Customer Reviews for

7 Deadly Wonders (Jack West Junior Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

My favorite series of books so far!

Where to start? Im 24 and I hated to read for as long as I can remember. The place that I worked had gone bankrupt and we were basically there to make sure the place didnt blow away. I figured there was no better way to pass an uneventful 12 hr shift then to read a book...
Where to start? Im 24 and I hated to read for as long as I can remember. The place that I worked had gone bankrupt and we were basically there to make sure the place didnt blow away. I figured there was no better way to pass an uneventful 12 hr shift then to read a book. I just happed to pick up this book and I was in for a suprise!

This book pulled me in like no other! I love reading about ancient artifacts, forgotten/hidden places and other mystical stuff.I found out that he was in the process of making a third. That book is on its way to my house as I write this.

I just couldnt put these books down. I would come home from my 12 hour shift at 6am and keep reading instead of sleeping. They are that good!
Im not sure what im going to do when im done reading "The Five Greatest Warriors". I hope matt will keep writing in this series. He had the seven deadly wonders, then the six sacred stones and now the five greatest warriors. I say keep going untill you get down to 1! I would deffantly read them all.

As a matter of fact, I think im going to go through and re-read this series in the near future. This series just goes togther so well, kind of like a puzzle. I found myself sometimes going back to previous books to the current books would make sense.

That is the only thing that I would caution, This series gets kind of deep and somewhat hard to follow and remember some of the previous read stuff to make sense of whats going on currently.

I would recommend this book to people that like different types of books as this book covers history, artifacts, thrillers, mystery and even a little romance.

I didnt touch to much on the contents of the book itself because it would be to hard to summerize and I dont want to ruin it for anyone.

Read this series if you like fiction books like this, you wont regret it!

posted by smitty81 on January 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wish I had a $ for every ! used in the book

Completely over the top plot, limited character development, somewhat predictable. This is probably the fastest book I've ever read. I have Ice Station and Temple already, but haven't read them. I'm hoping that they are better than this one. Not a bad book, per se, but ...
Completely over the top plot, limited character development, somewhat predictable. This is probably the fastest book I've ever read. I have Ice Station and Temple already, but haven't read them. I'm hoping that they are better than this one. Not a bad book, per se, but just SO over the top, it was ridiculous. I made myself finish it just to see where it went. Includes diagrams of the caves and traps, but not all of them. I'm not sure that they really helped comprehend what was happening. Somewhat interesting twist at the end. If you're on the beach for a couple of days and want a completely mindless read and the plot doesn't have to be believable at all, then get this book. Try not to let all the !'s bother you.

posted by nyc_book_lover on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite series of books so far!

    Where to start? Im 24 and I hated to read for as long as I can remember. The place that I worked had gone bankrupt and we were basically there to make sure the place didnt blow away. I figured there was no better way to pass an uneventful 12 hr shift then to read a book. I just happed to pick up this book and I was in for a suprise!

    This book pulled me in like no other! I love reading about ancient artifacts, forgotten/hidden places and other mystical stuff.I found out that he was in the process of making a third. That book is on its way to my house as I write this.

    I just couldnt put these books down. I would come home from my 12 hour shift at 6am and keep reading instead of sleeping. They are that good!
    Im not sure what im going to do when im done reading "The Five Greatest Warriors". I hope matt will keep writing in this series. He had the seven deadly wonders, then the six sacred stones and now the five greatest warriors. I say keep going untill you get down to 1! I would deffantly read them all.

    As a matter of fact, I think im going to go through and re-read this series in the near future. This series just goes togther so well, kind of like a puzzle. I found myself sometimes going back to previous books to the current books would make sense.

    That is the only thing that I would caution, This series gets kind of deep and somewhat hard to follow and remember some of the previous read stuff to make sense of whats going on currently.

    I would recommend this book to people that like different types of books as this book covers history, artifacts, thrillers, mystery and even a little romance.

    I didnt touch to much on the contents of the book itself because it would be to hard to summerize and I dont want to ruin it for anyone.

