Customer Reviews for

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

My mom made me read this book. But I was surprised!

OK, my mom made me read the book. I was really surprised! I realy liked it and once I started reading, I couldn't stop! This book provides lots of good tips on how to stay organized and an efficient person. It helped me make the right choices in the difficult life o...
OK, my mom made me read the book. I was really surprised! I realy liked it and once I started reading, I couldn't stop! This book provides lots of good tips on how to stay organized and an efficient person. It helped me make the right choices in the difficult life of a teen. I definatly reccomend this book to all of my friends and to teens. Parents, BUY THIS FOR YOUR KIDS! MAKE THEM READ IT! THEY WILL LIKE IT EVEN THO THEY MAY NOT ADMIT IT!

posted by Anonymous on February 17, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Typical teenage stereotypers.

This book was for summer reading for 7th becoming 8th graders
and honestly, it was a bunch of bull. I don't see why anyone can buy this and not develop an intense passion of hate towards such attitudes towards these "teenage self help" books.
This book is only helpful...
This book was for summer reading for 7th becoming 8th graders
and honestly, it was a bunch of bull. I don't see why anyone can buy this and not develop an intense passion of hate towards such attitudes towards these "teenage self help" books.
This book is only helpful if you are a complete loser who doesn't know how to do ANYTHING. It's like a book telling you how to blink: long and painful. This book made me feel completely underestimated. It might as well been my father handing me a lollipop, patting me on the head, and telling me how my older brother was just 'wrestling' with the girl on the couch in the family room last night. Despite the fact that I may come off arrogant in this review, the book didn't exactly give me any warm fuzzy feelings of self achievement either. Instead of making me feel inspired and informed, it just told me everything I already knew and made me feel like I was mentally challenged.

posted by 707161 on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    My mom made me read this book. But I was surprised!

    OK, my mom made me read the book. I was really surprised! I realy liked it and once I started reading, I couldn't stop! This book provides lots of good tips on how to stay organized and an efficient person. It helped me make the right choices in the difficult life of a teen. I definatly reccomend this book to all of my friends and to teens. Parents, BUY THIS FOR YOUR KIDS! MAKE THEM READ IT! THEY WILL LIKE IT EVEN THO THEY MAY NOT ADMIT IT!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Every teen should read it

    This book helps teens tune their lives for happiness. This book helped me put things into perspective, and I realized what I need to work on in my life. Highly Recommended!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    this book was great!!

    this book was great, and if u read the other reviews saying thats it didnt help them it was because they didnt want it to help them, but if ur open to it and actualy take ur time its very i helpful i loved it :]

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    Typical teenage stereotypers.

    This book was for summer reading for 7th becoming 8th graders
    and honestly, it was a bunch of bull. I don't see why anyone can buy this and not develop an intense passion of hate towards such attitudes towards these "teenage self help" books.
    This book is only helpful if you are a complete loser who doesn't know how to do ANYTHING. It's like a book telling you how to blink: long and painful. This book made me feel completely underestimated. It might as well been my father handing me a lollipop, patting me on the head, and telling me how my older brother was just 'wrestling' with the girl on the couch in the family room last night. Despite the fact that I may come off arrogant in this review, the book didn't exactly give me any warm fuzzy feelings of self achievement either. Instead of making me feel inspired and informed, it just told me everything I already knew and made me feel like I was mentally challenged.

