Customer Reviews for

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Effective Habits = Effective Individual

I came across this book after seeing an endorsement from Covey on another great book, Emotional Intelligence 2.0. I loved it. Covey taps into some fundamental aspects of human nature and, despite being 20 years old, the ideas are fresh and compelling. Covey offers easy ...
I came across this book after seeing an endorsement from Covey on another great book, Emotional Intelligence 2.0. I loved it. Covey taps into some fundamental aspects of human nature and, despite being 20 years old, the ideas are fresh and compelling. Covey offers easy fixes and straightforward formulas backed by an incredibly detailed program for boosting your career and efficacy. It's dense and Covey is long-winded, but the wisdom provided is worth the effort. Each chapter is dedicated to one of the habits, with the first half of the book focused on moving from dependence to independence (i.e. self mastery) and the last half focused on interdependence (working with others): * Habit 1: Be Proactive Take initiative in life by realizing your decisions (and how they align with life's principles) are the primary determining factor for effectiveness in your life. Taking responsibility for your choices and the subsequent consequences that follow. * Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind Self-discover and clarify your deeply important character values and life goals. Envisioning the ideal characteristics for each of your various roles and relationships in life. * Habit 3: Put First Things First Planning, prioritizing, and executing your week's tasks based on importance rather than urgency. Evaluating if your efforts exemplify your desired character values, propel you towards goals, and enrich the roles and relationships elaborated in Habit 2. * Habit 4: Think Win-Win Genuinely striving for mutually beneficial solutions or agreements in your relationships. Valuing and respecting people by understanding a "win" for all is ultimately a better long-term resolution than if only one person in the situation had gotten his way. * Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, then to be Understood Using empathetic listening to be genuinely influenced by a person, which compels them to reciprocate the listening, take an open mind to being influenced by you, which creates an atmosphere of caring, respect, and positive problem solving. * Habit 6: Synergize Combining the strengths of people through positive teamwork, so as to achieve goals no one person could have done alone. How to yield the most prolific performance out of a group of people through encouraging meaningful contribution, and modeling inspirational and supportive leadership. * Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw The balancing and renewal of your resources, energy, and health to create a sustainable long-term effective lifestyle.

posted by Jimz007 on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A few good points; not much else

I finally read it. What do I mean by that? I've had this book for about 15 years. I believe it was a complimentary copy when I purchased a Franklin planner, among other things, from Franklin Covey. I've started it numerous times, but never made it more than a few pages ...
I finally read it. What do I mean by that? I've had this book for about 15 years. I believe it was a complimentary copy when I purchased a Franklin planner, among other things, from Franklin Covey. I've started it numerous times, but never made it more than a few pages in. I finally finished it and do not understand what all the hype is about. Let me state that I do believe the 7 habits are worth following in and of themselves. Habits one, two and three alone (private victory) have some excellent perspective and are worth implementing. Habits 4, 5 and 6, are important, but I did not like the way Mr. Covey conveyed the information. Habit 7 (sharpen the saw) ties it all together. The biggest issue I had with this book is the writing. I cannot stand the way Stephen Covey writes. I felt like everything was being preached to me. I did not like the hundreds of stories that he continuously tells (some I even question if they are true).

I should note that I've been a fan of the Franklin Planner system going back many years. I personally think Mr. Covey drove them into the ground with the merger and the Franklin Covey system (note that I didn't say Franklin Planner ) just does not work. They missed the boat with the technological age. Maybe that would not have happened if Covey spent more time developing something that works instead of preaching these works. It's products have continually gotten worse. The values noted in this book have importance in the bigger picture, but for day-to-day use, I prefer Getting Things Done by David Allen. I may give First Things First a read since that chapter proved the most useful to me. Doing that, however, would mean suffering through Mr. Covey's reading style again. Having said all of that, I do feel a sense of accomplishment. However, that is only because I finished a book on my shelf that had been there for so many years.

posted by lemme14 on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Effective Habits = Effective Individual

