Customer Reviews for

61 Hours (Jack Reacher Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 1311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(523)

4 Star

(397)

3 Star

(211)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

61 Hours

Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their ...
Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their home on an abandoned army facility. It doesn't take long before the sheriff asks Reacher for help. From the moment the story begins until its explosive climax, Child keeps the action going as the entire story takes place within 61 hours!

posted by grumpydan on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not Mr. Child's Best Effort

I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reac...
I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reacher novel (though it is required to some extent in all the novels). I understand that the cliffhanger ending is leading to a follow-up novel. I can only hope the follow-up redeems Mr. Child's stellar reputation.

posted by roadtrip on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1322 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    61 Hours

    Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their home on an abandoned army facility. It doesn't take long before the sheriff asks Reacher for help. From the moment the story begins until its explosive climax, Child keeps the action going as the entire story takes place within 61 hours!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Not Mr. Child's Best Effort

    I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reacher novel (though it is required to some extent in all the novels). I understand that the cliffhanger ending is leading to a follow-up novel. I can only hope the follow-up redeems Mr. Child's stellar reputation.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting Reacher thriller

    Military police officer Jack Reacher hitches a ride with a senior citizen church group tour bus in South Dakota. However, a car ahead fishtails on the icy snow laden road; the experienced but tired bus driver overreacts on the frozen bridge; he does everything else right, but weight wins out and the bus crashes near Bolton.

    The local cops are slow on helping the twenty elderly passengers; the bus driver remains in shock. Reacher takes over. However, in town, he will find the reason behind the delay is a methamphetamine lab run by a brutal Mexican cartel out of a nearby abandoned military post. At the same time Reacher helps the Washingtonians, an assassin has arrived in Bolton to kill a brave witness, her lawyer, and the outsider who suddenly protects her.

    This is an exciting Reacher thriller as the storm and two upcoming storms isolate the already remote town. Fast-paced throughout, the early chapters have little two fisted action, but grip the audience with insight into the roaming hero as his ethics insist he help the passengers and then the townsfolk, especially law enforcement who realize they are out of their league with the cartel. Readers will enjoy the clock ticking down on Reacher and others as the inevitable showdown in the Badlands is imminent.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    For This Huge Reacher Fan - A disappointment

    Like so many fans of Lee Child's Jack Reacher, I couldn't wait for this book. However, it's certainly the worst in the series. With every potential to make this a great story, I thought the writing style was monotonous, and the plot was far from a thriller. The characters were well developed - Reacher was great - but this one just didn't come together. The ending was a disappointment. Hopefully the next book will get the series back on track...

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely captivating!

    The perfect hero, Jack Reacher, the drifter who travels light and doesn't look back, quick-thinking, wise, smart, tough, no-fear guy with an army background finds himself on a bus in South Dakota in the middle of a blizzard. Reacher has hitched a ride on a bus tour of senior citizens. When the bus crashes, he finds himself in Bolton, the location for a recently built prison. A crooked lawyer conducts some shady business at the prison and then skids on the slippery road, sending the bus crashing into a ditch. Reacher does what he can to assist the injured and dazed victims until the police arrive at the scene. Jack soon becomes acquainted with an elderly woman named Janet Salter, whose testimony could help put away the leader of a huge methamphetamine ring. Although Janet already has police protection, the setup is far from secure. Unfortunately, the bad guys know where she lives and plan to silence her. Salter senses that Reacher is her kindred spirit and the two form a strong bond. Reacher decides to guard Salter, who needs someone smart, strong, and resourceful, someone who can think out of the box to outwit these criminals. This is one that will appeal to men and women, young and old! It's intense, gripping and heart-warming all in one! So Exciting!!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reacher rocks!

    I've read every Lee Child book there is and adore Jack Reacher. You have to feel for the guy, as he just wants to keep his head down, stay out of trouble, and keep moving. Yet he keeps getting pulled into situations where he has no choice but to help strangers, as he can't walk away from doing the right thing. That's why I love Reacher, as he's one of the good guys.

    This is another great Reacher book and if you've enjoyed the others, I'm pretty sure you'll like this one as well. The only thing I didn't care for was the countdown throughout the book, letting us know how many hours were left. Could have done without that, but it's a small thing and don't think it would bother anyone else but me.

    Child is a very good writer, and Reacher is a very good character. You know that if you pick up one of his books, you're going to get a good story. Great pacing, good plot, and believable characters. Was a little surprised by the ending, which I hadn't seen coming, and can't wait to see what Child has up his sleeve for the next book! Highly recommended!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Reacher at it again!

    I have read all of Lee Child's Jack Reacher series and have liked everyone of them, including "61 Hours." Without going into any detail and giving away anything, he definitely leaves the ending open for a follow-up novel which is okay with me. I personally felt that this novel showed you a deeper side of Reacher. I definitely would recommend it. Can't wait until his next one -- love all his adventures!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Not My Favorite

    This was my least favorite book from Lee Child. The author made my favorite character, Reacher, look inept, slow, not as sharp as he should've been. I figured everything out in the first hour. It took this Reacher 61 hours....not good...Bring my smart Reacher back!!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Avoid "Jack Reacher Withdraw"! Buy 2 at a time.

