Customer Reviews for

The 6 Sacred Stones (Jack West Junior Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Put It Down

Mr Reilly is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite authors. With Seven Deadly Wonders he took this history fanatic on a non-stop race around the world to discover the ancient wonders of the world. Then with the follow up of Six Sacred Stones he litterly left me...
Mr Reilly is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite authors. With Seven Deadly Wonders he took this history fanatic on a non-stop race around the world to discover the ancient wonders of the world. Then with the follow up of Six Sacred Stones he litterly left me breathless my mind screaming 'Oh no he couldn't' at the end. There aren't many characters that I find myself getting really invested in but Jack West Jr is one of them. You find yoursef rooting for him. Getting angry right along with him and yes even crying with him. You know he's gonna show up hell bent on revenge...kill the bad guys, resuce the girl and save the world. But it's the getting there that makes it fun. Matthew Reilly knows how to put you in the middle of the action. Holding your breath waiting for the next explosion.

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was

A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was a big
fan of Reilly's novels when he first came out. I loved Contest and
thought Ice Station and Temple were good reads. His action is, of
course, the overblown and exaggerated fair typical of big budget...
A slap in the face to every active duty Special Operator. I was a big
fan of Reilly's novels when he first came out. I loved Contest and
thought Ice Station and Temple were good reads. His action is, of
course, the overblown and exaggerated fair typical of big budget
Hollywood. No sense of realism or authenticity here but lots of
explosions, the hero sliding across the floor with both guns blazing
clearing the whole room while none of the enemy can even scratch him,
and death-defying stunts. There's a market for this kind of writing and
it can be entertaining. What bothers me about Reilly's work is not the
above mentioned stuff. It is that Reilly continues to perpetuate a myth
that the media continues to shove down our throats. That most Special
Operators are borderline or full blown psychotic (Reilly's Special
Operator heroes are the sane exceptions not the rule) and that Europe
and America are power hungry Nazis. I'm sick of it. Reilly researched
so much Special Operations gadgetry, equipment, and tactics but did not
research the men. This is the whole motto of every Special Operations
force, "That the individual is more important than the
equipment" and that character is more important than strength. I'm
sick of Reilly's novels and won't read another. I've listed some very
good novels I do recommend, though.

posted by DocAG on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    FOR DocAg

    It is fiction and I can tell by your ranting you have not seen or been a part of any Special Operation in any branch of the MILITARY. Maybe in your own head. Or what you have seen on T.V. or movie. So relax take a xanex have another twinkee and just enjoy a book for its entertainment value. Get a grip dude.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Awsome

    This book is awsome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    THis Book had me right from the start. Mathew Reilly is an amzaing author that dives head first into the action! If you like Dan Brown Style, fly by the seat of your pants, You will love this!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Couldn't Put It Down

    Mr Reilly is quickly becoming one of my all time favorite authors. With Seven Deadly Wonders he took this history fanatic on a non-stop race around the world to discover the ancient wonders of the world. Then with the follow up of Six Sacred Stones he litterly left me breathless my mind screaming 'Oh no he couldn't' at the end. There aren't many characters that I find myself getting really invested in but Jack West Jr is one of them. You find yoursef rooting for him. Getting angry right along with him and yes even crying with him. You know he's gonna show up hell bent on revenge...kill the bad guys, resuce the girl and save the world. But it's the getting there that makes it fun. Matthew Reilly knows how to put you in the middle of the action. Holding your breath waiting for the next explosion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    SPOILER ELERT... i mentioned some things in here that will spoil a first time readers read of this book... sorry

    This was a really good book i read through it in about fou. hours. I would definatly tell you to consider getting this book. It was fun and exciting and fantastic and unexpected and i loved every word of it. The only thing i didnt lile was the ending... it left off with jack falling into an abyss. Alby left to die at the second vertex and the whole team trying to get themselves together and place the next pillar. Arrrrrrrgg. I didntike the swearing or the details of death. My mind pictures these things and it does not look pretty. I feel bad for lily she has to watch her dad and all of her friends put thier lives in danger and she has to watch others die gruesome deaths. Plus the fact that she is only eleven. I was kinda upset that they didnt get to all sox vertexs and find six pillars. It is called 6 sacred stones..
    Six... not two... oh well at least they inish thier mission in 5 greatest warriors... which is a must read unless you wanted jack to die with that suicidal guy who accomplished only his death when he cut his line... dont wprry though the next book has its share of suicidal idiots who think destroyong the world is a goo idea... japenese men are crazy... somethin is not right upstairs on ya know what i mean... i would highly recommmed any book written by matthew reilly... he is a ood authet and definalty writes bokks that you dont want to end and ou cant put them down... get them all a read... swaggie. 1D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    6 SACRED STONES BY MATTHER REILLY

