BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 6 Sacred Stones (Jack West Junior Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

FOR DocAg

It is fiction and I can tell by your ranting you have not seen or been a part of any Special Operation in any branch of the MILITARY. Maybe in your own head. Or what you have seen on T.V. or movie. So relax take a xanex have another twinkee and just enjoy a book for its...
It is fiction and I can tell by your ranting you have not seen or been a part of any Special Operation in any branch of the MILITARY. Maybe in your own head. Or what you have seen on T.V. or movie. So relax take a xanex have another twinkee and just enjoy a book for its entertainment value. Get a grip dude.

posted by Bookman6977 on November 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was

A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was a big
fan of Reilly's novels when he first came out. I loved Contest and
thought Ice Station and Temple were good reads. His action is, of
course, the overblown and exaggerated fair typical of big budget...
A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was a big
fan of Reilly's novels when he first came out. I loved Contest and
thought Ice Station and Temple were good reads. His action is, of
course, the overblown and exaggerated fair typical of big budget
Hollywood. No sense of realism or authenticity here but lots of
explosions, the hero sliding across the floor with both guns blazing
clearing the whole room while none of the enemy can even scratch him,
and death-defying stunts. There's a market for this kind of writing and
it can be entertaining. What bothers me about Reilly's work is not the
above mentioned stuff. It is that Reilly continues to perpetuate a myth
that the media continues to shove down our throats. That most Special
Operators are borderline or full blown psychotic (Reilly's Special
Operator heroes are the sane exceptions not the rule) and that Europe
and America are power hungry Nazis. I'm sick of it. Reilly researched
so much Special Operations gadgetry, equipment, and tactics but did not
research the men. This is the whole motto of every Special Operations
force, "That the individual is more important than the
equipment" and that character is more important than strength. I'm
sick of Reilly's novels and won't read another. I've listed some very
good novels I do recommend, though.

posted by DocAG on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    FOR DocAg

    It is fiction and I can tell by your ranting you have not seen or been a part of any Special Operation in any branch of the MILITARY. Maybe in your own head. Or what you have seen on T.V. or movie. So relax take a xanex have another twinkee and just enjoy a book for its entertainment value. Get a grip dude.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was

    A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was a big
    fan of Reilly's novels when he first came out. I loved Contest and
    thought Ice Station and Temple were good reads. His action is, of
    course, the overblown and exaggerated fair typical of big budget
    Hollywood. No sense of realism or authenticity here but lots of
    explosions, the hero sliding across the floor with both guns blazing
    clearing the whole room while none of the enemy can even scratch him,
    and death-defying stunts. There's a market for this kind of writing and
    it can be entertaining. What bothers me about Reilly's work is not the
    above mentioned stuff. It is that Reilly continues to perpetuate a myth
    that the media continues to shove down our throats. That most Special
    Operators are borderline or full blown psychotic (Reilly's Special
    Operator heroes are the sane exceptions not the rule) and that Europe
    and America are power hungry Nazis. I'm sick of it. Reilly researched
    so much Special Operations gadgetry, equipment, and tactics but did not
    research the men. This is the whole motto of every Special Operations
    force, "That the individual is more important than the
    equipment" and that character is more important than strength. I'm
    sick of Reilly's novels and won't read another. I've listed some very
    good novels I do recommend, though.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    readsmore

    I'm a fan of the Jack West series. I had read the The Seven Wonders (#1 in series) a couple of years ago. I am very glad that I didn't read this until the #3 book came out, The Five Greatest Warriors. This book leaved you on a GIANT cliff hanger at the end, or basically the author jerks you around until he finishes the next book. But I do like this seriers, so hope he will find it in himself to keep counting down. I haven't read any of this other works, but might give them a go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Awsome

    This book is awsome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Half a Book

    Don't misunderstand the title of this review. It's a good book, with Jack West and crew once again doing battle with the bad guys and dashing across the globe to save the day. The problem is, it ends very abruptly in the middle of the adventure. Go ahead and buy Five Greatest Warriors so you can go straight into the second half of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    THis Book had me right from the start. Mathew Reilly is an amzaing author that dives head first into the action! If you like Dan Brown Style, fly by the seat of your pants, You will love this!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Weird

    I honestly only lasted five chapters and then gave up. This is a very disjointed tale. Perhaps I would have got it if I had read the first book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Couldn't Put It Down