    Read this series if you like fiction books like this, you wont regret it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Action Adventure Through History

    This book is about the hunt for the Capstone of the Great Pyramid. Basically, ten years previous, a Oracle was born. The child is the only one that can read the lost language that points to the locations of the pieces of the Capstone. Since her birth, Lily has been raised in a secret compound among a few dedicated people that intent to keep the Capstone and it's great powers out of the hands of the Europeans and Americans.

    Present day, Lily has finally been able to translate the script and now they are in a race with the Europeans and Americans to get all the pieces. Jack West Jr. is the leader of the little group. But no matter how hard they try or no matter how obscure the location, they are getting beaten at every turn. It seems someone is giving their locations to the Americans.

    I really liked this book. There are a lot of historical things and possibilities. It was full of action and drama and had a quick pace. If you like action adventures like Clive Cussler, you will like this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Wish I had a $ for every ! used in the book

    Completely over the top plot, limited character development, somewhat predictable. This is probably the fastest book I've ever read. I have Ice Station and Temple already, but haven't read them. I'm hoping that they are better than this one. Not a bad book, per se, but just SO over the top, it was ridiculous. I made myself finish it just to see where it went. Includes diagrams of the caves and traps, but not all of them. I'm not sure that they really helped comprehend what was happening. Somewhat interesting twist at the end. If you're on the beach for a couple of days and want a completely mindless read and the plot doesn't have to be believable at all, then get this book. Try not to let all the !'s bother you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    HORRIBLE

    Reilly is a BIGOT!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Good for early teens

    It was just dumb. I read the whole book and every chapter had something more ridiculous than the last. The premise was good but execution bad. Battle scenes that were absurd. Including a magic device that causes bullets to miss. The characters were hokey and all have code names-Avenger, Poo Bear, Huntsman. They fly around in a 747 that they turned into a hovering fortress. Oh, and there is a bird on the team that can defeat booby traps. Somehow it just didnt fit together well. Sci-fi, teen adventure, war, history, Raiders of the Lost Ark poorly rolled in one. Skip it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    The seven deadly wonders a must read

    Ok first off i just want to say this is one of the best books ive ever read. It has action adventure romance and puts on a intersting spin to common american and catholic views. But i would like to say to all those people who say its offensive i dont agree with you i think that its intersting how it shows us americans as bad people cause to a lot of the world we are fairly bad people. Im not saying we are all terrible, but in the beging of the book it said how the specif organization cief was corrupted bysome bad people. It also said how the catholic religon isa ancient sun cult, but in other books such as percy jackson and the olynpians how the catholic religon was based on thegreek religon is that offensive too but its only speculation you idiots. I rest my case

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    7 Deadly Wonders - Matthew Reilly

    My sister recommended this series of 3 books... I was hesitant at first but decided yo give it a try. Wow! While it was a bit annoying to read the regular '!' At the end of many descriptive sentences (which as someone who loves to write tries to avoid at all costs) the story was actually really well-written snd enjoyable. Despite having 4 kids and a husband, housewotk, interviews and LIFE was sble to read this in about 4 days simply because I HAD to know what was going to happen next!

    I definitely rec this for people who love adventure/sci-fi stories that aren't 'out there'!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    NOT GOOD!!!

    This book reads like a poorly acted cut rate adventure movie! Not sure if the author was trying to be this way but it was unbearable to read. Great basis for a story but the characters and storyline were not that believable. I know this is fiction but at least make it somewhat realistic. I love adventure novels but this was too much to bear.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Extremely Poor

    Reads like the author is playing a video game. Good idea to use ancient wonders, but primary characters flat and should have been killed in chapter 2 or 3. Maps and diagrams useless when reading on nook. Nook needs a zoom feature.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Great Book! And You People Are Hypocrites