    I came across this book after seeing an endorsement from Covey on another great book, Emotional Intelligence 2.0. I loved it. Covey taps into some fundamental aspects of human nature and, despite being 20 years old, the ideas are fresh and compelling. Covey offers easy fixes and straightforward formulas backed by an incredibly detailed program for boosting your career and efficacy. It's dense and Covey is long-winded, but the wisdom provided is worth the effort. Each chapter is dedicated to one of the habits, with the first half of the book focused on moving from dependence to independence (i.e. self mastery) and the last half focused on interdependence (working with others): * Habit 1: Be Proactive Take initiative in life by realizing your decisions (and how they align with life's principles) are the primary determining factor for effectiveness in your life. Taking responsibility for your choices and the subsequent consequences that follow. * Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind Self-discover and clarify your deeply important character values and life goals. Envisioning the ideal characteristics for each of your various roles and relationships in life. * Habit 3: Put First Things First Planning, prioritizing, and executing your week's tasks based on importance rather than urgency. Evaluating if your efforts exemplify your desired character values, propel you towards goals, and enrich the roles and relationships elaborated in Habit 2. * Habit 4: Think Win-Win Genuinely striving for mutually beneficial solutions or agreements in your relationships. Valuing and respecting people by understanding a "win" for all is ultimately a better long-term resolution than if only one person in the situation had gotten his way. * Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, then to be Understood Using empathetic listening to be genuinely influenced by a person, which compels them to reciprocate the listening, take an open mind to being influenced by you, which creates an atmosphere of caring, respect, and positive problem solving. * Habit 6: Synergize Combining the strengths of people through positive teamwork, so as to achieve goals no one person could have done alone. How to yield the most prolific performance out of a group of people through encouraging meaningful contribution, and modeling inspirational and supportive leadership. * Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw The balancing and renewal of your resources, energy, and health to create a sustainable long-term effective lifestyle.

    39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not an E-Z read

    For a personal change book, I found it rather a hard read. The book to me is, well, complicated. The seven habits make sense and all, but the whole process seems to involve making layers of change, with each layer being a whole book in itself. Not a very quick read, and I'm not saying its not worthwhile and all, it's more a book that you have to be willing to work with. Readers who like less sophisticated personal change books might enjoy The Sixty-Second Motivator.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Good but not great

    If you regularly already read these types of self-improvement books and have had leadership experience, this isn't going to profoundly change your life. It will most likely just reaffirm your current habits and serve as a reminder. Still, I enjoyed listening to his CDs.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fresh, helpful, and important

    Despite having sold many millions of copies, Stephen Covey's groundbreaking book remains as fresh, helpful, and important as when it was first published. Such longevity is a testament to the quality of the insights that Covey offers: Eschewing easy fixes and simple-minded formulas, his writings offers a comprehensive and highly detailed program for invigorating your career as well as other aspects of life.<BR/><BR/>You won't be able to breeze through this book (the writing is sometimes complex and involved), and you won't be able to apply Covey's ideas half-heartedly (the vision outlined requires serious effort to realize), but if you're willing to do the work, you'll reap the enormous benefits that many other readers have discovered and put into action.<BR/><BR/>Covey gave a glowing endorsement for another book that I strongly recommend because it's outstanding and it has helped me a ton: <BR/>"The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book"

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book ever!!!

    One EVERYONE should read. Preferrably as soon as their old enough to comprehend it--teenager possibly. Helps you evaluate your goals & priorities in life and determine what kind of person you want to be and how to be successful. Excellent!!! I'm now reading 7 Habits of Highly Effective Families by Steven Covey.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great, as expected!

    I wanted a audio book that would motivate and encourage me and this did just that! I would recommend it to any person who either needs a kickstart or a boost!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    lot of good stuff..

    Very good info. Wish I had purchased this book when it was first published.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Personal Change

    This book is a great read to keep on track and effectively work through professional and personal challenges. Brett Vanderwater, MBA, CIA, CMA, CTP

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great Book!!

    Good info to know and learn from.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    User Manual For Life

    This book offers a way of thinking and acting without taking a political or religious stance. It is well researched and the author gives excellent examples from his own life.

