Customer Reviews for

61 Hours (Jack Reacher Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 1308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(522)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(210)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

61 Hours

Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their ...
Jack Reacher is certainly back in Lee Childs's 61 Hours and gets himself stuck in a small town in South Dakota in the middle of winter were it is colder than cold. The small town of Bolton is right outside a newly built prison and a gang of meth dealers have made their home on an abandoned army facility. It doesn't take long before the sheriff asks Reacher for help. From the moment the story begins until its explosive climax, Child keeps the action going as the entire story takes place within 61 hours!

posted by grumpydan on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not Mr. Child's Best Effort

I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reac...
I am a dyed-in-the-wool fan of Jack Reacher. This latest entry, however, left me shaking my head. Certain plot elements Mr. Child uses to drive the story were just ludicrous. Readers should be prepared to suspend disbelief to a degree not usually required by a Jack Reacher novel (though it is required to some extent in all the novels). I understand that the cliffhanger ending is leading to a follow-up novel. I can only hope the follow-up redeems Mr. Child's stellar reputation.

posted by roadtrip on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 522 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting Reacher thriller

    Military police officer Jack Reacher hitches a ride with a senior citizen church group tour bus in South Dakota. However, a car ahead fishtails on the icy snow laden road; the experienced but tired bus driver overreacts on the frozen bridge; he does everything else right, but weight wins out and the bus crashes near Bolton.

    The local cops are slow on helping the twenty elderly passengers; the bus driver remains in shock. Reacher takes over. However, in town, he will find the reason behind the delay is a methamphetamine lab run by a brutal Mexican cartel out of a nearby abandoned military post. At the same time Reacher helps the Washingtonians, an assassin has arrived in Bolton to kill a brave witness, her lawyer, and the outsider who suddenly protects her.

    This is an exciting Reacher thriller as the storm and two upcoming storms isolate the already remote town. Fast-paced throughout, the early chapters have little two fisted action, but grip the audience with insight into the roaming hero as his ethics insist he help the passengers and then the townsfolk, especially law enforcement who realize they are out of their league with the cartel. Readers will enjoy the clock ticking down on Reacher and others as the inevitable showdown in the Badlands is imminent.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely captivating!

    The perfect hero, Jack Reacher, the drifter who travels light and doesn't look back, quick-thinking, wise, smart, tough, no-fear guy with an army background finds himself on a bus in South Dakota in the middle of a blizzard. Reacher has hitched a ride on a bus tour of senior citizens. When the bus crashes, he finds himself in Bolton, the location for a recently built prison. A crooked lawyer conducts some shady business at the prison and then skids on the slippery road, sending the bus crashing into a ditch. Reacher does what he can to assist the injured and dazed victims until the police arrive at the scene. Jack soon becomes acquainted with an elderly woman named Janet Salter, whose testimony could help put away the leader of a huge methamphetamine ring. Although Janet already has police protection, the setup is far from secure. Unfortunately, the bad guys know where she lives and plan to silence her. Salter senses that Reacher is her kindred spirit and the two form a strong bond. Reacher decides to guard Salter, who needs someone smart, strong, and resourceful, someone who can think out of the box to outwit these criminals. This is one that will appeal to men and women, young and old! It's intense, gripping and heart-warming all in one! So Exciting!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Avoid "Jack Reacher Withdraw"! Buy 2 at a time.

    Lee Child's main character Jack Reacher is the guy you want and need on your side. Action-packed, intense and addictive, Child's books are dynamite in print. A suggestion to avid readers...avoid "Reacher withdraw" by purchasing two different Lee Child titles at a time. They are fine reading and absolutely habit-forming.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Child and Reacher do it again!

    Another awesome, amazing read featuring Jack Reacher. This is in my top three favorite books by Lee Child. He writes like a dream and creates a thrilling scene fraught with suspense and drama. I would very highly recommend the entire Jack Reacher series, especially Persuader and Echo Burning.
    You may also like the novels of Ruth Rendell, Ian Fleming, John D MacDonald, and Sue Grafton. The Charm School by Nelson DeMille is also a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    One of the BEST Yet!!

