Customer Reviews for

8 Steps to a Pain-Free Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Finally Pain Free

    Esther Gokhale's book '8 Steps to a Pain Free Back' is a marvel.. At first glance it appears to be just another self help book on how to relieve common back pain. Upon reading it however, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this is the most comprehensive and helpful book I have yet come across. Gokhale's technique which is grounded in sound anthropological study as she explains, our back problems are largely the result of our cultural habits. Apparently, only five to ten percent of people in certain other countries suffer from back pain, yet in American that number jumps to almost ninety percent. Why such a difference? Ms. Gokhale explains that poor habits and incorrect training are to blame and her technique for proper posture goes way beyond conventional American teachings. A victim of debilitating back pain and surgery herself, Ms. Gokhale both understands the pain many of us are going through, and genuinely wants to help. Her book is wonderfully illustrated with the most specific 'how to' techniques I have encountered. She not only guides the reader through not only what to do and what you should be feeling, but also explains symptoms of overdoing any given technique. She identifies specific muscles that need to be engaged for stability and strength in support of the discs. The book explains safe techniques for sitting, lying, bending, lifting and walking, activities we do all day long. She shows us how to preserve our knees and protect our hips as we age. As a person who has been doing yoga and seeing chiropractors for years in an attempt to overcome my own back injuries, I can safely say that this book has been incredibly effective in allowing me to resume a normal, pain free lifestyle. Once you begin integrating Ms. Gokhale's methods into your life you will be hooked and find yourself making corrections to your positioning all day long. I highly recommend this book it will create great habits that will last a lifetime.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    A must have for so many

    As Gokhale points out, 90% of Americans suffer with back pain, and many could be helped by the information in this book. Beyond the average pain sufferer this would be a great addition to any massage therapist, physical therapist, yoga teacher and fitness professional's arsenal.
    Very clear and concise instructions, clear direct photos to follow and I love the brief wrap ups at the end of each section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Heal painful back with better posture

    After 42 years of slouching while sitting and standing I was pretty sure that my bad posture was genetic and that I'd never be able to change it. Since I was in grade school I have never been able to stand or sit comfortably and now I know why. I wasn¿t doing it correctly. My mechanics were bad. If you look around, many people in this society appear to have the same problem. Bad posture is everywhere. By looking at people and cultures with good posture, Esther has figured out what the basic steps are for most anyone to achieve better posture. Her simple and effective mechanics-driven posture techniques work great. Simply by repositioning my body to her specifications in chairs, in bed or while standing has radically changed my thinking on posture. I think she is right: you're not born to bad posture you learn it. What is really cool is how easy it is to fix bad posture and learn good posture. For me the lessons were somewhat counterintuitive, but once I tried a few of them I knew that Esther was on to something. The book provides wonderful real life images and examples of good and bad posture. There are also relevant figures depicting the spine, etc. to illustrate her points. I no longer wake up with a stiff low back that takes half an hour to unwind. I wake up limber and refreshed. I no longer slouch every time I sit and fight muscle strain by constant fidgeting and repositioning. I am now working the proper posture techniques into my daily life with great success. I also feel like I¿ve found a sustainable way to use my for the next 40 years, where before I read the book I felt like I was wearing out my back way too soon. It feels right and looks great (no more hump when I bend over!). If you are considering surgery for pain relief or posture correction read this book first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    highly recommended

    life-changing effective common sense techniques to relieve pain without drugs or special costly equipment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Simple solution to back pain

    The book is very easy to follow with lots of pictures to make sure you are doing the exercises properly. I was up one night with neck pain. I pulled out the book and did some recommended exercise and got enough relief to go back to sleep. Lasting results are suppose to come as you change the way you sit, stand and walk. I have not practiced the new patterns long enough to see that yet, but I already feel better when I sit, stand and walk the way Esther recommends. It is certainly a simple solution to back and neck pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Back Pain

    You're really better off with an evidence-based book like "Treat Your Own Spinal Stenosis" instead of a nobody who's best advice is one you've heard over and over: stand and sit up straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Straighten Up!

    As a former model, I have practiced "good posture" but to my surprise, I would have back pain on occasion. "8 Steps to a Pain-Free Back" is one of the most fascinating books I have ever read on the human anatomy. Esther Gokhale takes you on a highly visual journey around the world that shows people of other cultures doing hard labor. Unlike the west, these people are virtually pain-free with beautiful posture. Despite their status in the world, these people walk, stand and sit like royalty.<BR/>Gokhale teaches us in 8 steps how to correct our body structure through specifically designed exercises. I suggest getting this book BEFORE you experience back pain. And please give this book to anyone who is suffering from back pain. "8 Steps to a Pain-Free Back" by Esther Gokhale should be in everyone's library next to the Family Medical Guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    A Wonderful Help

    This book is dedicated "To the millions of people who suffer needlessly from back pain." Anybody in that category knows what they'd give to become--and stay--pain-free.<BR/><BR/>To my mind, here's a great book to help. Esther Gokhale offers natural posture solutions for pain in the back, neck, shoulders, hips, knees and feet. The book consists of eight lessons, meticulously explained, with beautiful illustrative photographs. Half of this large book consists of photos--many of people in non-Western societies standing, walking and bending in natural and harm-free ways. Everything discussed is illustrated--so nothing is too hard to understand.<BR/><BR/>How we sit, how we stand, bend, sleep--all are vital to our comfort and health. When we learn to maintain correct posture, we'll find we're moving out of the realms of misery, and into a situation of relief and health.<BR/><BR/>I really liked this book. There is just enough science for me to understand what my posture is doing to my body, and just enough explanation for me to understand what I can do to make things better. Changing habits is not automatic, of course--I know it takes time before the new ways feel natural. But when there's a blueprint before me, if I have any motivation, I can practise and learn what's healthy. <BR/><BR/>If you're looking for some relief, get this book. You will learn a lot--and you'll be so glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1