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I would recommend this book to all teens. It offers insight and guidance and lets us see things from different point of views that we may not have seen before. This book is very helpful and definitely well put together. Highly recommended!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Positive redirection

    I was tired of battling with my teen... instead of punishment for poor attitude, I redirected them through reading this book a chapter at a time - then discussing it together... abd now we are working through more together. Can't complain about that!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Great Book

    I wanted my son to read this book so I purchased 2. One for me and one for him and we are reading it together and I have him answer questions after each chapter. I am really enjoying the book. My son thinks of it as homework so I am not sure how much he is getting out of it but I know he will get something out of it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must for Teenagers

    My daughter's class used this book to help seventh graders look at their lives and try to organize themselves. She found that working through the book was so rewarding that she continued on her own at home by completing the acompanying workbook. The book provides a great foundation for discussion with your maturing kids.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Helpful

    This book is very helpful for you, if you are the person that needs to get back on track with yourself. Throughout the text, it describes how to approach things in calmly manner and to stay in a positive attidtude in order to accomplish the tasks.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    7 habits?

    simply preachy and over rated... this guy has no idea what its like to be an avrage teenager, he writes it from the point of view as someone that has listened to everything they have ever herd from an adult. in one part of the book a student wrote to the author that his friend had exparamented with hashish 'a marijuana extract' and later he had drowned because of it. the auther completely disregards that this is an absolute worst case scenario and acts as though this will happen to you if you decide to experiment with any kind of substance or drug. different things work for different people and fans act like this book will solve all problems for teenagers.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    AMAZING!

    I'm 15, and I absolutly LOVED this book! I couldn't stop reading! It is perfect, I felt like he was accually talking to the reader and truly sharing. I would and HAVE recommended this book to any teenagers! No matter how great your life is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    The reason why I first read this book was because I had lied to my parents when I was in 7th grade and this book caught my dad's eye so he wanted me to read it. When I started reading it, I had an extremely closed mind and even before I had barely started it I decided that I wasn't going to like it. Then, very slowly, I started to like it and listen to what Sean Covey was saying. By the end, I was sad that it was over. Now, I'm going to be a sophomore and I have already re-read it and gave it to my younger sister for her to read. The second time around, it was even better! I really loved this book! I also liked how it had cartoons and stories in it to make it interesting! All teenagers should read this book!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    An Insparational Sensation That's Sweeping the Nation!

    This book is very motivational. It teaches teens how to deal with the pressure and hardships of their life. This book helps teens to realize that no matter how horrible their life may seem, there is always someone who treads a darker, harder road. I would reccomend this book for anyone, even adults, becuase you learn self control, self improvement, and most of all, to love your life. Anybody could use a bit of comfort! The only problem is that Sean Covey may give the impression that a teen has to be perfect. However when reading this book you will realize that he does not mean for you to be pristine, just to improve yourself so you can shine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Motivation

    The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens By: Sean Covey For a grade I give this book an A+. This book changed my life. I read it because I had to. At first, I thought this book was going to be stupid. As I read it I soon had noticed how successful this would be to me and realized that I was already changing. It provided me with advice on how to get through life, making friends and study skills. It talked about how to treat people the right way. My grades where getting better, and I was actually doing good in school. This book motivated me to do well and I have achieved many things because of it. I recommend this book to not only teens but to anyone out there who can read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    A repetitive book about positive nonsense.

    A repetitive book about positive nonsense.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Ehhhhhh

    I had to read this book for school..its not worth your time.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Good Book

    im a preteen and i hav to read this book as an assignment/book report and IT IS REALLY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!! it helps me SOOOOOOOOOO much with orginazation, emotions, school, and everything else!!!! Thank you sooo much, sean covey, for eriting this awesomely awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    Usual LDS Junk

    This book is good for kids when the parents didn't pay attention to them when they were younger. If parents parent when the kids are young they won't need this book to teach the kid later.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Good for reference

    Clear, simple for parents' reference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    he tells it like it is.

    first time i tried reading the book, i was like, oh no this guy's judging me and i wont let him do it. so i slammed it shut and tried to never flip through it again. until finally, some comments bugged me hard on certain soft spots and i gave in. FINE! so i read and read, and man was he right. now that i gave in to let his words sink in,i realized it was kind of funny, when you really think about it. i really recomend this book to people of all ages. this book will give you wise advice and great realizations in life. it's funny, 'real ', and very informative. you definitely will enjoy the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12