    THE BOOK WAS VERY ENJOYABLE AND HELD MY INTEREST THROUGH OUT THE ENTIRE STORY. IT MAKES YOU WONDER IF SUCH THINGS ARE POSSIBLE! I AM WONDERING IF THERE IS GOING TO BE A SECOND BOOK AS THE ENDING LEFT YOU HANGING IN SUSPENSE AS TO THE OUTCOME OF THE MAIN CHARACTER FALLING INTO WHATEVER WAS A CERTAIN DEATH OR WAS HE SAVED BY SOMETHING YET TO COME?????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    another captivating quick read

    deep, but not too deep, appealing to many depths of readers to follow the main themes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC NOVEL !

    The six sacred stones is the first Matthew Reilly novel I have read. After reading it I ran out and purchased all of his other novels and have not been dissapointed ! Mr Reilly has a fantastic way of weaving a mixture of action,intrigue,hair raising,sit on the end of your seat mystery that is impossible to put down. I can hardly wait fot the sequel to this novel to come out ~ so hurry up there Matt !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    six sacred stone

    This book sucks you in to the story on the first page and doesnt let you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    PAGE TURNING THRILLER

    Better than The Seven Deadly Wonders, The Six Sacred Stones was a real page-turner!!!! I couldn't put it down, anxious to get to the end...and now it's a waiting game for the next one!!! Matthew, please hurry!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Have fun reading

    This book has a plot that is entertaining--hard to put down at night. But it is also set up in such a way that it is great to take to work, read for 15 minutes, and then pick back up later in the day and not feel lost in the plot. I love Matthew Riley and keep all his books in my library for a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cant wait for the next book

    Oh my god this is the first book I have ever read from Matthew Reilly. You talk about nonstop action a really good cliffhanger. I'm a big Preston and Child fan and I didnt think anyone could rank up there with them two, but Mr. Reilly just won my vote. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    Another Winner

    I must disagree with the previous reviewer, This is a GREAT book from Matthew Reilly. While I understand some of the reviewers qualms, I think he should review the book as it is-- a wham bang thriller action novel-- this is not Cormac McCarthy, This is not Dickens-- this i MATTHEW REILLY doing what he does best, writing an action novel. Be warned it does end on a major cliffhanger, but 5 Greatest Warriors will be out in early January 2010.<BR/><BR/>The book is full of action, that is beyond belief, I say it everytime i recommend this book-- it is OVER THE TOP! The great thing about Matthew Reilly is he know's He's unbelievable, and he simply has fun writing outrageous action scenes. he does not take him self too seriously. If you're looking for realistic action look to Vince Flynn, but for bullet flying, car dropping, 'copter crashing action, REILLY CAN'T BE BEAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Mr. Reilly has done it again! I just read The 6 Sacred Stones- True to form, he continues to entertain with a fast paced story while allowing us to see more and more into the world of Jack West and his extended family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Awesome!

    What a great read. Thought the Seven Ancient Wonders was great, this one is even better! Starts with a bang and the ending will blow you away! Please tell me the next installment will be out soon!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Haven't even read it yet....

    but I know it will be awesome!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a wild over the top fast-paced tale that never slows down

    After spending a decade on a quest to obtain the Golden Capstone of the Great Pyramid from the ancient wonders (see 7 DEADLY WONDERS), Jack West Jr. retires vowing no more adventures as that is a young man¿s game. He and his adopted daughter, Lily move to the Australian outback.------------ However, Jack's idle idyllic time raising Lily is disrupted when his friend Professor Max ¿Wizard¿ Epper arrives in the Outback claiming the world needs Jack¿s help. Max insists that a strange object he dubs the Dark Sun will arrive in nine days leading to the Apocalypse. To prevent the end of days, someone of Jack¿s proven caliber must find the six legendary Pillars, clean them using the Philosopher's Stone and insert the pillars in the 6 Vertices. This would turn on the Great Machine that would void the Dark Sun¿s terminal discharge. ------------ As with the prequel, THE 6 SACRED STONES is a wild over the top fast-paced tale that never slows down from the moment the Wizard drafts Jack. In some ways the story line lampoons the larger than life hero saving the world against all sorts of odds. You don¿t know Jack about fun action thrillers if you miss Matthew Reilly¿s entertaining modern day swashbuckling epic adventure.----------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4