Customer Reviews for

The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

The gang is back to solve another case, except that this time, there are numerous parallel mysteries running amok in Patterson's THE 6TH TARGET.

Fred Brinkley, a man who hears voices inside his head, is videotaped murdering four innocent people aboard a ferry....
The gang is back to solve another case, except that this time, there are numerous parallel mysteries running amok in Patterson's THE 6TH TARGET.

Fred Brinkley, a man who hears voices inside his head, is videotaped murdering four innocent people aboard a ferry. He's charged with attempting to kill two others, one of whom happens to be a now critically injured Claire Washburn.

A five-year-old piano playing prodigy by the name of Madison Tyler is snatched off the street along with her nanny, and with no ransom note coming in to the family, things aren't looking good.

At Blakely Arms, an apartment complex, things are going from bad to worse as a dog is viciously murdered, residents are attacked, and people are beginning to suspect a neighbor in the building.

Demotions, pregnancies, relationship break-ups, life-altering decisons -- all of these plot lines vie for space within THE 6TH TARGET. As the four players of The Women's Murder Club set out to get their lives together while solving a series of mysteries, you'll be glad that you're along for this fast-paced, thrilling ride.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Adequate Thriller-good but nothing special

If you are into this series of books this particular selection is one of the best. I would definitely recommend it to James Patterson fans, as this book is classic Patterson. Essentially it follows the exploits of the Woman's Murder Club in a series of new cases that ar...
If you are into this series of books this particular selection is one of the best. I would definitely recommend it to James Patterson fans, as this book is classic Patterson. Essentially it follows the exploits of the Woman's Murder Club in a series of new cases that are both disturbing and complex. A psychopath murders people, children are kidnapped, an apartment complex is terrorized by brutal slayings that sort of a thing. Without giving too much away that summarizes the plot nicely. It should also be mentioned that there are elements of romance and some racy sections in the book so I would not recommend this book to children below high school age. As it is a thriller and not a deep societal examination the major themes include triumph over evil, crime does not pay, and follow your heart. This book is not a fable. However I definitely liked the book it kept me entertained to the very end. The characters were extremely well written and thought out; I especially liked Fred Brinkley. Not in the sense that I liked him as a person but that it was difficult to determine what drove him, what really was going on in his head. That is the kind of character that I look for in a book, one that you cannot really assess with just one look so to speak. I have to say I did not like the romance in the book. It just did not fit with the plot it seemed detached from the rest of the story. Additionally I am not a fan of romance in general. In short The 6th Target was good but not great entertaining but not enthralling well written but not superb. Oh and let me tell you the ending was a doozy. Peaked your curiosity have I; well you will just have to read the book.

posted by CMCBoston on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    The gang is back to solve another case, except that this time, there are numerous parallel mysteries running amok in Patterson's THE 6TH TARGET. <BR/><BR/>Fred Brinkley, a man who hears voices inside his head, is videotaped murdering four innocent people aboard a ferry. He's charged with attempting to kill two others, one of whom happens to be a now critically injured Claire Washburn. <BR/><BR/>A five-year-old piano playing prodigy by the name of Madison Tyler is snatched off the street along with her nanny, and with no ransom note coming in to the family, things aren't looking good. <BR/><BR/>At Blakely Arms, an apartment complex, things are going from bad to worse as a dog is viciously murdered, residents are attacked, and people are beginning to suspect a neighbor in the building. <BR/><BR/>Demotions, pregnancies, relationship break-ups, life-altering decisons -- all of these plot lines vie for space within THE 6TH TARGET. As the four players of The Women's Murder Club set out to get their lives together while solving a series of mysteries, you'll be glad that you're along for this fast-paced, thrilling ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great read

    Good book....now on to the next!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    great book

    I love James Patterson's book. His series for the Women's Murder Club is really great. The girls keep you looking for the next adventure. This is a must read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series, this is one of my favorites

    Love this series, this is one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great!

    Another great installment in the WMC series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Love this series

    Had a hard time getting into this book but overall a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Another great edition to the series.

    If your a Patterson junkie and have been reading this series then you will enjoy this edition to the series. As with others in the series it flows and you feel like you are going on the next investigation with the women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Am now hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    A good read

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns in this book. The personal emotional impacts to Lindsay made the story even more compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Great but a little confusing...

    In the beginning, all thru to like the middle of the book it skips back n forth to different situations/crimes. It's really a good book n I enjoyed it but it was a bit confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    DKJ

    Fantastic, as I always expect this series to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Another Women's Murder Club Winner

    Although the book was not so gripping that I couldn't put it down, the multiple plots held my interest and made me want to read more, in the next book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very good read

    I've read most of the Woman's Murder Club Series by James Patterson. Although 1st To Die was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Lindsey and Claire, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. This book also fits well into the entire series. Patterson has never disappointed me with his Alex Cross Series either. I highly recommend Jack and Jill. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    As good as the previous women's murder club series.

    The women's murder club characters have a friendship connection that is very realistic. Their careers and families make you feel part of their lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series. Compelling characters

    I like this series of books. The characters are well-defined and the action is interesting with some good plot turns.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Snatching the young and innocent off the streets of San Francisco a woman¿s murder club struggles to make headway towards protecting them. James is one of my favourite authors so I expect to be enjoying this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Light reading done right

    For fans of James Patterson and the Womens Murder Club, you won't be disappointed as long as you aren't looking for in depth detailed plots and thrills. I felt a little let down at the end but only because I had been looking forward to the next in the series. Mr. Patterson was trying to do to much in a short amount of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The Trigger Event

    If you enjoy Patterson then you will definately enjoy The Trigger Event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Can't wait for #6

    Have read 1-5. I just know that the 6th Target will be just as good as the others in this series. I have liked all of his books that I have read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    I too can not wait!

    I look forward to all of his books. They can not be written fast enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6