    Mr Reilly is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite authors. With Seven Deadly Wonders he took this history fanatic on a non-stop race around the world to discover the ancient wonders of the world. Then with the follow up of Six Sacred Stones he litterly left me breathless my mind screaming 'Oh no he couldn't' at the end. There aren't many characters that I find myself getting really invested in but Jack West Jr is one of them. You find yoursef rooting for him. Getting angry right along with him and yes even crying with him. You know he's gonna show up hell bent on revenge...kill the bad guys, resuce the girl and save the world. But it's the getting there that makes it fun. Matthew Reilly knows how to put you in the middle of the action. Holding your breath waiting for the next explosion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    What a cop out

    This is the first Matthew Reilly book I've read, and probably the last. I found the over-the-top plot acceptable 'although way too many excapes from certain death occurred by the minute--for instance, when Zoe was falling off the back of a moving airplane, not one, but six hands grabbed her simultaneously'. But--the ending floored me. After reading 421 pages to find the hero falling to certain death, hostages in the form of a young boy left abandoned, and chaos ruling, the author simply states 'The end of the 6 sacred stones'. What a cop out. This is simply an attempt to get readers to buy his next book, something I won't do since I have no clue as to whether any resolution will come there or we'll be left high and dry again. Shame on you, Matthew Reilly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great 2nd installment in a 3 part adventure

    This was a solid 2nd part to this 3 part story that really built on the 1st part, it characters and storyline while leaving us in a cliffhanger for part 3. Great cast of characters from all over the world trying to either 1) save the world or 2) destroy the world really adds to the excitement and depth. The ancient historical references, plot locations and overall history are great both capturing our interest and educating us about the world and people that have lived in it through history Eagerly looking forward to the 3rd part which I am beginning immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    DOAag IS RIGHT

    Reilly is an absolute BIGOT!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    SPOILER ELERT... i mentioned some things in here that will spoil a first time readers read of this book... sorry

    This was a really good book i read through it in about fou. hours. I would definatly tell you to consider getting this book. It was fun and exciting and fantastic and unexpected and i loved every word of it. The only thing i didnt lile was the ending... it left off with jack falling into an abyss. Alby left to die at the second vertex and the whole team trying to get themselves together and place the next pillar. Arrrrrrrgg. I didntike the swearing or the details of death. My mind pictures these things and it does not look pretty. I feel bad for lily she has to watch her dad and all of her friends put thier lives in danger and she has to watch others die gruesome deaths. Plus the fact that she is only eleven. I was kinda upset that they didnt get to all sox vertexs and find six pillars. It is called 6 sacred stones..
    Six... not two... oh well at least they inish thier mission in 5 greatest warriors... which is a must read unless you wanted jack to die with that suicidal guy who accomplished only his death when he cut his line... dont wprry though the next book has its share of suicidal idiots who think destroyong the world is a goo idea... japenese men are crazy... somethin is not right upstairs on ya know what i mean... i would highly recommmed any book written by matthew reilly... he is a ood authet and definalty writes bokks that you dont want to end and ou cant put them down... get them all a read... swaggie. 1D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Action/Adventure

    If you are a fan of Dan Brown or Indiana Jones, then this is a book for you. Also great for young adult readers. Action, adventure, and the added twist of 2 young, intelligent characters make for a fun read. The flow could be a little smoother at times and the writing style is somewhat stilted. Despite these minor flaws the story and characters made for a quick read. I will be reading more from this author, which to me is the true test of my enjoyment level. The plot and characters make this a page turner. I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this book to those looking to escape for a time into the jungle with Jack West.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Action Movie Trapped in a Book

    The 6 Sacred Stones was a very captivating book that kept me on the edge of my seat trying to guess what could possibly happen next. At one moment, the main character, Jack West, is sitting in a meeting with world leaders or riding in the jail car of a train, and the next thing you know, a plane is crash landing and threatening his life or he is hanging off the side of a cliff fighting off the bad guys. Something that is very interesting, and of course different from most every other novel, is how Matthew Reily draws simple pictures to help the reader imagine what is in his mind. Any trap or contraption that is very technical is usually sketched out on the next page to show you how his mind works. There is a very good sense of character development throughout the small series, but reading the second book without reading the first can get you very confused, as would any other series. There are many characters that helped out Jack West in the first book, The Seven Deadly Wonders, and are mentioned in many different place throughout the book. This is a very neat concept. Many of the characters that might not have been the most important in the first book reappear and play a new role. Matthew Reily does give enough information about them so that you can figure out what is going on, but these characters have a large background that can fill in many holes you may have. Also, there are many things that are referred to from the first book, as the scenery and the treasures they are searching for. All in all, read the first book first and all of those problems will be solved. The 6 Sacred Stones is just an action movie packed inside of a book, and keeps you excited and never has a dull moment. It is a very, very good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    6 SACRED STONES BY MATTHER REILLY

