Customer Reviews for

The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

Since so many others have outlined the general plot of this story (huge lawsuit against a hospital; suspicious deaths that may or may not have been committed by a doctor) I'll simply leave a brief comment. Although the story isn't all that complicated, it was still a qu...
Since so many others have outlined the general plot of this story (huge lawsuit against a hospital; suspicious deaths that may or may not have been committed by a doctor) I'll simply leave a brief comment. Although the story isn't all that complicated, it was still a quick, enjoyable read--and the ending was one I didn't see coming.

Please be aware, though, that THE 5TH HORSEMAN is NOT an Alex Cross novel, which seemed to be one reviewer's complaint. This is the story of Lindsay Boxer, SFPD Lieutenant and her fellow Women's Murder Club friends. I found the story to be heartfelt and emotional, full of action-adventure, and, as I said, a very quick, satisfying read.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too much going on

There were too many stories, none of which were resolved. I wondered why the 'Car Girls' crime wasn't explained. I wondered what made Lindsey suspect the 'button killer'. What was the point of the pharmacist? Strange and unresolved. I will keep reading Patterson, but pr...
There were too many stories, none of which were resolved. I wondered why the 'Car Girls' crime wasn't explained. I wondered what made Lindsey suspect the 'button killer'. What was the point of the pharmacist? Strange and unresolved. I will keep reading Patterson, but probably skip the Lindsey novels.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Since so many others have outlined the general plot of this story (huge lawsuit against a hospital; suspicious deaths that may or may not have been committed by a doctor) I'll simply leave a brief comment. Although the story isn't all that complicated, it was still a quick, enjoyable read--and the ending was one I didn't see coming. <BR/><BR/>Please be aware, though, that THE 5TH HORSEMAN is NOT an Alex Cross novel, which seemed to be one reviewer's complaint. This is the story of Lindsay Boxer, SFPD Lieutenant and her fellow Women's Murder Club friends. I found the story to be heartfelt and emotional, full of action-adventure, and, as I said, a very quick, satisfying read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    Night Walker is killing in the hospital

    This book seemed a bit slow starting for a James Patterson book. I thought I might have read too many of his books and was expecting too much. But no, I was not disappointed. As I continued through the book, it became very interesting and exciting, right down to the last chapter and the Epilogue. The 5th Horseman is one of the Women¿s Murder Club series that Patterson has established. Patients in San Francisco Municipal Hospital are dying when they should not be. Patients of all ages are found dead in their beds with a small coin on each eye. When a new member of The Women¿s Murder Club, Yuki Castellano, has to have her mother taken to the Emergency Room in this hospital, she and her friends have much concern. Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer of the San Francisco Police Department takes a personal interest in these deaths now that her new friend¿s mother is involved. Two other members of the club, Claire, the San Francisco Chief Medical Examiner, and Cindy, a reporter, also become more involved. There are just too many deaths for their minds to assimilate. Emergency Room Dr. Dennis Garza seems to always be at the wrong place, at the wrong time as far as the police were concerned. He immediately becomes one of the main suspects, despite having alibis most of the time. Attorney, Maureen O¿Mara, has filed a suit against the hospital for the many victims that have lost family over the past few years. The courtroom action becomes a large part of the book. Victim after victim testifies describing the loss of their loved one, a loss not expected at all. Larry Kramer, the attorney for the hospital, also parades his witnesses for the hospital each telling the hospital couldn¿t be responsible for these deaths as they have a foolproof medication system through their computers. The action gets hot and heavy, in the courtroom and outside as the police pursue their leads. No one is working harder than the Women¿s Murder Club as they trail some of the suspects quietly, and some times NOT so quietly! Dr. Garza remains on the top of their list especially since some personnel in the hospital furnished some information to them. All the time, Lindsay Boxer tries to keep her long-distance romance active with her boy friend, Joe, who is an agent with the FBI in Washington, DC. This is very difficult with both of them too busy most of the time and ¿phone dates¿ are not the best kind of socializing. Meanwhile the Night Walker continues the killing and placing the coins on the eyes. Who is this vicious and uncaring killer who has no respect for anyone¿s age or health condition? Even a person with just a simple broken bone is not safe if the Night Walker wants them DEAD!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I love this series!

