×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

50 Below Zero
     

50 Below Zero

4.6 10
by Robert Munsch, Michael Martchenko (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions


Jason’s dad falls asleep everywhere … except in his own bed. All night long, Jason gets woken up by strange noises that lead him to find his dad in the most unexpected places—from on top of the refrigerator to the freezing cold woods outside his house. In order to finally get a good night’s sleep, Jason musters up all of his resources and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

50 Below Zero 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
GramKS More than 1 year ago
Robert Munsch is a wonderful author of children's books. I recently sat with my 4 grandchildren, ages 5 - 2 and read this book. I had all of their attention. They laughed and repeated phrases in the book. When I was done 2 of them said, "Read it again!" Great book!!
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Living in Iowa, we experience the temperatures really cold and this book is perfect for reading out loud to the classrooms that I sub in. As Jason is awakened by his father’s snoring, he finds him in the weirdest places, on top of the refrigerator and on top of the family’s car. Later on in the evening, Jason hears a sound in the woods and lo and behold he finds his father, leaning up against a tree snoring away in 50 below temperatures. Dragging his father home, this picture had me laughing, as we have Jason dragging his frozen father home by his frozen toes and his father is frozen stiff. Having to unfreeze his father, the bathtub is Jason’s solution but to keep him there, Jason must devise a scheme so he can get some much needed sleep. As mother finally awakens, she discovers what the two boys in the house have been doing all night. I love the illustrations and the use of color, it enhances the story. The fonts used in the story made the story fun to read as some of the words flow off the page and the words “Papa, Wake Up” are bold and call out to you. This is a board book so perfect for those little hands. Thank you NetGalley for this book- what a winner.
CanadaInker4 More than 1 year ago
This book is a re-release for toddlers presented as a board book.  Some of the text and pictures have been updated but the hilarious message is still the same and ready to be unpacked to a new group of lucky kids. Jason hears funny noises in the middle of the night and when he gets up to investigate he finds his dad snoring....laying on top of the fridge.  He shouts, "Papa wake up!" and that's when the fun begins.  Jason goes back to bed only to be woken up time and time again finding his dad in very strange places indeed - like the top of his car and even outside in 50 below zero weather.  Jason has a huge responsibility rescuing his dad over and over and trying to keep him safe.  He finally uses his brain and concocts a plan to keep his dad safe by tethering him in one spot where he can't escape and keep walking off. You will love the ending, a special little twist that only Robert Munsch can pull off....let's just sum it up by saying...the apple doesn't fall far from the tree. This delightful zany book will have your kids laughing out loud.  The re-vamped illustrations are classic and Michael Marchenko is a storyteller in himself with what he produces visually.  I know your child will be asking for this often. You will hear the shout coming from the bedroom..."Papa wake up and read me that story one more time!"
book4children More than 1 year ago
This was one of my favorite books when I was little and I am so happy to see that it still holds up so well all these years later. I'm really glad this is now a board book, because it is one of those classic stories that no child's library should be without. I read it to my kids several times. They could easily pick up on the humor without any prompts from me, which doesn't happen as often as you'd think. The illustrations are fantastic. Michael Martchenko has a great style for storytelling. He is able to portray the scene without it being too simple or overly complicated. The pictures themselves are quite funny and had my kids pointing and laughing at each page. Since this is the board book edition, the text and artwork have been simplified and edited. Even so, I feel like it holds up very well. This is definitely a good addition to your baby's library. They will like the pictures while they are young and enjoy the story as they become a toddler.
flyingcactus More than 1 year ago
My kids make me read it over and over again on this story, highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
go2grandmasplace More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for a fun read on those really cold days at school.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reading the book is just like watching World Baseball Competition! I felt excited when I turned every page. I was wondering where the dad, the sleepwalking guy, supposed to go. Jason, the guyâ¿¿s son, couldnâ¿¿t stand and helped his dad get back. However it was always useless. I canâ¿¿t image how he could in 50 below zero. The ending inspired me, too. I hope Jason wonâ¿¿t sleepwalk out of the house like his dad. It is cold outside. I really appreciate Robert Munsch for his crazy imagination and good sense of humor. In sum, 50 below Zero is the most beloved book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Itâ¿¿s too ridiculous. I canâ¿¿t imagine how people sleepwalk. What a strange father in this story. He always shows up in the unusual place. When I read the sentence,â¿ Itâ¿¿s 50 below zero outside.â¿ I think,â¿ Wow! This dad can go for a competition or break the worldâ¿¿s record. The boy canâ¿¿t put up with his father. But he sleepwalks at last, too. I think itâ¿¿s an interesting ending. I enjoy this book. Itâ¿¿s funny and I never read this kind of story before. The writer is great because he makes up a story of a bad habit