and am quite thankful for that stroke of luck; I would have been VERY upset if any money had actually been paid for this story! I had hoped it would be along the same lines as "How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf", but it is not. Nevertheless, I have been trying my hardest to "get into" it and give it a decent chance, but I am only at page 28 and I am ready to call it quits! The main character, as other reviewers have pointed out, seems to be in a constant state of PMS. I find it irritating and hard to associate with her - it's like reading a story about Oscar the Grouch, if you stripped away all his endearing qualities and humor and gave him the ability to shoot fireballs, call thunderstorms, and speak to ghosts. Aside from being very cranky, the character seems to lack depth and, I am sorry to say, feels more like a "Mary Sue". The most tedious aspect of the book is the writing style. It's choppy and hard to follow. Some sentences seem unnecessarily long and complicated and others are mere sentence fragments. It distracts from the flow of the narrative and I feel like I have to spend more time figuring out what the author is trying to express than actually enjoying the story. It could possibly have a worthy plot, but I feel like it would be pulling teeth to continue reading. I am not sure I want to invest the time and effort into finishing it when I already loathe it and am only 28 pages into it. At this point, I would NOT read anything else by this author or recommend the book to anyone.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Fun supernational novel

    I laughed, I cried, i snorted in laughter! Fun book that is an easy read the pages flying byl.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Light, fun fantasy. I enjoyed that the very immaginative paran

    Light, fun fantasy.
    I enjoyed that the very immaginative paranormal characters were not traditional charicatures. Irma the ghost is great! The very graphic sex scenes, however, didn't seem to belong in the same book. The romance would have been more effective if it were a bit less explicit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love this book!

    Just finished this book and I am still laughing, Irma is a hoot. Such a good blend of humor and drama. Sexual content prevents me from recommending this book to young adults or under but for adults this book is great and not your usual witch, vampire, ghost, Other storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    FUN QUICK AND SEXY

    Funny yet still with ah ha moments! JUST hot enough to get the job done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A Fun Quick Read

    This book series reminds me of the Queen Betsy and Katie Mac Alister books. The characters are fun and witty. The paranormal elements of vampires, witches, wizards and werewolves all make an appearance in the series. The love scenes are well done without venturing into 3XXX rating. Altogether, a fun quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    This was a cute and easy read! I enjoyed reading about her killer slippers and hot vamp lover! I love forward to reading about her sister witches!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ!

    This book has your attetnion from the begining. The character's are interesting and engaging as well as humorus at times. I would definatly recomend this book for anywone who likes to escape into what they are reading. I'm anxious to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    A great read

    I admit the title was what drew me in to this book more than the summary or cover. But I'm glad I bought it. It is funny and exciting. I love the characters, Jazz is kick a** and even Krebs' short appearances are funny. I liked the ending and the intimate scenes were great. I recommend you pick this up for a good time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    watch out for bunny slippers

    cute, entertaining and lighthearted fun. the bunny slippers are my favorite charactors and i can't wait to see what trouble they'll cause next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Sigh....

    I am trying to get through this book, as I've almost put it down about three times already. I'm hoping it will get better, and I guess I keep reading to see how it ends, although that is getting to be a chore. I guess the bunny slippers are amusing, but the character emitting noxious fumes from his backside is a little less then amusing. This has a cartoonish feel to it. I thought it might be somewhere along the lines of a Charlaine Harris type book, but I don't know, I'm just not getting it. The blasts from the pasts are sketchy, and the ghost in the car gets annoying. I think maybe I'll stick a fork in this book, because I think its done. I really wanted to like this book, but its just not happening..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Very Cute and fun! It was tough at first, to get into it for me.

    Very Cute and fun!
    It was tough at first, to get into it for me.  Once the crazy curses that she was set out to eliminate came about, it really got my attention.
    The awesome slippers she has I thought was a fantastic touch. I enjoyed the book very much and will be reading her next books as well. 
    I liked her attitude and the character she is very strong personality doesn't take sh** from no one. Her saying at the end of a spell was funny "because I say so damn it"
    The ghost Irma was a great character as well, haunting Jazz's car for 30 some years and never being able to leave. I recommend the book hands down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    ;D

    G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Vampires and witches

    Couldn't get through the first several pages. Not a fan of this type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Beware Of Bunny Slippers With Teeth! With 50 Ways To Hex You

    Beware Of Bunny Slippers With Teeth!

    With <i>50 Ways To Hex Your Lover</i>
    , new to me author Linda Wisdom introduces her series starring a feisty witch named Jazz and a vampire named Nick who have been in an on then off relationship for several hundred years. Unfortunately, most of it has not been good and the last time Jazz and Nick were together several decades ago, he had her arrested. Understandably, Jazz is a tad cranky when she and Nick cross paths. He is definitely the last person, dead or alive, she wants to deal with and I was given a very good idea just how angry she is with him when she conjures up fire balls and wooden stakes ready to end his existence mere seconds after laying eyes on him again. Jazz doesn’t need any more trouble. Her temper and bad behavior have gotten her in trouble with the Witches Council and she was banished so she is trying to walk the straight and narrow. I was very intrigued to say the least.

    Fortunately for the future of this story, Nick doesn’t give up so easily and continues to try to persuade her to help him track down who is responsible for several vampires going missing. I liked Nick and his persistence. I liked that he and Jazz have an extensive history and they always manage to find their way back to one another. Jazz has a lot on her plate already and the last thing she wants is Nick back in her life. In addition to hiring her witchy services out to disarm curses and her job as a driver for a limousine company she has to deal with Irma, a chain smoking nag of a ghost, who haunts Jazz’s T-Bird, her ghoul boss, Dweezil, who walks a very fine line between good and evil and her carnivorous bunny slippers, just to name a few. On top of that, her boss insists she is the only one who can drive his best customer (because he pays in gold bars), who also emits an odor so noxious that Jazz has to throw away the clothing she wears when she drives him. For Jazz, having Nick show up again after all these years is like the final straw for her. Of course, Jazz eventually agrees to help him, especially when she discovers that the most evil and foulest of creatures she thought had been destroyed in the ‘30s is actually still around.

    I would have liked a little more background history with Jazz (and whatever names she used throughout the years) and Nick. How they met, more detail about her banishment and the relationships with her sister witches Stasi and Blair, how Nick became a vampire and his history with the Protectorate. There were a lot of references and inferences to these issues and a lot of jumping back and forth between past and present, but it left me with more questions that pulled me out of the story many times. Even still, these issues did not keep me from wanting to know more and connecting with the characters.

    My Final Verdict: Overall, this was a good start to a series that has three more books and one short story. Jazz and Nick will return in the next book, <i>Hex Appeal</i>
    and Stasi and Blair will each get their story. I am hopeful more will be revealed and explained as we go forward. If you like your vampire heroes to be hot and your witch heroines to be smart, feisty and full of snarky attitude, with vibrant supporting characters throughout that threaten to take over the whole story, then I recommend <i>50 Ways To Hex Your Lover</i>
    as a good place to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Kclift1107@yahoo.com

    Love this series. I have read the first two books and cant wait to start reading the third one. I love the characters, actually I just love everything about your stories. I am going to be lost when I end the series, Thanks Linda I have loved the ride so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Good

    This one is a possible keeper. I think a reread is in its future. It's an entertaining 244 page read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11