×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

500 Low-Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes, from Snacks to Dessert, That the Whole Family Will Love
     

500 Low-Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes, from Snacks to Dessert, That the Whole Family Will Love

4.1 27
by Dana Carpender
 

See All Formats & Editions

Low-fat or low-carb? A recent New York Times Magazine (July 7, 2002) cover story answered this question and said that Dr. Atkins was right all along, "its not fat that makes us fat but carbohydrates." Though the government has spent hundreds of millions of dollars in research trying to prove that fat is the cause of obesity, there has been a subtle shift in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

500 Low-Carb Recipes 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Isolepis More than 1 year ago
It's not at all about gourmet style cooking, but it's quite useful as an introduction to the low carb life style. There are plenty of basic recipes and low-carb "tricks" utilized. I especially liked Chapter One, "Ingredients You Need To Know About", which delineates many of the most useful (and often obscure to the uninitiated) ingredients The carb counts are another strong plus, although I would love to see a book list the carb counts for each ingredient so one could modify the recipe and easily recalculate the numbers. On the other hand, some ingredients are poorly represented. Eggplant and okra, two great vegetables that are both low carb, have only three recipes between them. All in all, this is a recommended book for beginners. The recipes are easy, and most are tasty. It will give you the basic knowledge to branch out to move adventuresome low carb cooking if you so desire, and it's quite modestly priced. You can't ask for much more than that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great cookbook for all of those who are hypoglycemic like I am! If you've had a hard time finding cookbooks with low carb counts than this a great one for you. A word of caution, this is not a good book for anyone who can't afford to pay health food store prices.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Delicious recipes with ingredients that can be found at the local supermarket. Highly recommended.
rascal26 More than 1 year ago
DO NOT GET THIS ONE FOR YOUR NOOK!!! The recipes & low carb tips may be excellent, but this book appears to have been scanned in. The print is tiny and if you adjust it larger, you have to scroll back & forth to read it. Later low-carb books by this author appear to have true ePub format, but this one does not! Fortunately I tried the sample & avoided an unhappy purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much that after a week of making one recipe a day. I went out and bought "500 MORE Low-Carb RECIPES". I have been happily low-carb cooking ever since. If you're on a low-carb diet it is an essential. : )
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought 500 low carb recipes. I am disappointed. There are 500 recipes, but a whole list of hard to find or expensive ingredients. Soy powder, guar gum, rice protein powder, vital wheat gluten...the lis goes on and on. Also- I wouldn't recommend for South Beachers. It is a low carb cookbook, but it doesn't seem to pay any attention to fat content and other areas of concern. I would buy 'The Good Carb Cookbook'. I own this title and I actually USE it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have about 25 low carb cookbooks, and this one is by far my favorite. The recipes always come together, and I haven't made anything that I would choose not to make again. After living low carb for over a year as an avid foodie, the only way I could continue this way of eating is with VARIETY. This cookbook gives me many ideas and inspires others. Try the Heroin Wings - much different than any other wing recipe I've ever tried. And the Zucchini Carrot cake - I loved this one. Now - I will share with you that my tastes have changed with this way of eating. Since I no longer go through life in a sugar coma, I enjoy different foods than I used to. But the cookies in this book have made a big difference in my ability to stick with it. Hope this helps! Good Luck!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first low carb cookbook besides Atkins. The recipes are easy and most of them taste great. A description of all the ingredients is included which was helpful to the new low carb cook. Good addition for rookie or experienced low carb. dieter!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Love all the recipes. Have to agree that some of the desserts aren't as good. But the entrees, side dishes, salads and appetizers are wonderful! I can finally get my kids to eat veggies without even knowing it! I would (and have) reccommend this cookbook to anyone struggling with the low carb diet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful for the low-carb eater. Easy to follow recipes and ingredients you can find at a local grocery store. The introduction is educational in that she explains different oils, flours, fats etc. Great cookbook!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unless you like really frustrating results - stay away from the sweets in this book. Soy powder does not make a good substitute for wheat flour - unfortunately - and lack of sugar makes it even worse. I would rather skip dessert than make these recipes. The author claims that she can't tell the difference between the Peanut Butter Cookie recipe in the book and and her mom's peanut butter cookies. She must have had a rough childhood - not having any decent cookies around.... uggh. The other categories are OK - but heavy on the fat. She does have some good ideas about substitutions, though, so all is not lost.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven't done many of the recipes but the ones I have are awesome. The ones I'm planning on making look sooooo delicious. I only have 2 complaints: 1 some of the ingredients are a little difficult to find, I had to go to the specialty store. and 2. you have to watch some of the carb counts. Perfect for maintance, Helpful for all the other phases.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book offers ideas that I would have never thought of. Great for the person just getting started and for the person who wants to add something different to your favorite every day list. It has tought an old dog some new tricks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cynn66 More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best cookbooks I have come across for a healthy way of eating. It is easy to understand, provides great nutrtitional values per recipe (calories, fat , carbohydrates and sodium) and great for everyday use. The recipes have everyday ingredients that you have in your pantry. I am on a low carb menu plan due to my nutrtitionist and I plan on sharing this book with her. I have not made one recipe that I have not liked. Everyone of the recipes has been easy to fix and delicious. I bought myself one and one for a friend. I plan on buying one for my mother-in-law and my sister.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dana Carpender's Low Carb Recipe and diet books have made the difference between fustration and success for me. My family acually likes some of these recipes. I am thrilled with the variety that low carb diets sometimes lack. Very helpful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the greatest low-carb cook book ever! In fact, I am purchasing another one after mine got water damage.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This cookbook is great. I love to cook and these recipes are all fairly easy and quick. The only recipes that call for hard-to-find ingredients are the desserts, but the other recipes are amazing. My favorites so far are the mushrooms in sherry cream, spaghetti squash carbonara, chocolate mousse to die for, and kay's stuffed mushrooms, which were a hit even with my carb-eating friends and family. You need this cookbook, especially if you're on Atkins, because many of the recipes are a bit higher in fat.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It was my first low carb recipe book and still my favorite. I highly recommend it!!!