BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

9

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for the faint of heart

    "9" is at its purest is a take on life. Its not always pretty but you always learn something from it. The record the first time through is unsettling in its honesty, it throws things in your face that you do not expect from a record. It mirrors and asks questions that sometimes we try and deny and work around. In "Accidential Babies" the question is posed "Is he dark enough to see your light?" and flat out asks the woman with which he is having an affair with to leave her other before there is no way out. As for the use of the F word in his songs, it is only used in an expression of true emoition. Most of us have been in that place where thats the only word that sums up the situation. I find it strange that people find more offense with that word than with the themes that are spread out through out the album which in reality are what made them uncomfortable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Art over entertainment

    Comparing Frank Sinatra to Damien Rice is like comparing Rap to Jazz, Completly different spectrums. Also Frank Sinatra was a Mafia buddy. Now about Damien Rice, Deffinitly go for his first album, Its incredible and much easier to absorb. I will always love that album. This album is like his first but much deeper with a rawness to it that is anything like what you hear in mainstream. It is a great album to open your mind on what it means to be a musician in the form of art and self expression rather than entertainment for the masses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    more of an acquired taste

    judging by the scathing reviews below, many did not enjoy this album. alright, i suppose that's understandable. everyone has their own set of likes and dislikes. personally, however, i found '9' to be a very good album. damien rice sings with a soft, nearly underwhelming tenor that breathes so much life into his raw songs. his style is, all in all, his own. the sheer simplicity of most of his songs sometimes doesn't go over so well with listeners. if you are planning on buying this album, you have to understand that, musically and emotionally, it is very mature. the melodies are not always catchy nor are the lyrics always sentimental and sweet. this album represents raw, uncensored human emotion. sometimes to oddness of the music or the bluntness of the lyrics cloud people's perspective of this album. don't let those things get in your way. be forewarned, of course, that it is different and thus, you may not like it. for me, it took a little while to actually appreciate it. the first time i listened to several of the songs, i didn't like it at all. attempting to listen to the album through the first time round? don't do it. you need to take something like this in small doses so that you can fully digest it and absord the sheer beauty of it. overall, i really enjoyed this album. i think that damien rice "as well as his singing counterpart lisa hannigan" is wonderful and fresh. try it out and give it some time to work its magic on you. highlights include: 9 crimes, elephant, the animals were gone, rootless tree, and accidental babies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too much cursing

    "9 Crimes" and "Rootless Tree" are great songs. I didn't care for the cursing on this CD though. It really turned me off. Damien doesn't have to say the "F word" over and over again. I don't buy this kind of music to hear the "F word" over and over again. The cursing ruined the CD for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    He's no Frank Sinatra, and most of the songs aren't good, just slow

    He isn't a good singer. I mean, he just barely gets by with his singing. The song "Rootless Tree" is something I can't play in front of my children because of the cursing on it. Most of the other songs sound like the beginning of a very slow song that you hope gets going but doesn't. "Elephant" gets going pretty crazy at the end, but the build up is a slow three minutes long. I didn't care for this song either. The only two songs I enjoyed were "9 Crimes" and "Dogs." The other songs did nothing for me. I won't be buying a CD of Damien Rice again, because I feel so cheated with this CD, which only has two good songs. Bottom line: most of the songs are SLOW, NOT good, and have singing that ISN'T good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant--wonderful follow-up to "O"

    Damien Rice is my favorite singer, and has been ever since I heard his magnificent debut album "O." "9" is another wonderful album. It begins with Rice's very talented singing partner Lisa Hannigan accompanying him on "9 Crimes." It's beautiful the way their voices overlap. The second track "The Animals Were Gone" is an excellent song it's only about my sixth favorite on this album, though, since it's just that good. "Elephant" is a standout, a wonderful follow-up to Rice's hit "The Blower's Daughter." The last minute and a half, especially, is so wonderful and painful at the same time in its intensity. "Rootless Tree" is another favorite of mine. This is where Damien earns the "explicit content" label on "9." It's a raw, hurt song that perfectly describes a love/hate relationship. You'll find yourself listening to over and over if you listen to it once. Another favorite of mine is "Grey Room," which continues to improve every time I listen to it. Finally, I loved "Accidental Babies." It reminds me of "Delicate," my favorite song on "O," and has really beautiful lyrics. I especially love the lines "And I know I made you cry/And I know sometimes, you wanna die/But do you really feel alive without me?". This is the best CD of 2006. I would recommend listening to "O" first, partly because it's nice to recognize references to earlier songs when you listen to "9," and partly because it is in my opinion the most consistently brilliant record of all time. I urge you to buy both of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1