Customer Reviews for

500 Acres and No Place to Hide: More Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    High heels and tractor wheels makes a Fashionable Farm Girl

    Hang on to your hats! Susan is in the driver's seat again. She stomps the gas with her louboutin's and sets course through the Virginia countryside in a whirlwind of fun. She uses her talent to unravel the inner workings of her relationship with her husband and tosses in some black comedy to soften the brunt of their inevitable loss. She is an expert at pulling you along with her through this memoir that dashes through the mud, and the bugs and the deer (not to mention the chickens, the dogs and the cows) found on the farm. Laughter in the face of tears is good medicine. Susan writes with a clear voice filled with love and affection and you can't help but want to go along for ride of her lifetime.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This book is right up there with Susan's first book. Totally enjoyable fun reading. You will find yourself laughing out loud on more than one occassion while reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Recommended for those who love a balance of humor and heart.

    What I loved about Susan's first book (Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl) is all still true in her follow-up memoir: 500 Acres and No Place to Hide. As always, her larger-than-life personality illuminates the page, as she hilariously levels with us about trying to do it all and be it all for everyone who crosses her path - even if it's a chicken or a cow. Her tangential footnotes make you feel like she's your best friend whispering her "real thoughts" in your ear, and gives you insight into how simultaneously twisted and tender she really is. So what's different this time? Well, a lot. As the book moves deeper into the story of her life with the "McMen," it becomes clear that Susan knows full-well that funny does not equate happy. Like anyone else on the planet, her life is riddled with serious issues. Unlike anyone else, her perspective on how to move through them is unique, inspiring, humbling and hilarious. If you worry that reading a spoof on life will leave you hungry for a dose of reality, you won't be yearning for long. Buy it, and if you haven't read her first book, you might want to buy that too and start from the beginning. The set is a great gift for your mother, sister, friend - or anyone who is embarking on a new beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Good Book

    enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    You are alll...

    IDIOTS!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    To evenescence

    Ur a perv ~ enderpaw

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Furyheart

    *Furyheart stretched quietly, not noticing the two and padded away*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Kindheart

    Then come with me. Untill you find your clan you can stay with my friends Kyoclaw and Yukistar at bird lover 7 result. Kyoclaw should be on right now so ill tell him about you then come right back to help you get there ok?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Evanescencewing

    Is dead

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Sunshine and Dove

    She squeaks out,"S-stop!!!", and shoves Hawkheart weakly. Dove whimpers and stays near Glorystormpaw.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Lafghhchvy

    Ghhuuuygfdxvhjkkk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REALLY entertaining!!!

    Review by Lori:
    When I agreed to read this book, I responded to it because it sounded funny and it called to my sense of humor. I then realized after I agreed to read it that it was a continuation of her previous book Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl. I was immediately filled with trepidation that I wouldn't be able to follow this book, that I would be reading the words, but I would not comprehend what I was reading because I hadn't read the previous book. I have to tell you, no worries about being lost while reading this book. Things are explained, there are no moments where you're totally confused.

    This book was really entertaining. I mean REALLY entertaining. I have to admit that this would be a book that I would pass over in the bookstore because, really, who wants to read about someone complaining about being someplace they don't want to be? I was in for a pleasent suprise that Susan's comentary about her life on a farm are not whiney, moaney annoying complaints. She was sharp and snarky without sounding like a total b**** and complained without it sounding like some rich snob. I really liked Susan because as you read more and more of her story, you see that she's a wife and a mom who's helping to keep her family on track. She reveals family struggles that need to be dealt with and some very sad news that was brought to light. Without having read the first book, it sounds like Susan has adjusted to living life on the farm and is doing quite nicely!!

    I think most women could relate to this story, wheather you're a wife or mother or not. After all we all have a story to tell!!! The one complaint that I have is that she has footnotes throughout her story. While the footnotes are helpful little gems, I found them to be distracting. I would read the footnote and then I forgot what I read and had to reread what I read. I felt like I was back in college again!! I'm curious about what happens next and I hope another book will be written. I think I might get the previous book just to find out how this all started!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1