Customer Reviews for

77 Shadow Street (with bonus novella The Moonlit Mind): A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 382 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Really good book!

I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just li...
I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just like all the others by a writer. The joy of reading is finding a story that is different, one that takes an imagination on a journey. This one does just that. A really good book.

posted by 8280077 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......j...
Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......just saying.......

posted by deborah56 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Really good book!

    I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just like all the others by a writer. The joy of reading is finding a story that is different, one that takes an imagination on a journey. This one does just that. A really good book.

    36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Disappointed

    Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......just saying.......

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Very disappointed

    I normally love Koontz's work, but this book was so poorly constructed. I finished it out of obligation, but halfway through, I could not have cared less what was going to happen. Very unusual for one of his books. I'm really disappointed.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic-Style Koontz, Scary and Masterfully Written Suspense

    This is the Best Koontz Book since THE FACE ten years ago, (maybe not counting ODD THOMAS). Longer than his recent books, and more detailed (meaning longer and juicier chapters/paragraphs), Koontz piles up characters without ever losing a grip on their intricate stories and relationships, all while building the suspense to a massive crescendo from the very first chapter. He goes for some solid scares with this one, and scores big time after time, right up to the point where this book can be ranked as one of those that can keep a person up late at night with the bedside light on, and "armpits like sweat faucets." I was shocked and chilled as equally as I was delighted and intrigued. I say this is "Classic-Style Koontz" because he goes back to some supernatural thriller/horror roots with this, but then puts his signature "plausible twist" on the whole thing and weaves in a bundle of flawless social themes and commentary, all through great dialogue and internal monologues from his biggest cast of characters since STRANGERS, back in the 80's (or maybe ever). This book is a big accomplishment and should not be missed by any fan of Koontz, from any era of his long and successful career. Hopefully this also signals a shift in direction, and there will be more books like this one to come.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Save your money

    I've read just about everything Dean Koontz has written and have loved them all. What I love about his books besides that they freak you out is his character development. He makes you care about the people in his books because they have such in depth personalities. So, skipping the fact that this book didn't freak me out in the least, I was highly disappointed in the characters. They were all flat and I didn't connect to any of them. I pretty much finished the book because I paid for it and was therefore going to darn well finish it. In "Strangers" Koontz also has multiple characters but in that book he took the time to develop them and you could connect with the many different people in the book. To me this was a waste of my money and I'm so disappointed that he didn't bother to take the time to flesh out the characters. Save your money and hope the next book is back up to his usual standards.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Disappointment

    I have been a Dean Koontz fan as far back as The Watcher, and I have only one question about 77 Shadow Street: where is Dean Koontz and what have you done with his word processor? This book is absolutely TERRIBLE!! When I got to page 234 and realized there was still almost another 153 pages to read, I almost screamed. I kept reading, thinking, "This has to get better; this is Koontz!" But, it just never did.

    There is no cohesion in this book. The device of multiple narrative viewpoints can be often an effective one, but in this case, it just served to pull the story apart. I never knew which character to invest in, interest-wise. I found myself scanning several pages at a time, looking for plot development, engaging dialogue, heck...anything even resembling a plot at all, but to no avail.

    Instead, I was treated to endless, repetitive exposition. Okay, I GET that the Pendleton was rumbling, I GET that there was weird, almost snakelike stuff growing all over everything that was pulsing and undulating, and (in Sally's case) nasty-flavored. I even get that there is some nasty entity called the One who hates humankind's guts and has something diabolic planned for the world. But pages and pages of the same descriptions, the same thoughts, the same wandering from floor to floor, apartment to apartment while all the while staying clear of the elevator was SOOOOOOO tedious. Even the bad "thing's" periodic riffs on how much it despises our kind left me thinking, "Here we go again...yawn!"

    Reading this made me think it was sort a cross between the often-remade horror film classic "The Thing" and Stephen King's The Shining, with all the faults and none of the good stuff.

    The only way a Koontz fan might enjoy this would be if they had partaken of some of those mushroom things that were growing all over the walls of the Pendleton.

    Do yourself a favor: skip this one and instead, re-read one of your favorite GOOD Koontz's novels. Time much better spent.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Stupid

    I hope it pained him as much writing this book as it did me reading it.

    19 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    What!

    Can't believe this is a Koontz book! I have read them all. Would not have anyone else read! Sad!!

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Disappointed

    I love dean koontz and i adore most of his work, but this one just bored me. There were so many characters that you never really connected to any of them. I ended up skimming most of the second half because i just wasnt interested in the paragraphs of details describing how hideous the creatures were. Definately not what i expected...