    I love this series. Following the lives of these characters makes for a more satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I'm a pretty big fan of James Patterson,I have read most of his Alex Cross series,the Micheal Bennett series, working on the Women Murder Club I'm on book six in a hardback and can't wait to get to book seven which I also have in hardback. Read one of his Private series. There are so many books to chose from they are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer of the San Francisco Police Department

    Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer of the San Francisco Police Department has her hands full with two separate killing sprees. Someone is killing young women and leaving their dead bodies displayed in other people's cars. Then, attorney Yuki Castellano’s mother becomes suddenly ill and is rushed to the local hospital. When Yuki's mother later dies, a court case involving her attending physician takes on a new spin. Could the good doctor be a serial killer who leaves buttons on the deceased's eyes? Or is someone else killing the patients?
    This adult mystery-thriller is an intense, but quick read. It is chock full of action, suspense and mystery. The plots are always exciting, and the characters are never dull. The ending was a little confusing because I thought the hospital murderer would get away, but I should never doubt Lieutenant Boxer. The one drawback: this story was a little too graphically descriptive for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    interesting read

    You can NEVER go wrong with a James Patterson novel, always a fun, interesting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Am hooked on the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very entertaining read.

    I wasn't happy with Mr.Patterson's Step on a Crack novel, nor his 6th Target, so for this novel I invested my money the old fashion way and put my name on the hold list at the library. I'm glad I did.

    If you haven't already known that this novel is one of Patterson's Women's Murder Club series, and the story introduces the latest member, Yuki Castellano. Yuki's mother has a mild stroke and while she is recovering in hospital, she suddenly dies at a hospital. Well it turns out that there is a record of pharmaceutical errors at this hospital and a doctor has been on trial for malpractice in numerous cases, but he keeps on dispensing medicine. Yuki is upset and begins to have this gut feeling that her mother didn't die of natural causes, but that her mother was actually murdered. Now, she demands justice and the doctor is her prime suspect. Lindsay Boxer, the police lieutenant in the Woman's Club group, is convinced that this doctor had committed the crime that caused a series of deaths, including Yuki's mother. However to gather the evidence becomes a real problem in the story and the reader must stay with the story to find out how the main characters of the Women's Club solve this crime.. That's a pretty brief description.

    I found the book intriguing, but I also found a number of parts, and subchapters rather boring that moved along at an even pace. I also thought that there were a number of the secondary plots that didn't make sense for their inclusion in the book. However there are twist and turns toward the end of the book that kept me reading, but I wouldn't consider that small highlight (Which I expect from a mystery storyteller) of the book of any value to recommend it to someone to purchase or to waste their valuable time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story - But Just Fiction

    I had to keep reminding myself that this book was a work of fiction, because there were several made up scenarios. First, nurse's don't give medications based on a patient's "bed number". They give it by identifying the patient with their id band. Also, CNA's (nursing assistants) don't have access to, nor do they give patients drugs. Finally, in the epilogue, which was great by the way, the CNA commented that nobody does any background checks on nurses anyways, so it is so easy to just go from hospital to hospital (in this case, basically for the purpose of killing folks), which is also not true. All that being said, I still enjoyed this book. I do feel like the car girls murders were left hanging. No explanation as to why the killer committed the crimes, no explanation of what was in the letter that he was willing to confess for. Was hoping there would be more info in the epilogue, but there was not. It is unusual for readers to be kept hanging. Usually, the loose ends are all tied up nice and neat. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Good and Fast Read!

