Customer Reviews for

77 Shadow Street

Average Rating 3
( 382 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Really good book!

I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just li...
I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just like all the others by a writer. The joy of reading is finding a story that is different, one that takes an imagination on a journey. This one does just that. A really good book.

posted by 8280077 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......j...
Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......just saying.......

posted by deborah56 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Disappointed

    Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......just saying.......

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Disappointed

    I love dean koontz and i adore most of his work, but this one just bored me. There were so many characters that you never really connected to any of them. I ended up skimming most of the second half because i just wasnt interested in the paragraphs of details describing how hideous the creatures were. Definately not what i expected...

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Almost as bad as Tick Tock

    I am a die hard Koontz reader. I have read everything of his. I had a lot of trouble with this book. There were too many characters to follow, and lots of them were not very important to the story. Sure they all played a part, but it was tedious trying to fit them all into the story. The radio couple, the blind guy, the senator, the autistic girl and her mother, the landlord, the girl who works the lobby, the security guards...you could have moved the story without them. The premise was ok. I found myself skipping paragraphs of useless detail about the characters and trying to get back to something, ANYTHING that would further the story.

    One thing I really dont get is that The Moonlit Mind was advertised as "a taste of what's to come in his new novel 77 Shadow Street" I dont see the correlation between the two.

    Read if you have to read everything he rights, but skip it if you occasionally enjoy the stuff he writes.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Just ok

    I'm a huge fan, read all his books (and re-read), and have never posted anything negative about any of them. I didn't hate this book, but I didn't love it either. There are too many characters all doing their own thing for most of it. The story drags until the last quarter of the book. The novella to go with this book was so good, I was expecting a great story, and was disappointed. It was hard to get into the story. The ending was good, but overall just an ok book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Rehash of old plotlines....

    Spoiler alert..............



    Scary artificial intelligence? Check. Spooky house with ghosts? Check. Disabled (Down syndrome or autism) kid? Check. Creepy insectoid predators? Check. Possible connection with Hell? Check. Dog? Do you really need to ask?

    I have loved Koontz's work for more than 25 years but this novel was little more than a mash-up of earlier and better written novels.

    If you saw The Terminator and The Matrix and Predator, and if you read Rose Red by Stephen King, then you can skip this one. In fact, if you've read more than five Koontz novels you have read it already.

    For better Koontz, pick up Odd Thomas, Life Expectancy, or From the Corner of His Eye.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Dissapointed

    Started off great and I kept expecting it to get better but halfway through the book like most others I wanted to put it down but read though it just cause...While the characters and their stories were interesting, you just didn't know which one to focus on. I got tired of the entity talking about what it was going to do to everyone but never got around to. It started off as a great horrer, suspense thriller but quickly fell apart for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    For years I was a big fan of Dean Koontz. I bought every book, b

    For years I was a big fan of Dean Koontz. I bought every book, belonged to his fan club and even went to a book signing and met him. He was a very gracious guy at the book signing, taking pictures and talking individually with every person for at least 5 hours! I really like him so it pains me to say that I can barely get through his books anymore. I had not read one of his books in probably 5 years but I picked up one of his recent novella's on my Nook and it was really good so I took a chance on 77 Shadow Street. I could barely get through this book. I wanted to quit reading it so many times but I stuck it out to the end. It didn't get better. Too much yada yada yada about futuristic nano-machines or whatever. The ending was ridiculous! Needless to say, I don't recommend it and I'm not sure that I could ever purchase another one of Mr. Koontz books any time soon.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Not a typical Koontz sparkler...

    I have read and enjoyed Dean Koontz for years, and particularly appreciate his wit and humor even in dark books. However, this book left me wanting. It is definitely a departure for him, as it is much more a science fiction novel than anything. Unlike his usual style with 4-5 protagonists, this one seems to have ENDLESS characters, and he is even introducing characters 3/4 of the way through the book.
    Koontz' prose is, as usual, elegant and well-written. He loves to describe WEATHER in his books, i.e. in the "It was a dark and stormy night" vein. He captures the dread and decay of his setting very well, but I felt this was not one of his best books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    OMG!! It took me forever to get through this book. So boring, it

    OMG!! It took me forever to get through this book. So boring, it never kept my attention, my mind kept wondering off to other things.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Very disappointed.

    Took forever to get through, kept losing interest. Usually I can't put a Dean Koontz book down. This I couldn't pick up. Didn't care for any particular character, too many of them. It seems like he didn't have his heart in it. Story was just too boring, nothing made you feel like you were there or this was possible.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Not worth the time or money

    The first hundred pages or so were intriguing but after that the whole book is very repetitive. It explains the same exact thing through each of the characters many times. I gave it the benefit of doubt thinking the storyline would pick back up but after 250 pages, I skipped to the last chapter. Ignore the good reviews. Buying this book was a mistake. I wish I could returnit. Horribly boring and a waste of time to read. Good luck trying to actually make it through the whole thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    The synopsis is more gripping than the story

    I just wasnt impressed. I loved the first 10 Koontz books that I read and the Odd Thomas series, but this story just didn't live up to the suspense that the front flap set it up to have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Slow read...

    Was a good book to help me fall asleep, this by far was not one of my favorite books from Dean Koonts. His novela made a better story, to bad this novel had nothing to do with his last novela.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have read all the Dean Koontz novels and did not enjoy this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    77 Shadow Street

    Not what I expected from Dean Koontz. A little too "out there" and a little different from his usual writing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    So boring I can't even force myself to finish it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Highly Disappointed

    I thought I was going to love this book because, not only do I like a lot of Koontz books but additionally I like stories about hotel, hospital or apartment building hauntings. I was soooooo wrong. The saving grace is that his books are easy reading so I finished it quickly.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Boring.....

    I made it about half way through the book and then read the reviews because I was so bored with this book. Don't waste your money....

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Just okay...not his best work.

    Definitely not my favorite Dean Koontz book. I was very disappointed with this one. It was a hard concept to grasp and I thought that It wasn't conveyed as well as it could have been. I don't recommend this book but I do still love Mr. Koontz!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    Love Dean Koontz but this was a hodge-podge book with each chapt

    Love Dean Koontz but this was a hodge-podge book with each chapter being about something different, a different character. Kept jumping around so no two chapters ever tied together! Went from one character to another, to the present, to the past, to the future, chapter after chapter. As a rule I really like Dean Koontz books, has to be for the fantastical unbelievable plot lines and characters, but this was not worth my time or my $$.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3