    Ok first off i'll admit this isnt reilly's best book. But that doesnt mean its bad either, 7DW is an awesome read for someone who likes to be entertained. yeah sometimes things get a bit too unrealistic, but who cares?! reilly's book have always been like this though the format is a bit different. you people will watch movies like Die Hard and love them but the same action in a book and its bad?! sorry but i think this story has a great plot with great characters and great action sequences. oh and to all those people who dont like the book cause America is 'the bad guy'.... get off your high horse. if something like this happened for real you know we would be all over it for the power, not to stop it. for some reason we are fine with the bad guys being american as long as its an american who is the good guy and stops them. as soon as its anyone else its disrespectful and horrible. oh and here is the biggest thing, ITS A PIECE OF FICTION!! who cares who the good and bad guys are? if they were chinese or arabs, americans would love it. sorry im usually not the one to rant like this but i hate it when people are hypocrites. Reilly delivers some of the best action/ adventure book out there today and this one does not dissapoint!though the story does end, there are sequels to this book though only one is out now. Six Sacred Stones is an okay book but i wouldve been happier if reilly would have thought of something else involing west or scarecrow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Learn your subject material

    I don't know whether to blame the author or his editor's' but I had to give up after about 60 pages. I counted at least a dozen inaccuracies or inconsistensies by that point. This may be a good story to some but anybody who knows anything about flying or the military will have a hard time getting past the errors enough to enjoy the tale. I finally had to call it quits when a 747 lands on a country asphalt road. I was willing to suspend belief for the completely implausable/impossible 'traps' in the first 40 pages but not a 747 doing that. This book was a waste of time. It seemed like it was written by a 12-year-old whose ideas of what 'neat' stuff airplanes and guns 'and all kinds of other things' can do should be included because they sound so cool regardless if they can actually do them or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Ok, I like the genre, and I am not claiming to be a sophisticated snobby reader or anything, but my wife and I couldn't get over the amateurish quality of this book. I read a lot of fiction and have only not finished one novel -- this was a close second. The author uses a choppy, short-sentence style (and I don't mean in a Hemingway-esque sort of way) that is annoying after the first chapter. He also seems to think that adding a couple of dashes mid-sentence to leave the reader hanging is an amazing tension builder, as if I'm not already reading down to the next line. Here's how it feels: Wizard looked down and saw -- Dead bodies!! Then he lowered the rope. And there was -- Darkness!!! Darkness blacker than night! I'm serious, this is how it reads. I had to check with my wife to make sure this wasn't a kids book. And don't get me started on how many exclamation marks he uses. Yes, Matthew, I get it, you want us to feel the energy. Who was the editor on this book? Overall, the plot was incredibly outlandish and unbelievable -- I dare you to check out the synopsis on Wikipedia...it's more like a video game than a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have seen SO MANY novels that throw in some form of connection to The DaVinci Code that it would seem even the latest Sci Fi novels even have some form of similarity--if it helps to sell books anyway...Personally I have read only TWO books that I would even remotely compare with The DaVinci Code: First would be James Rollins' 'Map Of Bones' and the second of course would be 'Seven Deadly Wonders' by Matthew Reilly. This is a well-researched Action/Adventure which takes everything you loved about TDVC and up's the ante by a factor of about a million. Don't believe me? Reilly has the unique talent for writing the absolute most adrenaline-filled action sequences I believe have EVER been written since publishing began. Sure that sounds rather presumptuous, but then again, if you haven't read Reilly, you wouldn't fully understand yet. Just crack open any of his novels and you will quickly become a believer. With the advent of such incredible action usually means something has to be sacrificed...and unfortunately for some of you, that will be an unforgiveable act--but personally it hasn't affected my personal love for his books one iota. So what was axed in favor of the tremendous speed of the story? Characterization. From what I can tell, in every single novel of Reilly's, the characters are ALL secondary to the STORY. Oh, and BEFORE you begin reading any of his novels, you absolutely MUST check your believability meter before even attempting one single page. Enter the world of Reilly understanding these rules beforehand and you are ready for THE biggest adventure-laced stories you are likely to ever read. Seven Deadly Wonders takes us on a global search for the original Wonders of the Ancient World. Of them all, only one still exists that anyone knows of (the Great Pyramid of Egypt) and at least one other has never even been proven to have ever existed at ALL. Ahh, but once you have all the ingredients, you have the ability to have global dominance for 1,000 years...hence the all-out effort to find them all first. Some who have read this have a very narrow viewpoint in that they cannot--or will not accept that at least in the pages of this novel some of the bad guys actually end up being American. This hasn't gone over well with some of Reilly's Yankee Fans. I say GET OVER IT. It's JUST a BOOK and keep in mind that it was AMERICAN heroes that have saved the day in virtually ALL of his pervious books. Say what you want, but I simply LOVED this one, and after discovering he was writing a sequel (that believe it or not he was going to make us wait until Jan. '08 to read), I have been anxiously awaiting reading it as well. If you like your stories bigger than life with the impact of a Texas Sized Meteor, check out Matthew Reilly today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    an action thriller which could have been better if it was fast paced better