    I enjoyed this book. Fast reading (usual for Mr. Patterson) with good twists and turns. The storyline with the car girls wrapped up a little to quick, like there should have been more to it. But the remainder of the book was great. I loved the epilogue! --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another good one

    I've read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series by James Patterson. Although 1st To Die was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Lindsey and Claire, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. Patterson has never disappointed me with his Alex Cross Series either. I highly recommend Jack and Jill. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I wasn't sure if I was going to like this one because i hated 4th of July, but he got right back on track with this one. I wish he would have went in more detail with the car murders and I was a little confused by the ending, but the book had my attention the whole way thru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The 5th Horseman

    My Synopsis:


    The 5th Horseman by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro is the fifth book in the wildly popular Women's Murder Club series. Once again, San Francisco Police Lieutenant, Lindsay Boxer has a new mystery to solve. This time it's a top notch medical thriller that will keep you on the edge of seat until the very last page! With the help of her three friends, Claire, the medical examiner, Cindy the reporter and Yuki, the lawyer, Lindsay has her hands full with not one but two different cases.

    Who is playing God at local, Municipal Hospital? Can all those deaths be blamed on simple human error or is there something else going on. Someone in the Women's Murder Club will be profoundly affected.

    Three women, three expensive cars and clothes to die for, literally. Three young women have been murdered, dressed to the nines and left throughout the city in fancy sports cars. Will Lindsay figure out the mystery in time to stop it from happening again?

    My Thoughts:

    As you are likely to find out, from my blog. I am quite the James Patterson fiend! I generally love his work, especially his romances like Suzanne's Diary For Nicholas and Sundays' at Tiffany's. I started listening to the Women's Murder Club series on audio from my local library and I like it a lot. The 5th novel in the series was no exception. The storytelling is gripping. You just can't wait to see what happens next.

    One of the things I love about a series is that you begin to feel like you know the characters and you want to see what happens to them. I like the way that this book gives us a good introduction to the newest member of the, Women's Murder Club, Yuki. I was a little in the dark from the last book on how she would fit in, but this one really tied it together.

    Since Maxine Paetro began collaborating with James Patterson in book 4, we have kind of seen a story within a story taking shape in the series. It's almost like you are reading two mysteries at one time. It's a very unique aspect of the series that I am enjoying more and more.

    I was on the edge of my seat at the end, wondering if they were really going to get the person responsible for the Municipal murders. I didn't figure it out until very close to the end, which is what makes a great mystery. You just can't put your finger on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    Womans Murder club survives

    I liked the whole story, it just kept getting better and better. The story held my attention from the first chapter. I like to read a book that captivates me from the very first part of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read a lot of Pattersons Novels, but their is a new novelist on the horizion. Behind the Badge in Atchafalaya Swamp will give Patterson a run for the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Murder & Mayhem, M.D. Style

    Since so many others have outlined the general plot of this story (huge lawsuit against a hospital suspicious deaths that may or may not have been committed by a doctor) I'll simply leave a brief comment. Although the story isn't all that complicated, it was still a quick, enjoyable read--and the ending was one I didn't see coming. Please be aware, though, that THE 5TH HORSEMAN is NOT an Alex Cross novel, which seemed to be one reviewer's complaint. This is the story of Lindsay Boxer, SFPD Lieutenant and her fellow Women's Murder Club friends. I found the story to be heartfelt and emotional, full of action-adventure, and, as I said, a very quick, satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Very Good Read

    I was a little skeptical going into this book because James Patterson's latest novels haven't been up to par as they usually are. This book gives a good thrill and unlike 4th of July, involves all of the Women's Murder Club. I enjoyed the ending and thought it was very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    intersting book

    This book was very interesting with even more developed characters than the books preceding it. It was hard to put the book down and even harder to guess how the book would end. It was a wonderful book that I really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Good solid book--entertaining

    Normally one to stick with a humorous book (think Sedaris or McCrae), I chose this instead. Glad I did. The Fifth Horseman is another great thriller featuring Lt. Lindsay Boxer and friends. I was HOOKED from the first (short) chapter, finished the advance reader's copy of this creepy tale in three evenings and wanted more. The characters in this series are getting more fleshed out and real as the series develops and as is the Patterson trademark, the tension never lets up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    Very Imaginative but Less Picturesque

    I have bought three books to read this winter and of course one of them has to be from James Patterson. He still masters his own thing of the woman's murder club. The story is very immaginative but the flow of it might stumble a little. His writing is less picturesque than before. Nevertheless, it's still a page flipper as branded by James Patterson. Still a good buy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6