Customer Reviews for

8

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    8 is an entirely new and improved version of the famous fairy-ta

    8 is an entirely new and improved version of the famous fairy-tale Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. It's the darker, twisted side of the cheerful story, and it's got a slightly more profound touch of reality to it. And by that I mean that the original implication of the story is replaced by a new moral, which is easier to understand and far more down-to-earth. Meaning that I loved it even more. Meaning that I will be rereading this over and over again until I have it memorized by heart.


    Creepy is the 8th dwarf sent to live in the cellar. He's the different one. The only dwarf that doesn't fit in with the others. And for a while, he stays hidden, until a lost maiden stumbles upon the dwarf's cottage and starts cleaning. (Guess who that is? :D) Well, Creepy just stares at the lady through the thin slits in the floorboard, wondering what the heck was wrong with her. He makes a couple of sexual innuendos from that point on.
    And he stays hidden, until the evil queen stops by and tries to kill Snow White.
    Creepy saves her.
    The evil Queen stops by again and Snow White falls to her death again.
    Creepy saves her.
    The evil Queen stops by again and Snow White falls to her death for the third time. (You see the pattern here? I just love how the entire story is filled with dark humor).
    Creepy saves her again.
    But this time Snow White sees him and screams like a banshee.
    So the moral of this story is: You can't judge someone by their appearance.



    All I can say is that I was blown away. Not just by the smooth flow of the verse, but by how much the writing reminded me of Dr. Seuss. Dr. Seuss's writing was incredibly fun and even more exciting to read out loud, Michael Mullin has somehow inherited that same lively style that just keeps the reader entertained no matter what. He has this amazing ability to twist old fairy tales, making them darker and more maturer, and yet making them captivating at the same time.
    I'm so happy I didn't let the chance to read this fly by.
    I really recommend this one to everyone. It's a short, fun read that you definitely won't regret!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    Not what you think.

    A new perspective on Snow White that is takes you by surprise.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Book 8

    I didnt like that it was a poem but i thought it was an amazing story and it was ccool i highly reccomend it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Wonderful

    I had to read this story through at once. It is a great new perspective of the tale, and, in my eyes, today's socity. Great read, very unique!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Not quite what you would expect!

    This story is not quite as it seems, it is written not like a novel but more like a poem of sorts, with each sentence rhyming. It wasn't very long, however it was quite enjoyable!

    This untold story of the 8th dwarf, gives the Snow White tale a bit of a twist. I don't think it would be entirely appropriate for someone of a young age, but teenages and adults should find it a short but funny read. Would love to see if Michael Mullin is going to put out another story like this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    AWESOME

    Great

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and dark!

    I was contacted by the author to give this story a go. At the complete opposite end of my normal reading genre (verse) I decided to give it a go, not really expecting much. After all, I did love the story f Snow White when I was a kid. I didn't read any other reviews before accepting or reading it so all I had to go one was the description the author sent me. I'm glad I did! Only eight pages on my Nook, there was a lot of story within. I really liked how it was told in verse also. It was cute, fun, and dark at the same time.
    Poor Creepy, the dwarf no one knows about, has been banished by the other seven dwarfs to the basement because he is odd and different. With a little peep hole in the floor of the cottage he gets an up close and personal view of what goes on when Snow White shows up, from floor level at least.
    Not for mid grade readers, there are hints of sexual innuendo so I would recommend adult or young adult readers. If you have a few minutes, 8 is worth your time...now I'm off to read it again :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Ingenious Way of Retelling the Alternate History of The 7 Dwarfs

    Ingenious! At first when I received the ebook from the author, well, being the Paranormal Geekfan that I am, I was thinking I wouldn't like the book, but was in a very What-the-Heck mood so I accepted it. I would never have expected myself capable of ever reading a book written in verse form (I would just faint from boredom), and then enjoy it as much as I had. It was way cool; A really modern and humorous way of retelling one of the world's most famous fairytales.

    Imagine creating a poem that has 2,200 words give or take... Yeah, daunting task, doesn't it seem so? But Mullin did it. Wow, I can't even conjure a 5 paragragh worth of a half-assed poem in my Literature class, and he wrote this... That is some talent there. Not only that, he incorporated wit, humor, and he even managed to address a very controversial societal subject - the message to "not judge a book by its cover" and to not ostracize anyone just because they're different or ugly came across quite clearly in a fun and engaging way.

