Customer Reviews for

500 Low-Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes, from Snacks to Dessert, That the Whole Family Will Love

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is the "Betty Crocker" of Low Carbohydrate Cooking.

It's not at all about gourmet style cooking, but it's quite useful as an introduction to the low carb life style. There are plenty of basic recipes and low-carb "tricks" utilized. I especially liked Chapter One, "Ingredients You Need To Know About", which delineates ...
It's not at all about gourmet style cooking, but it's quite useful as an introduction to the low carb life style. There are plenty of basic recipes and low-carb "tricks" utilized. I especially liked Chapter One, "Ingredients You Need To Know About", which delineates many of the most useful (and often obscure to the uninitiated) ingredients The carb counts are another strong plus, although I would love to see a book list the carb counts for each ingredient so one could modify the recipe and easily recalculate the numbers. On the other hand, some ingredients are poorly represented. Eggplant and okra, two great vegetables that are both low carb, have only three recipes between them. All in all, this is a recommended book for beginners. The recipes are easy, and most are tasty. It will give you the basic knowledge to branch out to move adventuresome low carb cooking if you so desire, and it's quite modestly priced. You can't ask for much more than that.

posted by Isolepis on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Overrated...

I bought 500 low carb recipes. I am disappointed. There are 500 recipes, but a whole list of hard to find or expensive ingredients. Soy powder, guar gum, rice protein powder, vital wheat gluten...the lis goes on and on. Also- I wouldn't recommend for South Beachers....
I bought 500 low carb recipes. I am disappointed. There are 500 recipes, but a whole list of hard to find or expensive ingredients. Soy powder, guar gum, rice protein powder, vital wheat gluten...the lis goes on and on. Also- I wouldn't recommend for South Beachers. It is a low carb cookbook, but it doesn't seem to pay any attention to fat content and other areas of concern. I would buy 'The Good Carb Cookbook'. I own this title and I actually USE it!

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Finally.....

    A great cookbook for all of those who are hypoglycemic like I am! If you've had a hard time finding cookbooks with low carb counts than this a great one for you. A word of caution, this is not a good book for anyone who can't afford to pay health food store prices.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Excellent.

    Delicious recipes with ingredients that can be found at the local supermarket. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    One of the best low carb book I have seen.

    This book offers ideas that I would have never thought of. Great for the person just getting started and for the person who wants to add something different to your favorite every day list. It has tought an old dog some new tricks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I love this Cookbook!!!

    This is one of the best cookbooks I have come across for a healthy way of eating. It is easy to understand, provides great nutrtitional values per recipe (calories, fat , carbohydrates and sodium) and great for everyday use. The recipes have everyday ingredients that you have in your pantry. I am on a low carb menu plan due to my nutrtitionist and I plan on sharing this book with her. I have not made one recipe that I have not liked. Everyone of the recipes has been easy to fix and delicious. I bought myself one and one for a friend. I plan on buying one for my mother-in-law and my sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great tool for Low Carb Dieters

    Dana Carpender's Low Carb Recipe and diet books have made the difference between fustration and success for me. My family acually likes some of these recipes. I am thrilled with the variety that low carb diets sometimes lack. Very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    Outstanding

    This is the greatest low-carb cook book ever! In fact, I am purchasing another one after mine got water damage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    Great Low-Carb Recipes!

    This cookbook is great. I love to cook and these recipes are all fairly easy and quick. The only recipes that call for hard-to-find ingredients are the desserts, but the other recipes are amazing. My favorites so far are the mushrooms in sherry cream, spaghetti squash carbonara, chocolate mousse to die for, and kay's stuffed mushrooms, which were a hit even with my carb-eating friends and family. You need this cookbook, especially if you're on Atkins, because many of the recipes are a bit higher in fat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    SHOCK!!

    I must say that going into this I was reluctant but, after skimming through it at the store I was so happy to find recipes that contained fimiliar items and were also rather tasty sounding. Now after using a few recipes I am thrilled that they are good to eat and have tons of flavor.. well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    These recipes are TASTY!

    I have about 25 low carb cookbooks, and this one is by far my favorite. The recipes always come together, and I haven't made anything that I would choose not to make again. After living low carb for over a year as an avid foodie, the only way I could continue this way of eating is with VARIETY. This cookbook gives me many ideas and inspires others. Try the Heroin Wings - much different than any other wing recipe I've ever tried. And the Zucchini Carrot cake - I loved this one. Now - I will share with you that my tastes have changed with this way of eating. Since I no longer go through life in a sugar coma, I enjoy different foods than I used to. But the cookies in this book have made a big difference in my ability to stick with it. Hope this helps! Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Great book!

    This was my first low carb cookbook besides Atkins. The recipes are easy and most of them taste great. A description of all the ingredients is included which was helpful to the new low carb cook. Good addition for rookie or experienced low carb. dieter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    EXCELLENT!

    This book is wonderful for the low-carb eater. Easy to follow recipes and ingredients you can find at a local grocery store. The introduction is educational in that she explains different oils, flours, fats etc. Great cookbook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1