Customer Reviews for

740 Park: The Story of the World's Richest Apartment Building

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    740 Stars

    I love any and every story about New York, from the movie ¿Midnight Cowboy¿ to the new and shocking ¿Katzenjammer¿ novel by Jackson McCrae. But 740 Park really got to me. Well-researched, this riveting book provides a look into the lives (not so private at times) of some of the most public of all Manhattanites. A ¿rich¿ (sorry) chronicle of some of the most influential people in the world (all living under one big roof), 740 Park will definitely keep your attention. Five big stars for the ones who live at this address . . . and for the author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A fun read about history in the making !!!

    A real page turner about so many familiar names..... Loved every moment of the read !!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Historically an interesting read. They should make a movie about this residence!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great read!

    Detailed and entertaining account of life at 740 Park over many years--how the rich live and behave. Goes to show what Mama always said, "money can't buy class."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    The reality-TV version of a Dominick Dunne novel!

    With a story that includes the ten year old Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy sending a Valentine to her just-moving-in upstairs neighbor John D. Rockefeller Jr. - then chronicles the apartment swapping antics of 80's nouvelles Henry Kravis, Ronald Perelman and Saul Steinberg (whose 'night of the dueling locksmiths' reads like the Marx Brothers meets Fatal Attraction) - while at the same time letting us into the world of the true aristocrats - those bluebloods who abhor publicity, live quietly, and think of themselves as 'just regular folks' (all the while living on the income of their incomes and keeping fourteen live-in servants) 740 PARK: THE STORY OF THE WORLD'S RICHEST APARTMENT BUILDING is an amazing story that would be deemed impossibly over the top as fiction. Yet each savory detail, every word - including the 'ands' and the 'thes' rings convincingly true. Who knew a history of American capitalism could be so damn juicy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    740 Park: The Story of the World's Richest Apartment Building

    I met my husband at a party at 740 Park Avenue. The hostess was one of his many girlfriends. Now a great friend, she appeared to make up the stories that I now know from this phenomenally outstanding treatise on the cuckoo's nest of Park Avenue that it is all true. Mike Gross left out some juicy stories that deserve to be revealed in Part 2. Mike, we're waiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    If you are interested in NYC this book is for you

    It is not only a bio of a building but at an interesting period - the 1929 crash and of those who could afford such a luxurious building.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Recommend

    I heard about this book in the Netflix documentary "Park Avenue: Power, Money, and Wealth"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    This Is My Home And Is True

    This book shows only half of the juicy details that have happened on the lovely 740 Park. I Grew Up Behind the guarded walls of 740 park, I saw , I herd , I was apart of alot, but yet we say very little to people not of our own kind, people who can't understand what having money brings and what guidlines that you have follow that have been passed down from generation to generation. So many people are thrilled and so many are mad about this book that Mr.Michael Gross has written but it is time for the details to be released on the building and what lies behind the stone walls. Just imagine if those walls could talk now that would be a book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    740 Park: The Story of the World's Richest Apartment Building

    740 Park Avenue deftly goes to the heart of the causes of discontent and mirth that we privileged at The 740, the Hamptons, Newport, Bradbury Estates, Palm Beach Polo, PGA West all feel in an undulating fashion throughout each minute and hour of life. This magnificent collection of morality tales deserves a subtitle borrowed from Uncle Tom's Cabin: 'Tink ob yer marcies, chillen!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    A Fundamental Look Into American Society

    This book is for anyone who is interested in reading about the social elite in New York. It is a fascinating dive into social history. The who's who of New York have graced the halls of this historic building.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2