    Lee Child's main character Jack Reacher is the guy you want and need on your side. Action-packed, intense and addictive, Child's books are dynamite in print. A suggestion to avid readers...avoid "Reacher withdraw" by purchasing two different Lee Child titles at a time. They are fine reading and absolutely habit-forming.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Typical lousy exploitation of loyal readers who grow fond of a character.

    Dear Lee Child,

    The previous Reacher was a fair return to the quality you invested in the first several books in this series. After book 4 in the series, your rating has consistently risen on the "Suckometer".

    If your going to whore out your keystrokes like you did on this one, PLEASE just retire, or get a better ghost writer for Crist sakes!

    At this point your ripping off your readers.

    Sincerely, a disappointed fan who used to enjoy your books...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    61 Hours

    61 Hours is the fourteenth book by author Lee Child in his acclaimed Jack Reacher series. The long running action/mystery series is based around former military cop Jack Reacher. After serving in the Army for thirteen years, and having grown up on Marine bases all over the world, he travels all around the country with no destination in mind carrying nothing but the clothes on his back and a fold-up toothbrush. Most times he's either walking or hitchhiking. Unfortunately for Reacher, trouble seems to find him wherever he goes.

    In this latest installment in the series, which Stephen King has coined "man fiction"(source: Entertainment Weekly, October 12, 2008), Jack Reacher finds himself on a bus in South Dakota on the way to Mount Rushmore in the middle of a major snowstorm. In the middle of nowhere, the bus hits a patch of ice and goes off the road. From that moment until the very end, it is abundantly clear that Reacher is a highly intelligent and resourceful man. He tends to the injured and keeps everyone as calm as possible. After a while the passengers and driver of the bus are shuttled off to the nearest town of Bolton and that's where the mystery begins.

    As soon as he gets to Bolton it is clear to Reacher that something isn't right and something very big is going on. From there begins a story of meth dealing bikers, an old and mysterious military compound, a prosecutorial witness in danger, and the mystery assassin sent to wipe her out before she testifies. It's up to Jack Reacher to get to the bottom of things before it's too late.

    Even though the book is part of a series based around Jack Reacher, you don't need to have read any of the other books to understand what's going on in the newest installment. From page one this book moves with the speed and precision we have come to expect from a Lee Child novel. The action is intense, the mystery is complex and intriguing, and the characters feel very real. It's difficult to keep coming up with fresh ideas for your protagonist after fourteen books but Lee Child has succeeded once again. From the moment you start reading you'll be dying to find out what happens next and you'll be tossed around by the plot twists.

    The only bad thing is that once you've finish reading you are struck with the realization that it will be another year before the next book comes to shelves. We can only hope that Child continues to churn out great stories surrounding our hero Jack Reacher. If the past is any indication, we won't have anything to worry about for a long time to come.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book with a poor set-up

    Lee Child is an amazing writer. His dialogue is sharp and his novels are filled with astute observations showing a real sense of people and situations. This book, while technically very good, never came together for me. I am a retired police officer who, among other things held a command rank and had a jail as one of the units reporting to me. None of the police aspects of the book rang true. The police department is too large, the precautions taken to guard the witness are absurd, the deal with the prison that drives much of the plot is simply laughable. Ditto with the notion that an inmate could avoid lockdown and not be missed for several hours in a modern, high-security institution. Aside from those large holes in the plot, the story is well told and worth the time, effort and money. You just have to squint really hard, as Pogo might have said.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Why did I read this???

    61 Hours should have ended in the first hour. It would've been much easier on me as well as the 17 other people who wasted their time reading this book. Not only am I appalled at the thought of peddling this trash to masses but Lee has the audacity to sell his propaganda without regard to the CHILDREN OF AMERICA! Lee Child, you have done it again my friend!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    61 hours of disappointment

    Wow, what a huge disappointment for me. This is by far the bottom of the barrel for Lee Child. This book was so predictable that I had it solved the second time the bad guy interacted with Reacher. It seemed every opportunity for Reacher to be Reacher was wasted. Finally the ending was so off the mark that I wondered if Lee Child actually wrote the book. It took me 3 tries to get the correct book from BN.com and right now I feel it was a waste of my time. Let us hope that Lee Child can find Reacher for us before the next book in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good but not one of the best.

    I'm a very big fan of Lee Child and have been reading the Jack Reacher series. This novel unlike his others lacked the suspense. The characters were just not that strong, and the villain, although typically violent, was not very devious. A prolific writer that Lee Child is, there has to be some stories that are not as riveting as the rest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Child and Reacher do it again!

    Another awesome, amazing read featuring Jack Reacher. This is in my top three favorite books by Lee Child. He writes like a dream and creates a thrilling scene fraught with suspense and drama. I would very highly recommend the entire Jack Reacher series, especially Persuader and Echo Burning.
    You may also like the novels of Ruth Rendell, Ian Fleming, John D MacDonald, and Sue Grafton. The Charm School by Nelson DeMille is also a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    Riff off

    Your email list price a 9.99 but the website charges 14.99

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    One of the BEST Yet!!

    I purchased this book from the UK only because I could not wait for the US release date to read it. I am a HUGE Jack Reacher fan and this is by far one of the best in the series!! You must meet and read Jack Reacher!! Awesome books!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Not His Best

    A long and tiresome wait for the typical Reacher action to arise. Meanwhile, the countdown conceit only exacerbated the tedium.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    spirit reader Great read

    really kept me on my toes, loved the characters. i will miss them

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1322 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67