    There was humor and a subtle sexual innuendo in the book, and a child-like quality that kept it true to its origins.

    8 was a really "hip" way of retelling the alternate history (or in this case, alternate fairytale) of Snow White, where one neglected dwarf tells his neglected story, and it also serves as a reminder to society to stop looking at what's on the outside and start looking on the inside. Oh, and to stop being biased to the good-looking, and harbouring prejudices against the uglies.

    You see, there's just too much moral values that Mullin teaches inside this little book of 7 pages. So, what's stopping you from picking this book up?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    5 stars for 8 by Michael Mullin

    Title: 8 by Michael Mullin
    Reviewed by: Brandon Barney
    Genre: Young Adult or Teen Fairytale Fiction (1,990 words)
    Ebook Description
    Written in verse, this is the previously untold story of the previously unknown 8th dwarf, named Creepy. He is banished to the basement for being different and, well, weird. Yet he plays a vital - and of course previously unknown - role in the popular tale of Snow White (whose title character is an intruder Creepy refers to as "The Maid".)
    Review:
    Upon reading the blurb for book 8 by Michael Mullin I found myself intrigued but doubtful. There are plenty of parodies out in the media books and movies alike, and to manage to take the set standard for parodies and twist it takes some time and practice. I decided to look into the story anyway and give it a chance.
    I was not disappointed. The first line gave me chills straight away, and did not let up from there. The story does not lack the backstory for Creepy but instead tells us how he got there instead of jumping straight into the story of Snow White.
    It takes imagination to craft a story that is based upon another and still create a good piece of work. Michael Mullin has that imagination. The story is surprisingly in its choice of fairytale and subject matter, threatening to lean into the inappropriate but staying well out of range of the offensive, throwing in the humor that lends to the story's wittiness.
    The formatting is what would be hoped for within a fairytale, using the verse and rhyme of the classic fairytales most children grow up hearing. Due to this rhyming the reader forgets how long they have been reading (though due to its short length it takes no time at all) and instead enjoys the tale from beginning to end.
    With a witty plotline, a believable and sympathetic main character, and a story you will never forget, it is well worth the small cost for such a wonderful memory. For those who give this story a chance, I am sure you will not be disappointed.
    Five stars to 8 by Michael Mullins.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Shondella Monique

    Exciting!!!! Everthhing was perfect as it could be!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Quirky Fun

    Everyone knows the story of Snow White. At least, they think they do. This very short book is a quirky take on a traditional tale. Told in rhyming verse, it tells the story of Creepy, the until now unknown 8th dwarf. Banished to the basement, Creepy is very surprised when a random maiden appears in his house. Little does he know, things are about to change. For everyone but him.


    I loved this story so much! If Dr. Seuss had decided to twist fairy tales, this would be the result. It's smart and funny. A very quick read, it is sure to entertain. It will definitely make you see the old story of Snow White in a new way. Creepy is an unlikely hero, and it makes you want to cheer for him all the more. I will never see Snow White the same, and when a tale this short can do that it's a clear indication of the author's skill. Highly recommend this for fans of fairy tales and twisted tales alike.


    Book provided for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    What is it about?

    I couldn't really understand the overveiw. I would like to buy it though. And how long is it? Thanks! - ari

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Help!

    How many pages are there? I don't want to waste $0.99 on a short read....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Tells the story in a more real way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Awesome

    This was awesome! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Great

    (KL) Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Precisely

    This extremely well written book i would love to see more magnificent books by this author he is going to be famous his book is well rounded no major accidents precisely perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I would likt to read it but we do have are on opinnies

    Alexis

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Clever! Great Original Tale.

    Rhyme is easy; it's rhythm that's the challenge in verse, and this story nails it. Well done. Note: it's not a picture book for little kids. Nothing bad, just slightly more mature themes. (Mini-spoiler by way of example: Creepy looks up Snow White's dress - but pays for it!) I imagine 8 would appeal to tweens and teens (as well as adults) as it's about an unconventional someone who doesn't fit in with the group. I'd like to see it as first in an alternative fairy tale series, maybe? Maybe? Well worth the buck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2