Customer Reviews for

7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Food for thought, then action

    The author identifies 7 areas of excess in her family's life and chooses to focus on changing their ways in each area. By focusing on one area for 4 weeks, they could see which changes to make and get to work.

    I enjoyed the book thoroughly. I liked the author's approach... self deprecating humor with truth bombs sprinkled throughout and all tied to her faith. I also understand how overwhelming changing habits of excess can be all at once... I appreciate she tackled them one by one.

    Easy read that leaves a lasting impact.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Worth your time

    Well written: just when it gets pretty serious she throws in funny stuff. This is a good wake-up call for all of us who can afford to buy the book. We have a whole lot of stuff we don't need! Even if you don't do the things she does as drastically, moderation is what we need to remember to apply to our daily lives.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A True Gift

    If your "closet" is overflowing with food, clothes, money, waste, stress, etc. and you don't have room for one more thing, then this book is a MUST READ. Jen Hatmaker struggles, falls to her knees, rises up again and triumphs in this experiment with excess. She did it not only for herself and her family, but for all of us who question our own "full closets". I found this book to be insightful, helpful, hilariously funny, and demanding. Jen Hatmaker backs all (or most) of her opinions up with His word and what He expects of us. I will be rereading this book, suggesting it to friends and requiring my husband to read it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great book for thought

    This book will quickly help point out any possible excess you may have in your life and/or force you to think about how others survive with what they have and how you might change your lifestyle to help others. After living the 7 experiment, you can't help but thing of "things" differently.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Highly recommend...very entertaining and enlightening!

    By the time I was half-way through the second chapter, I had already ordered 3 more books for my friends and family to read. This struck a cord in me, a sense of ingratitude that I couldn't shake...still can't. Even if a person just improved on one of these areas in their life, they and their community, would be the better for it. Great job, Jen!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I was asked to join a handful of women to go through 7 beginning

    I was asked to join a handful of women to go through 7 beginning in September. I had no expectations but was left more than a little bewildered after our introductory meeting in June. I just finished the book and my world has certainly been turned upside down. I work at a mega church much like the ones Jen describes and cannot shake the eerie notion that Jen is right ... if members of the early church walked in to our doors they would be totally bewildered and think God's word must have really been altered since they read it. Looking forward to meeting with my group tomorrow night to discuss. As far as wearing only 7 articles of clothing in September ... that I'm not looking forward to as much, ha!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Far & above what I ever imagined - Well worth your time to read!

    For me, time is of the essence - so if I'm going to read a book, I prefer that it is non-fiction and ultimately enriches my life somehow. This book is that and so much more. Recommended as an excellent book by one of our pastor's wives whom I respect very much, I purchased two copies - one for me and one for my sister who reads even less than I do. We each devoured our own copy, reading slowly, allowing it to marinate in our minds. Coming together on our lunch hour, excitedly sharing our thoughts, ideas and reactions...and ultimately our convictions, we are determined to follow in Jen's footsteps, who definitely appears to be following in God's.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    AWESOME book!

    Another great book by Jen Hatmaker! She challenges you, but in a humble way, sharing her own struggles & difficulties, all while making you laugh hysterically!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Life-changing!

    A friend asked some friends to read this book to discuss. I am an avid reader and decided to check it out. I was a little skeptical reading the summary but the book truly changed my perspective on my Christian walk. We are not called to continue to bless the blessed. We are called to those less fortunate. To the unlovely. To the lost. I am using this book as a discussion point in a new women's group I am starting to help women find their calling. Where does God want you to be?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    It's sounds cliche but this book was life transforming for me.

    It's sounds cliche but this book was life transforming for me. In the best possible way. Not only did this book make me laugh all the way through, but it made me take a closer look at so many things that have become so 'normal' in my day-to-day life. She makes you really give thought to the excess in every area of our lives, but in a way that will make you feel enlightened, encouraged, empowered to change what you'd like to, and always does it with scripture and the most wonderful kindness with people at the heart. Her writing makes me want to be a better person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Terrible and Misleading

    She came across as way too superficial and materialistic for me to even finish this book. I gave it some time, hoping it would get better, but by Chapter 6, I gave up. She's incredibly boastful and repetitious in her book. Hatmaker most certainly did not behave as a woman of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    To: horselover10

    You just told the world you are disobeying. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    To:puppylover09From:horselover10

    I'm reading in bed and texting and nobody knows(:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Loved 7!

    I thought this would be a good book about clearing out my stuff. Hatmaker instead taught me some serious lessons about how little I really need to be happy and how important it is to really love your neighbor. She is super funny, too! Love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Fantastic! Thoughtful! Great Insights!

    Jen Hatmaker is such a "real" person! Her books always make me think . . . do I do that? Am I like that? Her faith inspires me to try harder and relax more. I loved 7. I loved how she was honest with how each month went: seven items of clothing and forgetting to pick a coat in winter, eating chicken for a month, how her kids and her husband felt about giving up technology . . . 7 sounded so drastic when I first read about it, but as I read each month, I kept thinking, I could do this! I could learn to live with less and it would be good for me to get the "stuff" out of the way so I can listen more. I loved how she backed up each month of 7 with facts on consumerism, hunger issues, poverty facts. It was thought provoking and really made me exam how my family and I live our lives. Are we caught up in the "isms"? Do we perpetuate the problem? Could one person or one family make a difference? I think that is the whole point that Jen was getting at. By changing her lifestyle, she changed the lives of those around her. Now her book is out there making the rest of us think? I know because I read 7, I stop and think before I spend money on something, before I throw stuff out, before I shop in the grocery stores . . . is the best choice I can make for my family? For myself? If you feel you need to make a change and get rid of the stuff in your life. If you need to listen to God more or even just listen to your family more? If you need to get your family to listen . . . 7 is the book you should read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved it and couldn't put it down!!

    I read this in about 2 days and can't wait to start reading more Jen Hatmaker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Absolutely stellar book. This is an easy read, it's funny, it's

    Absolutely stellar book. This is an easy read, it's funny, it's biblically referenced and it's a great book to take in and use in your life. I will be purchasing these as gifts as well as more of Jen's books in the future. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    What a journey!

    Jen really takes you on a journey and opens your eyes to how good we truly have it and shows you new ways to "pay if forward" or give back to the community some of what God gives to us. A very good read and journey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Amazing read!

    Jen is so funny and real! Great book for girls bible study group! Makes ya wanna make a change!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Must read. For everyone. EVERYONE.

    Just read it. Seriously.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3