    i am literally amazed after reading matt new book seven wonders of the world.b'coz it was not a typical matt book.wat happened man?.the book as it starts, really was good and adrenaline pumps.but as it goes on it lacks the thrill and fast paced script.only one thing is good that is we can know about seven ancient wonders which most them dont know.it was really interesting to get know abt these strange facts especially hanging gardens of babylon.of course the call sign assigned by the little girl is fun.the traps that was said to be designed by imhotep is really amzing.dont know whether it is fact or fiction either way its good to imagine. as far as anti american theme i dont find anything disturbing..cool.but let us expect a better one from matt soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Never lets up

    Take this for what it is: pure adrenaline rush fueled by bullets, rockets, mines, ancient booby traps, death chambers, undecipherable scrolls, oracles, bad guys, good guys, hidden treasures, history, last second escapes, advanced technology . . . even several references to The DaVinci Code. Honestly, Jack West, Jr is the first character who could whip Clive Cussler's Dirk Pitt. It's a plot-driven story that weaves through the world with its own sense of timing, adventure and intrigue. Don't look for a lot of character development, but then again its the compelling action and Mr. Reilly's attention to details as you accompany the international (and diverse) team in search of the pieces of the capstone that moves the story at lightning speed. And by the way, I'm American and found no disrespect in his depiction of a U.S. villian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Excellent!

    Non stop action and adventure, great for anyne who loved matt reilly's other books. If Scarecrow had a brother it would definitely be Jack West. And for everyone who gave this book at bad rating, id like to see if u could write sonething as talented. cheers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Non-Stop Action

    I found this book, to be an attention-grabbing, fascinating read, so detailed, it was like watching an action movie. I truly had difficulty putting it down, but did finish it in 2 nights. Reilly does an excellent job of mixing history with fiction to create a present day novel with just enough information to pull the reader in and hook them. Reilly is adept at keeping the story going, with the format dividing the book into sections coinciding with the dates, which interestingly, occurred the week I read this! While other readers critize the authenticity of the book, and implausible occurrences, one must remember that this is indeed a fictional novel loosely based on the truth. It is meant to entertain, and it does so wonderfully.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Not even worth the one star

    Without doubt the worst book I have ever read. While I try to explore authors that I have not read, this book is beyond bad. Implausible events made even worse by the author's total lack of detail to the action. I did not mind the format, but the lack of content made me actually laugh at some parts that were supposed to be serious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Awful book

    I am very thankful that this is not the first book I have read by Matt Reilley, if it had been I probably would not have picked another one up. The plot was ridiculous predictable and all over the place. the bad guy were cartoonish, all they needed was black mustaches to twirl. The 'heros' were flat and one dimentional and I didn't really care if any of them lived or died. If you want a real thrill ride I suggest you pick up his best book Temple, but if you are thinking about buying Seven Deadly Wonders don't

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Seven Deadly Wonders

    I love Matthew Reilly but this book really flopped for me. Really weird format and just not that great of detail. I didn't really get a good feeling for the characters and made it hard to care if they made it out alive or not. His other books are great but this one is my least favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7