Customer Reviews for

77 Days in September

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very good read

If you are into the Post Normal Society crash books, otherwise known at the "SHTF" books then this would be a great read.

This books traces the challenges a guy has when society as we know it collapses while he is far away from his family on a business trip.

His m...
If you are into the Post Normal Society crash books, otherwise known at the "SHTF" books then this would be a great read.

This books traces the challenges a guy has when society as we know it collapses while he is far away from his family on a business trip.

His mission - get home.

I am a fan of this genere (which started after I read One Second After)

There are some disappointing books on this topic but this is not one of them.

If you are a fan I think you will enjoy this book

I recommend it!

posted by PaladinGC on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

good intro but downhill from there

Too much emotional dialog and not enough action Great intro but the story moves very slow and the main characters boring and rather helpless Ok attempt

posted by 11416882 on June 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Wy reader

    Great read highly recommend .makes a person think how would you cope in the event of an EMP what are we capable of doing to each other to survive. Or any other attack against the USA Be prepared for a harrowing experience reading this and yet meet people who are still willing to help each other who still retain there humanity Now on to the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Great book

    Can't wait to read the 2nd book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Love the book!

    Could be a real thing, the end of the book has some enlighten website to visit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    excellent read! Could not put it down!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Enjoy it

    Much less bloody battles then other books of this type. But a good story line that keeps you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great example of perseverance

    I liked the book a lot. Made me wonder if this were to happen and I was that far away from my family would I be able to get back to them.

    We need to support the upcoming independent authors so that we can continue to have great stories to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Great Book- for preppers and drama readers.

    At 700+ pages this was an easy read. Gorham keeps you hooked on the characters and the struggles they go through. The realism of what would happen if this type of event were to occur is mind boggling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Great book

    Well written and really makes you think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Amazing story of a family's love for each other.

    What an amazing story of grit and determination. A love of ones family and the strength that it can give you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    I am a voracious reader of post-apocalypse books. Mr. Gorham do

    I am a voracious reader of post-apocalypse books. Mr. Gorham does a wonderful job of describing the situation and, at the same time, developing believable, likable characters. It was refreshing to read a book in this genre where the main character is NOT ex-military tough guy, or already a well situated prepper; he's just an ordinary guy caught in extraordinary circumstances. I devoured this book in two evenings - I just had to know how it ended! I won't give that away, but I highly recommend this book to anyone that likes a fast-paced, well written story. I hope Mr. Gorham writes more books!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    I don't usually take the time to write a review but the fact tha

    I don't usually take the time to write a review but the fact that there are so many 4 or 5 star ratings here and at “that other website” changed my mind.  Not that one rating will make a huge difference but, hey, at least I did my part.

    I’m pretty generous and forgiving with entertainment books and try to enjoy them even if they’re not great. It rarely happens that they’re bad enough to actually make me mad. As a matter of fact, this is probably a first.

    The first thing I noticed: the stilted dialogues. People don’t have conversations like that. They don’t speak this way. I was able to overlook those for the most part and then just started skipping the longer, what turned out to be literally, sermons. 

    Secondly, once the author has to spell out for the reader what they want them to “get”, you know things are not going well. The thought provoking books do just that: provoke thought. This author just tells you what he wants you to think. Which brings me to the most infuriating part, and what ultimately made me actually sit down and write a review:

    The constant proselytizing. The religious overtones. And the blatant sexism. 

    To give an example  so you know what you’re in for (possible spoiler – but not really):

    Rose is sexually attracted to Kyle. She makes it known but is turned down. She feels embarrassed apparently and tells Kyle, 

    “Guess I come across as quite the bimbo, don’t I.”
    “No. Now if you’d been under the blankets with me the first day I woke up, I might have thought so, but now with how things have turned out.”

    Oh boy…  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    What could have been

    ---an iteresting action plot became filled with monotonous scenes straight out of the Hallmark channel and
    I was forced to speed-read through the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Good read and good pace. Main character is somewhat gullible bu

    Good read and good pace. Main character is somewhat gullible but figures it out eventually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was pretty well writte

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was pretty well written and had a good story and good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Inconsistent and simple

    Skip unless you can ignore glaring plot devices, the man knows to avoid a small town due to chaos but emediantly enters a large town and gets attacked, wind up radios work after hearing about wires in houses melting. While the charecters seem real the story feels like it is told and not experienced.

    It is is too easy to put down and read one of the more well researched and written works out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Really good, i actually cried and it is realistic

    It was emotional and realistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    I  couldn't put this book (iPad) down.  I will be looking for mo

    I  couldn't put this book (iPad) down.  I will be looking for more books by Ray Garham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Great

    Well written, interesting and new perspective on the typical apocolyptic fiction. Definitely worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Excellent book

    Well written, thought-provoking. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Wow -- what a first novel!

    Couldn't put this one down --- well written, lots of humanity and family, lots of action, with characters who seemed both real and our next door neighbors! Can't wait for his next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5