    I purchased this book from the UK only because I could not wait for the US release date to read it. I am a HUGE Jack Reacher fan and this is by far one of the best in the series!! You must meet and read Jack Reacher!! Awesome books!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Childs does it again !

    Jack Reacher starts out as his usual, take it one day at a time self. Then starts the inevitable, no escape theme that we have become used to in all the Reacher books. I had to read the ending three times before I could convince myself what I had read. Great work Lee Child, I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    reacher

    the man is the best writer to come along in ages.
    keeps you up a lot later then you want to be.
    the plot the characters the detective work its just a
    page turner from page one till the end.
    i get sad when i'm near the end and can't wait
    for the next book.
    and good old australia got it first weeks ago..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Another great Reacher novel

    I can't get enough of Reacher! He's just a cool character. The usual twists and turns are in this book which makes it a great read. If you are a Reacher fan, it's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is a really good book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Suspenseful! Great story line. Enjoyed it immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    This was the best Reacher book Lee Child's written. I don't thin

    This was the best Reacher book Lee Child's written. I don't think I need to go into the details of the book because so many readers agree, but I will point out that he acknowledges the editor, Kate Miciak. The pacing of this book, the cut to scenes, and overall flow of the whole book was much smoother than many of the other books I've read by Lee Child. An excellent, can't put it down read. If you like an exciting, edge of your seat read, with some mysterious what did they do with some of that WWII surplus, this is a book to read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    Best book I have read so far!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Good reading

    I have been totally hooked on the Jack Reacher series. Read every book so far. Waiting for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    ?qnqyagagqag

    AgaBQy qygBqal

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    EXCELLENT = A GOOD FAST MOVING READ

    COULDN'T PUT THIS DOWN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended - You'll be hooked!

    Lee Child does an incredible job in keeping you on "the edge of your seat," you can't put the book down - throughout the story. I can't get enough of the Jack Reacher series. Wish he could write them faster.
    Truly gifted writer! Thank you Lee Child for sharing your gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Reviews?

    It's too bad that people review books poorly just because their device doesn't open the book. That misleads people who look at ratings. Then there are those that feel Reacher is an undeveloped character - admitting this is the first of the SERIES they have ever read. Yikes! I have read numerous Reacher books and find them an excellent diversion. Reacher's character showed a humanity I had been wondering about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great Summer Read

    A savage snowstorm and a tour bus crash land Reacher in the middle of South Dakota—unprepared. He’s ready, as only he can be, to risk his life to protect a courageous witness. If she’s going to live long enough to testify, she needs his help. There's a killer headed straight for her and he'll be in town soon...or maybe he’s already there...

    Reacher’s original plan was to keep on moving, but the next 61 hours will change everything. The secrets are deadlier and his enemies are stronger than he could have guessed.
    The helpless local cops enlist Reacher’s assistance, and he displays plenty of bravery, mental acuity, and good old-fashioned decency.
    This was my first Jack Reacher novel, and it was enjoyable to read. The hero is a superman, ex-U.S. Army, can-do-everything kind of deal. Reacher also is presented as someone normal, doesn't display unbelievable deductive powers, he doesn't bed any women in improbable circumstances and he doesn't always get things right. The plot is fairly gripping and the mystery builds nicely. In 61 Hours, Lee Child has written a showdown thriller with an explosive ending and with insights that Child provides into his hero's psyche and background as well as a cliffhanger ending.
    This would make a great summer read. I will be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I recently was lent a Lee Childs book and immediately became a fan of his! 61 Hours is the third Lee Child book I have read in the last 3 months. I thoroughly enjoyed this book,and all the twists and turns Jack Reacher was subjected to. If you aren't yet a Jack Reacher fan, read this book and you will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended, Jack Reacher is "The Man".

    A friend told me about this author named Lee Child. I finally purchased his first book, Killing Floor, and became hooked on the Jack Reacher character. I'm currently on Book #15 in this series, I highly recommend that people who like this type of fiction; read them in sequence. Reacher is the new modern day version of"Dirty Harry". He takes no prisoners and "does the right thing". Great read! Kennesaw-Stick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 522 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27