Customer Reviews for

52 Reasons to Hate My Father

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jessica Brody is BACK!

With the Karma Club as her final and most popular book, here comes 52 Reasons To Hate My Father, a true masterpiece of writing and awesome creativity about a snobby airess and her journey get her fathers trust fund. Abosolute great book! I love it, and the first chapter...
With the Karma Club as her final and most popular book, here comes 52 Reasons To Hate My Father, a true masterpiece of writing and awesome creativity about a snobby airess and her journey get her fathers trust fund. Abosolute great book! I love it, and the first chapter is the best of them all! I definalty amazing read! Just read, a must-have for all teen (girls) across the USA!

posted by BookWorm101MM on September 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rating: 3 The Low Down: She¿s so close to 18, she can almost

Rating: 3




The Low Down: She’s so close to 18, she can almost taste it. Lexington Larrabee, notorious socialite and daughter of a media mogul, will inherit her trust fund as soon as her next birthday. She’s sure that even though she wrecked her brand-new custom Merce...
Rating: 3




The Low Down: She’s so close to 18, she can almost taste it. Lexington Larrabee, notorious socialite and daughter of a media mogul, will inherit her trust fund as soon as her next birthday. She’s sure that even though she wrecked her brand-new custom Mercedes, her father’s “people” will take care of it all like they always do. After all, that’s what Daddy has been doing her whole life; having his employees follow her around with a dust pan, making sure as little as possible about her antics get in the news.




Lexi and her two best friends have planned their summer already, and as soon as her check gets handed to her, she’s going to live the life she knows she has coming to her. Much to her surprise, however, cold reality comes in the form of an ultimatum: work one week at each of 52 different jobs for the duration of one year without quitting, whining or slacking, and the money’s hers.




Enter Luke Carver, her father’s latest intern. Like many, he admires Richard Larrabee for his tenacity and success. But Lexi? It’s hard to feel sorry for a girl who has everything with an appreciation of nothing. And lucky him - he is assigned to be Lexi’s babysitter.




What happens when you see how the rest of the world lives? What if the life you think you deserve isn’t the one you should choose? Maybe, for both Lexi and Luke, seeing how the other half lives might be the best thing for them both.




Well?: What a fun read. Of course, I enjoyed it when she got her comeuppance, was not “noticed” because she was the help, and when she freaked out. Fun times. Having Lexi be a one-dimensional character would have been so boring (much like the real thing *ahem*), so she had to be redeemed. I like, too that Luke had to realize that he had to understand that his idol was fallible, too.




The Bottom Line: If you find yourself wanting those poor little rich girls to have a dose of reality, you will love this book.




52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody was published July 3, 2012 by Farrar Straus Giroux. Ink and Page won this book in a giveaway, so no one had a choice about whether it was reviewed.




Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Fiction Romance
Ages: 13 and up
You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note

posted by InkandPage on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Jessica Brody is BACK!

    With the Karma Club as her final and most popular book, here comes 52 Reasons To Hate My Father, a true masterpiece of writing and awesome creativity about a snobby airess and her journey get her fathers trust fund. Abosolute great book! I love it, and the first chapter is the best of them all! I definalty amazing read! Just read, a must-have for all teen (girls) across the USA!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Loved it

    I couldnt put down this book for days!!! It will touch ur heart and make u laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3 The Low Down: She¿s so close to 18, she can almost

    Rating: 3




    The Low Down: She’s so close to 18, she can almost taste it. Lexington Larrabee, notorious socialite and daughter of a media mogul, will inherit her trust fund as soon as her next birthday. She’s sure that even though she wrecked her brand-new custom Mercedes, her father’s “people” will take care of it all like they always do. After all, that’s what Daddy has been doing her whole life; having his employees follow her around with a dust pan, making sure as little as possible about her antics get in the news.




    Lexi and her two best friends have planned their summer already, and as soon as her check gets handed to her, she’s going to live the life she knows she has coming to her. Much to her surprise, however, cold reality comes in the form of an ultimatum: work one week at each of 52 different jobs for the duration of one year without quitting, whining or slacking, and the money’s hers.




    Enter Luke Carver, her father’s latest intern. Like many, he admires Richard Larrabee for his tenacity and success. But Lexi? It’s hard to feel sorry for a girl who has everything with an appreciation of nothing. And lucky him - he is assigned to be Lexi’s babysitter.




    What happens when you see how the rest of the world lives? What if the life you think you deserve isn’t the one you should choose? Maybe, for both Lexi and Luke, seeing how the other half lives might be the best thing for them both.




    Well?: What a fun read. Of course, I enjoyed it when she got her comeuppance, was not “noticed” because she was the help, and when she freaked out. Fun times. Having Lexi be a one-dimensional character would have been so boring (much like the real thing *ahem*), so she had to be redeemed. I like, too that Luke had to realize that he had to understand that his idol was fallible, too.




    The Bottom Line: If you find yourself wanting those poor little rich girls to have a dose of reality, you will love this book.




    52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody was published July 3, 2012 by Farrar Straus Giroux. Ink and Page won this book in a giveaway, so no one had a choice about whether it was reviewed.




    Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Fiction Romance
    Ages: 13 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Nice

    This seems like from prada to nada

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    A MUST.....

    Everything a book should have.....romance, suspence, and trust me you can get very frustrated at the characters too! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Cute Read

    Nothing too intellectual here but some interesting situations and characters

    I enjoyed reading it - great beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great beach book, this tale will keep you laughing, with and a

    A great beach book, this tale will keep you laughing, with and at, notorious heiress Lexington Larrabee. This supremely spoiled, yet lovely inside (way deep down where it is safe) and out, protagonist has a knack for fulfilling everyone's expectations of her. Too bad she can't see that and start defining and fulfilling her own expectations. At least not right away.

    This book reads as if it was ripped directly from headlines around the world - from publications known for spending more money to get the picture or headline than for actually doing any fact-checking on those same items. However unlike real life, this book does have a happy ending - for at least one person. Read it to find out who ends up getting just what they deserve and who ends up with their happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It took a while to get into, but 52 Reasons to Hate My Father tu

    It took a while to get into, but 52 Reasons to Hate My Father turned out to be an amazing read. Jessica Brody knows how to end a book with a bang.

    Lexington Larrabee is a spoiled, selfish, heiress who wouldn't know work if it hit her over the head. She knows how to drink, drive, and have a good time, but earning the money she spends is foreign to her.

    Starting 52 Reasons to Hate My Father took some time. I wasn't a fan of Lexi's and her personality was off-putting, but expected of an eighteen year old who has never earned one thing she owns. I pushed through my negative feeling toward her and found a heartwarming surprise half-way through. Lexi's journey pulls her from her self-absorbed world into a world where she learns how those less fortunate live. That everything isn't just handed to everyone. She sees their hardships and begins to become the person her father would be proud of. 

    I loved reading 52 Reasons to Hate My Father because you get to see such an extreme change in attitude. The people Lexi meets leave an impression and she becomes more worldly and less selfish. I loved seeing her evolve. 

    52 Reasons to Hate My Father was an exceptionally well written novel that shows how much a person can change in such a short period of time. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a coming of age novel that leaves you happily surprised in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1