    A great gift for graduates but read it yourself first.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Not that I'm an expert on the subject, but I'm guessing that this isn't your typical success book. In many ways it's a general purpose psychology book, dealing with such things as motivation, organizational skills, and how to deal with stress. It's chock full of seemingly unique information, and interesting quotes and tidbits. For example, it states 'Management is efficiency in climbing the ladder of success. Leadership determines whether the ladder is leaning against the right wall.' The book isn't boring or repetitive, and is written in a pleasing, conversational manner. Everyone should give this a read, not just those interested in business success.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Logical path for success

    This book is well put together. The reader begins with habit 1 - taking personal responsibility and moves from personal management to interpersonal management. The information is logical, memorable and wonderful, but in truth, it is hard to change habits. I recommend this book if you are ready to make the changes to acquire habits that lead to life success. Another wonderful book I recommend for personal and career success is Optimal Thinking - How To Be Your Best Self.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

      I found The 7 Habits of Highly Effective people to be not only

      I found The 7 Habits of Highly Effective people to be not only incredible, but inspiring, too.  It focused on how to better yourself, in your own personal views, and in working with others.  The chapters are set up so that there is a chapter for each habit.  The first half of the habits focus on independence, and how to be your own person.  They tell you how to shift your views, and how to focus on goals and ideas.  The second half is centered around working better with others.  It talks about how to synergize with others, and promote cooperation.  The ideas are then nicely tied together at the end of the book.  I suggest this book for all people young adult, and older.  It is a difficult read, and seems to focus more on that age group, making it not the best for younger reader.  I enjoyed the book, but it seems that most people of my age group would not.  However if it is something you enjoy, I think it is very important think to have read at some point in your life.  As I said earlier the book is a bit difficult to read, but nothing above high school level.  It is written very well, and is very true in it's meaning.  The 7 Habits of Highly effective people is an amazing book that everyone should read, so they can better their personal and work lives.           -GWG

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Very Highly Recommend

    Mr. Covey challenges the very way we think on every level with the concepts presented in this book. I am truly happy that I have read this book and I have began implementing these concepts in my daily walk and I can see immense change not only in my perceptions, but also in peoples perceptions of me. I recommend this book for all people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Always useful

    This book helps you realize personal change, which leads to interpersonal change. It's an "inside-out" technique that everyone should read to better themselves and be a more effective leader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A few good points; not much else

    I finally read it. What do I mean by that? I've had this book for about 15 years. I believe it was a complimentary copy when I purchased a Franklin planner, among other things, from Franklin Covey. I've started it numerous times, but never made it more than a few pages in. I finally finished it and do not understand what all the hype is about. Let me state that I do believe the 7 habits are worth following in and of themselves. Habits one, two and three alone (private victory) have some excellent perspective and are worth implementing. Habits 4, 5 and 6, are important, but I did not like the way Mr. Covey conveyed the information. Habit 7 (sharpen the saw) ties it all together. The biggest issue I had with this book is the writing. I cannot stand the way Stephen Covey writes. I felt like everything was being preached to me. I did not like the hundreds of stories that he continuously tells (some I even question if they are true).

    I should note that I've been a fan of the Franklin Planner system going back many years. I personally think Mr. Covey drove them into the ground with the merger and the Franklin Covey system (note that I didn't say Franklin Planner ) just does not work. They missed the boat with the technological age. Maybe that would not have happened if Covey spent more time developing something that works instead of preaching these works. It's products have continually gotten worse. The values noted in this book have importance in the bigger picture, but for day-to-day use, I prefer Getting Things Done by David Allen. I may give First Things First a read since that chapter proved the most useful to me. Doing that, however, would mean suffering through Mr. Covey's reading style again. Having said all of that, I do feel a sense of accomplishment. However, that is only because I finished a book on my shelf that had been there for so many years.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    Great Help

    great companion when reading the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Great Surprise!

    This was required reading for school. I was thinking it was going to be boring. It was far from boring. I learned so many things and have suggested it to many people. Absolutely worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Classic

    Very theoretical and hands on. Deals with mental toughness, but not emotional toughness-and for this I would recommend Full Throttle by Dr. Gregg Steinberg

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a good book with useful information. Recommended for others to read.

    This is a good book with useful information.<BR/>Recommended for others to read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10