BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death & Life

Average Rating 4
( 1648 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(742)

4 Star

(364)

3 Star

(244)

2 Star

(141)

1 Star

(157)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also h...
The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also helped me confirm what heaven is all about.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-wa...
The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-way through when he begins talking about how it is a shame most people will go to hell and not share his experience because they are not southern baptist like himself. First book I have ever chucked in the trash. DO NOT waste your time and money on this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1665 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 84
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    WOW!

    The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also helped me confirm what heaven is all about.

    63 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Heavenly Read

    Let's keep this short: if you don't believe in the afterlife, this book will have you thinking; if you do believe in the afterlife, this book will have you rejoicing.

    58 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Loved the book :)

    The 90 minutes in heaven refers to the length of time he was dead here on Earth. It's obvious that time would go by quickly in heaven, so he didn't have a lot to relay to us. The title of the book is definitely not misleading.

    This book is so encouraging. It made me appreciate my life a whole lot more and not take advantage of people or things. Loved it.

    34 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-way through when he begins talking about how it is a shame most people will go to hell and not share his experience because they are not southern baptist like himself. First book I have ever chucked in the trash. DO NOT waste your time and money on this book.

    25 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    A fascinating, inspiring story...impossible to put down!

    A fabulous book and a must-read for anyone who¿s lost a loved one and prays for their salvation and happiness. The story is gripping, and readers will have a hard time putting it down. And even though Piper had an unbelievable experience, he reminds us that he¿s a human being just like you or me¿one who sins, makes mistakes, questions God and simply wants to give up. The story evolves perfectly, concluding with profound insight, hope and promise.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    The best book I've read in quite some time

    I highly recommend the book 90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper and Cecil Murphey. To say that this is a spectacular read would not do this book justice. It is one of great wonder, mixed with a little suspense, and the comfort of hope and peace. For anyone afraid of dying, and particularly what happens afterward, this book is perfect. I would encourage you to read this and be drawn into Don Piper¿s personal account of what happened to him as he vividly describes his life altering experience of dying and coming back to life again. Piper¿s accident was in 1989, and it has taken this long for him to candidly tell the story of being pronounced dead at the scene of his accident, his journey in heaven, and then 90 minutes later being brought back to life again only to struggle in intense pain, and intense emotions of regret and depression. Then finally the humbling revelation that his experience was not all in vain, but one that he could use to benefit and help others, and to glorify God. I started reading this book on a flight from the Midwest to California for a three day business trip, and I could not put it down. By the time I returned home, I had completely read it and was recommending it to others. If you'd like to view an excerpt of Piper¿s interview you can search the web by typing in Don Piper or the title 90 Minutes in Heaven. This awesome book is a collaboration with writer and speaker, Cecil Murphey, who has written and co-authored over 104 books, some of which are being made into movies. Murphey has written with such personalities as Franklin Graham, B.J. Thomas and Shaun Alexander. If I enjoy a particular author, I always try finding more of that author¿s works. I¿m sure there are many readers who do the same, so if you'd like to learn more about Cecil Murphey, or find more books written or co-authored by him simply type his name into your search engine.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    This was one of the most interesting reads I had. couldn't put it down.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    I was expecting not to like this book, but ended up finding it to be quite compelling. I especially like that the author did not "sugar-coat" his circumstances. Even though a minister, he admitted when he acted like a an ass, which served to increase the authenticity and believability of his story.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightening

    The book starts with an terrible accident, then there is a chapter about the pastor's visit to heaven (short but very interesting) and the rest of the book is about his recovery, the acceptance of his new physical limitations and what he learned from God throughout it. It isn't over-the-top preachy. It isn't very long, it only takes a few hours to read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    The Inspirational Story Behind: 90 Minutes in Heaven

    90 Minutes in Heaven, written by Don Piper with Cecil Murphey is truly an inspirational guide to life. The true story of the death and life of Don Piper is a phenomenal book to live by. Don Piper and Cecil Murphey have written an extraordinary book that not only answers our questions here on Earth about Heaven, but expresses every feeling and obstacle that Don has to overcome. While recovering from the accident in the hospital, ordained minister Don Piper faces many hardships and pain barley tolerable to live with. At times all he wants is to leave his life behind here on Earth, and return back to Heaven. Though, all the troubles he acquires over the time after the accident and his journey to Heaven, he becomes thankful of the little things in life. He lives by faith and God's love, and now explains the wonders of Heaven to all, in his book, written with Cecil Murphey. Don Piper writes about his amazing victories, triumphs, and accomplishments of his life back on Earth, after he ventures to Heaven. Reading his inspiring book obligates me to take of advantage of everything I do have; realizing that when I'm facing a difficult time in life; God is always looking upon us, cradling us in His very hands. Don Piper and Cecil Murphey have proficiently mastered creating an amazing novel that will have you on the edge of your seat as you turn each page.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book!

    This is an excellent book! I also heard the author speak in person and he is very inspiring!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Very disappointing

    I bought this book with great excitement to understand this man's experience in Heaven. Sadly very little of the book is dedicated to his time there but instead on his recovery and self pity. Wasted Opportunity

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    This book made me feel worse

    He talks for a short time about Heaven but then goes on and on about his recovery. Poor him. He seems to be making the point that he was brought back to serve a purpose by helping people. I am sure he has helped others who have been injured in accidents, but his book did not help me. The big message I got from this book is that life is pointless compared to heaven. He even states that. Who could ever be inspired by that! This book brought me down. If you would like to be assured that your loved one is okay and that there is an afterlife but that this life has meaning as well, check out the book: Hello From Heaven. It's based on years of research and seems to be written by someone who desires for people to feel better about their loss and have hope about their own life.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Its awesome

    I give it five stars its remarkble the story

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Check this out

    If u love this book then you should read the book "Heaven is for real" a true story about a 4 year olds experience of heaven while he was haaving surgery. I love this book and i am 12 years old.
    I cant wait to go to heaven
    God bless

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Great book

    This a great book of what man seen in his death, but lived to tell about it. What a miracle!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    What a touching story

    This was the best book that I have read in a long time. I was unable to put it down cause I was wanting to know what was going to happen next. I would recommend anyone to read this book

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    It is a Great Book

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!! It is really a great book. There is not very many books I read all the way through, but this book I had to read all the way through it is GREAT!!! A MUST READ BOOK!!!!!!!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Good

    This book is so great i cant what till i get heaven is for real look at that on the reader really good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book

    Very touching and i couldnt put it down for the whole time i was reading it. I highley reccomend this book, to any body up for a very hooking true story

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1665 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 84