Customer Reviews for

61 Hours (Jack Reacher Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 1302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(520)

4 Star

(395)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

61 Hours

Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their ...
Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their home on an abandoned army facility. It doesn't take long before the sheriff asks Reacher for help. From the moment the story begins until its explosive climax, Child keeps the action going as the entire story takes place within 61 hours!

posted by grumpydan on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not Mr. Child's Best Effort

I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reac...
I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reacher novel (though it is required to some extent in all the novels). I understand that the cliffhanger ending is leading to a follow-up novel. I can only hope the follow-up redeems Mr. Child's stellar reputation.

posted by roadtrip on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Not My Favorite

    This was my least favorite book from Lee Child. The author made my favorite character, Reacher, look inept, slow, not as sharp as he should've been. I figured everything out in the first hour. It took this Reacher 61 hours....not good...Bring my smart Reacher back!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book with a poor set-up

    Lee Child is an amazing writer. His dialogue is sharp and his novels are filled with astute observations showing a real sense of people and situations. This book, while technically very good, never came together for me. I am a retired police officer who, among other things held a command rank and had a jail as one of the units reporting to me. None of the police aspects of the book rang true. The police department is too large, the precautions taken to guard the witness are absurd, the deal with the prison that drives much of the plot is simply laughable. Ditto with the notion that an inmate could avoid lockdown and not be missed for several hours in a modern, high-security institution. Aside from those large holes in the plot, the story is well told and worth the time, effort and money. You just have to squint really hard, as Pogo might have said.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Same old, same old...

    I hate it when good writers get in the rut where they have to churn out a new book every year, whether they have one in them or not. This one is not quite that bad, but it certainly is not in the top tier of the Jack Reacher novels. And the 61 hour thing...was VERY annoying having the hours tick down throughout the book. It's not as if the plot has a deadline or anything...it's just a shallow marketing tool. Anyway, it makes for a summer read that kills time, if not alot more. And yes, I"ll read his next one, but hope the author puts more effort in.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Never was able to open the book.

    I bought it for my Nook and it would not open. I went through customer service tech support 2 different times, spent hours doing what they said and never did any good. I am sure it is a good story but I am not willing to pay double to read it. If B&N would be willing to resend it like they said they would I would love to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Average book, nothing fantastic

    Thid was an average book, nothing fantastic. The main character was underdeveloped, the plot transparent, and storyline dull. This was my first book in the series. I will try one more before passing on them totally.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Too much talk about nothing.

    There's no doubt that Lee Child is a great writer and the Reacher series are amoung the best out there. My problem is I don't need a two page description on a house that has nothing to do with the main story.And that is just one example. This book could have been easily 150 pages shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    really fun

    read it in 3 days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    Nope!

    I agree with some of the other reviewers. This is not one of Lee Child's best - and I think I have read them all! Also, I'm getting a little tired of these cliff-hanger endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed Reacher Fan

    I looked forward to the latest installment in the Jack Reacher series but was disappointed with Mr. Child's latest effort. Though this is the first time we see Reacher at his most vulnerable, the identity of the assassin was somewhat predictable and the ending was unsatisfactory. Hope the next book is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    Not His Best Work

    I agree that Lee Child's ne Reacher novel 61 Hours is not his best work mostly because he deliberately left it with a cliffhanger and his next novel in 4 and a half monts away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    This is probably great like all the others

    but why is the ebook so much more expensive than the paperback? That's just insulting.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11