    THE BOOK WAS VERY ENJOYABLE AND HELD MY INTEREST THROUGH OUT THE ENTIRE STORY. IT MAKES YOU WONDER IF SUCH THINGS ARE POSSIBLE! I AM WONDERING IF THERE IS GOING TO BE A SECOND BOOK AS THE ENDING LEFT YOU HANGING IN SUSPENSE AS TO THE OUTCOME OF THE MAIN CHARACTER FALLING INTO WHATEVER WAS A CERTAIN DEATH OR WAS HE SAVED BY SOMETHING YET TO COME?????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Incomplete

    Was disappointing in that the author left the entire issue unresolved. Maybe he was anticipating a second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A review of The 6 Sacred Stones

    I recently read the book The 6 Sacred Stones by Matthew Reilly. The 6 Sacred Stones sends Jack West Jr. on another mission to save the world from sure destruction. Little did Jack know that the adventure in The 7 Deadly Wonders was only the beginning. (The 7 Deadly Wonders is the beginning of this series and needs to be read first.) It was a book that was hard to put down. It contained nonstop action that led the characters all over the world.

    Action is the main genre in this book. Jack West Jr. and his crew go from narrowly escaping military forces trying to capture them to ravaging cannibals. Their journey takes them all over the world with their enemies tailing quickly behind them. Their enemies caused them to get into fights, causing the explosion of many vehicles, and the death of men on both forces. It is action scene after action scene that creates a cliffhanger every time you put down the book.

    Matthew Reilly did a great job surprising his readers. There were situations you didn't think Jack West Jr. could get out of, but somehow he was always able to "be prepared." Not only is Jack cheating death, but he is all over the world. A question I was constantly asking myself was, "Where in the world is Jack West Jr.?" The crew starts out in Australia then travels to China and other places as the novel continues. Another thing that surprised me it the meaning of the ancient inscriptions; it gets you to think in things in different ways.

    The details in this book are very descriptive. He uses good word choice allowing the words to paint a picture in your head. It makes you feel as if you are there with the characters as the bullets are whizzing past and the cars are exploding. This book is like a video game in your head. With the constant action it is almost as if you are holding a controller and using the buttons to save Jack West Jr. from certain death.

    This book was overall good, but I found a few problems. There was no climax. It was adventure after adventure, creating the book to be very exhausting. Another problem was that the book was even more unrealistic than The 7 Deadly Wonders, which was a letdown. The biggest problem with this book was that it wasn't resolved at the end, which is a major problem in book series. It is a serious cliffhanger, so beware when reading this book.

    Matthew Reilly wrote this book using a wide variety of resources and tactics. He would use many people to be able to include phrases from different languages. He uses many books in which he is able to explore mew possibilities. He wrote this book and this series with the desire to interest teenage boys that didn't like to read, but he also wrote it for anyone seeking a thrill.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another captivating quick read

    deep, but not too deep, appealing to many depths of readers to follow the main themes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Action Packed Sequel

    Jack West Jr is back. After averting the end of the world, we learn that that was just the beginning. Now, they need to gather six sacred stones, rough diamonds the size of a brick, that need to be taken to six underground pyramids at hidden locations. But the players have changed. Now the American's seem to be working with Jack, the Chinese are trying to get control of the stones, and the Japanese are trying to end the world.

    The first course of action is to rescue Wizard, he was kidnapped and tortured for information on what he has spent his whole life studying. From there, they get to Stonehenge to find a map of the locations of the underground pyramids. Then after setting one of the stones, the team is split up with Jack being crushed by stones, Pooh Bear going to be sacrificed, and Stretch being sent back home for the bounty on his head.

    This is one action packed book with lots of history thrown in. It's kinda like Indiana Jones. I have to say that the mission only gets two stones set before ending. I cannot wait for the next book to come out, which is scheduled for 2010. Definitely a must read for action fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beware: Cliffhanger

    Although this book can stand alone, it is more entertaining is you first read Seven Deadly Wonders which introduces the characters and gives background information. For those who enjoyed the Indiana Jones series of movies, this book leads you on a non-stop adventure with ancient history thrown in for good measure. Be aware that this is a two-parter, with Part 2 currently being written and not due to be released until later this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6