Customer Reviews for

77 Shadow Street

Average Rating 3
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Really good book!

I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just li...
I purchased this book even though there seemed to be many people who posted negative feedback about it. I am glad that I did not listen to them. Each story an author writes is always different than the one before it. I have never read a book hoping it will be just like all the others by a writer. The joy of reading is finding a story that is different, one that takes an imagination on a journey. This one does just that. A really good book.

posted by 8280077 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......j...
Not up to par for Koontz....and im a big fan. Not enough banter between characters that Koontz is famous for. I found myself just skimming through pages looking for excitement. On the Dean Koontz scale of 1 to 10....I rate 77 Shadow Lane maybe a 5 at most. Sorry......just saying.......

posted by deborah56 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Don't bother!

    I never rate & review a book. But I'm so mad for how much of my time I lost reading this horrible book I had to tell others. I had to skipped so many pages that went on about nothing just to get through it. Worst book I've ever read. I forced myself to read it because I feel guilty not finishing a book, and I kept hoping it would get better. It never did!!! As I said DON'T BOTHER!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Not one of the best books Dean has written

    I am an avid reader who can usually not stand to put the book down. I read the novella to this book, "The Moonlit Mind" and loved it so I thought this book would be great. I was sadly dissappointed. I am still trying to get through the book after 4 weeks. I think the problem is that it is too far out there in the imagination to make any type of sense so I couldn't get into it. You win some and lose some, and I feel this one was a loss. He would have been better off continuing the novella.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    It wrapped up well at the end.

    Sadly, I found 77 shadow street a bit tedious. I generally love all of Dean Koontz books, but found this story very hard to get through. The jumping around of character vignettes was confusing and made the story seem long. Overall, it wasn't very exciting but did wrap up nicely at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    OK, but I expect better from Dean Koontz,

    The last 100 pages were very good, but it was at times hard to maintain interest up until then. Some parts of the story were so slow that I had to skim over them, or fall asleep; I found a few characters that I just didn't care what happened to them. The best part of the book was seeing that there will be a new Odd Thomas book out this summer!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Genuinely Spooky and Plausible

    I've said it before: Dean Koontz is the writer Stephen King imagines he (King) is. Koontz does it again here, with an original story and an original method of telling it. Chills the spine, certainly, but also gets a person thinking.

    77 Shadow Street (what city? We never find that out) is now the Pendleton, a large luxury apartment building that was originally built in the late 19th century as a rich man's mansion. Built on a hill already considered spooky by the natives for centuries. Murders, madness and strange things have taken place there ever since. As one occupant who is an amateur historian notes, the place goes mad every 38 years. And time is almost up.

    We get to know each apartment, all the residents and staff, and lots of that history. Also lots about the building's future, as the horrors unfold. It's one of those stories so original that there's not too much I can say without ruining it, but let me introduce you to some of the characters.

    Earl Blandon is a former senator who's used to getting his own way. Bailey Hawks is an ex-Marine who is now a successful investment advisor. His clients Edna and Martha Cupp are two elderly sisters who live in 3-A, one of the extra-large apartments and two grey cats, Smoke and Ashes. Silas Kinsley is a retired attorney and amateur historian who has made himself an expert on the history of the Pendleton, formerly the Belle Vista. Twyla Trahern, successful songwriter, lives in 2-A with her son Winston (Winny), slight of build and addicted to books. His country singer father who lives in Nashville thinks he's not macho enough. Mickey Dime, professional killer who loves his job rather too much, is the son of a famous writer mother who taught him . . . well, made him what he is today.

    There are more, lots more: it's a large building and we get to know everyone who is currently in residence when the story takes place, as well as some of the former inhabitants. We have a diagram of the building to follow, which turns out to be very useful -- so much so that it is actually printed twice. I was tempted to write each tenant's name in the diagram as I made their acquaintance, and if I had realized there was a second copy, I might have done so. But they don't just stay in their apartments, so I'm not sure how useful it would have been.

    Unlike most horror fiction, there is no need to believe in ghosts or other supernatural entities to appreciate this story, although it may seem so for a substantial part of the book. Eventually we get a science fiction-like explanation for what is going on, and even a pretty satisfying conclusion to the story. I wish I could tell you more, but why spoil it? Let's just say that it raises the now-familiar question of whether technology is really under our control or the other way around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    check it out.

    Recommended by a friend. I haven't read this author previously. It took me awhile to get a feel for his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    This is the first time it took me more then a few days to read,

    This is the first time it took me more then a few days to read, It just wasn't a book I couldn't put down. This is also the first time I have been dissapointed with a Dean Koontz book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Truly a spine tingling book, Koontz really knows how to scare hi

    Truly a spine tingling book, Koontz really knows how to scare his readers with his imagination. Parts dragged on and on at some points, I felt alot could have been cut out. Overall liked it, wouldn't take the time to read it again though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I liked the book.... BUT I am a die hard Koontz fan and have re

    I liked the book.... BUT

    I am a die hard Koontz fan and have read nearly all of his books. The concept of the book is cool, and it is still an entertaining read, but this one just left me feeling a little disappointed by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Hard to follow

    I had a hard time keeping up with all of the characters! The pacing is kind of slow. I am glad i didn't buy this book. I got it from the library. Not his best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Share

    Alright read To much desribing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Not his best book...

    This book reminded me a lot of his book "What The Night Knows." The plot itself was very interesting and I'm always amazed at how he comes up with these incredible story lines, but the pace of the book itself was very slow with only occassional instances where I found myself having to keep reading, only to be disappointed a few minutes later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Disappointing

    Having read most of Koontz's books but this pne
    Having read most of Koontz's books this one a grade below the others. Too much describtive repetition, difficult to get thru
    ?




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a Dean Koontz fan, but I just wasn't overly impressed by thi

    I'm a Dean Koontz fan, but I just wasn't overly impressed by this novel. I was excited to read 77 Shadow Street, especially since the early reviews were so glowing.

    The book was suspenseful and creepy and had a good vibe to it, but it was scattered - messy.

    The characters and the dialogue was boring and bland.

    Anyways, OK book over all, but I just expected more from this master.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Dean Koontz Fan

    I am a huge Koontz fan and have read almost every book of his, my favorite being The Vision and The Taking. I thought this was a great book and kept me interested! I am still a Koontz fan and can't wait for his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Read my description.

    Well, both my grandma and my mom told me that this was a good and scary book, I have read about halfway through and I think that it just has too much extra information. If you would take out all those tiny bits of info that you dont need, the story would only be about 150 page or so. Nothing really happens and my grandma keeps telling me to keep reading ad that it gets better but in my opinion, if a book isnt good within the first half, there probably isnt a gpod chance...so, yes I know i gaveit a three star and that is because there were some good parts. It wasnt all horrible. But its not worth buying. Koontz has better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Koontz’s novel about a seemingly haunted apartment buildin

    Koontz’s novel about a seemingly haunted apartment building started a little slow for me at first. Some of the descriptions and plotlines were a bit cliché in the beginning. However, as usual, the author did not fail me in the end. This is not one of my favorite books be Dean, but once I understood where the story was going, it pulled me in. The characters are interesting, and I found myself routing for them as the action took off. Interesting ideas were presented here, and I was pleased in the end. As always, I eagerly await his next novel.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel “To Be Chosen”


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3