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    One of Koontz's best!

    I almost didn't buy this book after reading the numerous negative reviews on this web site, but I am SO glad I did! It is quietly terrifying and subtly nuanced with the complexity and consistency of a game of 3D chess. It reminded me over and over of one of my favorite Koontz books, "Seize the Night" (by the way Mr. Koontz, where IS that next Christopher Snow book?). I am astounded by the reviewers who repeatedly said they didn't find it exciting enough. Well, I suppose we are completely over stimulated by today's entertainment. Anything that requires time and thought and reflection doesn't get good press. This book may not be "in your face", but I will long remember many of it's scenes, often in my dreams. Well done, as usual, Mr. Koontz! I can't wait for your next book!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Don't review if you haven't read

    Way too many people are ignorant of the word review on here. Review not preview. Had lots of high marks but didn't think to look at the dates so I guess that's my fault but the only good reviews were before the book was out. Way to give a bad book decent reviews when you've never read it and before it's out. Last Koontz book I'll buy every year same disappointment.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    A must read

    One of the best books dean has put out.
    very spooky, and fast paced. must read this one you wont be sorry you did

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Mystery+Occult+Thriller

    Nope, can't read this while watching TV, cooking dinner, working on the computer or participating in any other mundane task---you have to focus!
    If you do, you will find a story that will transport you to the scary scenes of tension, fearful anxiety and astonishing complexity, rooting for the good guys.
    Hope this makes it to the big screen with its very imaginative environment and astounding but not so crazy concept regarding the 'improvement' of mankind with nanotechnology.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Terrible book

    ,i love dean koontz but this was a big misstep for him. He moved more into the "heavy" science fiction/meta-physical area (similar to recent king novels) and it just did not work. No comraderie among the characters, the plot was so convoluted i could barely follow it - but yet it somehow also managed to be not exciting or scary either. Just a miss, all around. A real shame, because koontz is typically great. Just feels like he never had a clear vision for this book.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Almost as bad as Tick Tock

    I am a die hard Koontz reader. I have read everything of his. I had a lot of trouble with this book. There were too many characters to follow, and lots of them were not very important to the story. Sure they all played a part, but it was tedious trying to fit them all into the story. The radio couple, the blind guy, the senator, the autistic girl and her mother, the landlord, the girl who works the lobby, the security guards...you could have moved the story without them. The premise was ok. I found myself skipping paragraphs of useless detail about the characters and trying to get back to something, ANYTHING that would further the story.

    One thing I really dont get is that The Moonlit Mind was advertised as "a taste of what's to come in his new novel 77 Shadow Street" I dont see the correlation between the two.

    Read if you have to read everything he rights, but skip it if you occasionally enjoy the stuff he writes.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    worst ever

    While the last 2 of the Frankenstein series were not what i have come to expect from Koontz this is by far his worst. Hard to finish. I will stop purchasing his books untill they have been read and reveiwed by others.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Scarier than expected

    This book is scary. It was scarier than expected. I have read lots of scary books that have not put me on edge the same way that 77 Shadow Street did. Koontz can really write unique stories that keep the reader turning the pages. Yes, the one fault I have with this book is that Dean Koontz can get "wordy." He tends to over-describe which lots of readers hate. It does not ruin the story, but it can be distracting. The book probably deserves a 4 due to the "wordiness" but the abundance of scary moments earns the book a 5.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Disappointed

    I've read almost every Koontz book written but didn't enjoy this one. Could not get into the characters. Hope his next one is back on this author's track

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, Organized and Highly Recommended

    For Dean Koontz fans this is a good book. You get more characters and he keeps track of them - none fall off the radar at all. He does stress and describe the fungus repeatedly BUT it makes it more realistic to one's mind. The story is futuristic to a degree and I find that interesting. He takes the story full circle so you really don't have any unanswered questions except did they live happily ever after? And for most, this was answered. This is an excellent book - read it when you have time it's not a quick read. While it helps to answer some questions from the short novella it doesn't answer all of them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I'm not a fan of horror novels but I mostly enjoyed this one. I missed the usual Koontz character development but feel he did well with so many characters involved. I don't hold the number against him because the story takes place in an apartment building with both tenants and staff. For someone who doesn't have children, Koontz writes them beautifully. I loved the social themes and the subtle way he handles them. I also loved the greater page count in this novel. My main criticism is the varied forms of the "monsters"; seemed like he was trying too hard there. Just a couple of variations would have sufficed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20