Customer Reviews for

90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death & Life

Average Rating 4
( 1654 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(747)

4 Star

(362)

3 Star

(248)

2 Star

(141)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also h...
The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also helped me confirm what heaven is all about.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-wa...
The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-way through when he begins talking about how it is a shame most people will go to hell and not share his experience because they are not southern baptist like himself. First book I have ever chucked in the trash. DO NOT waste your time and money on this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-way through when he begins talking about how it is a shame most people will go to hell and not share his experience because they are not southern baptist like himself. First book I have ever chucked in the trash. DO NOT waste your time and money on this book.

    27 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Very disappointing

    I bought this book with great excitement to understand this man's experience in Heaven. Sadly very little of the book is dedicated to his time there but instead on his recovery and self pity. Wasted Opportunity

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Read reviews first

    Want to know how I saved myself from a lot of time and trouble? I read all the terrible reviews from others who also read the bad reviews but bought the book anyhow. Its not rocket science folks.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    One Star Rating - Not very good on scriptural basis.

    One other reviewer pretty much hit it right on the head about his dissappointment with the book. Better to buy the "Heaven" book by Randy Alcorn as it is far superior and very encouraging about the future of believers.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Glad that is over

    One of the worst books I have read. The author comes across as self loathing. I became tired of this story quickly. Being based on a true story I am happy things worked out but this story is one I recommend skipping.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Boring!

    ok it's great that the guy went to heaven and came back. But it is so repetitive that is is boring. his 90 minutes consisted of him seeing relatives and everyone singing God's praises all at one time. No great insights. Don't get me wrong-- I am a Christan and practice my faith. It's so full of cliches. The writing is horrible and disorganized. It's like a high school student's paper that was written the night before it was due.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Very disappointed

    I was hoping for an objective account from an ordinary every day Joe who had an amazing experience, but instead got what seems like a Christian Pastor with an agenda. With all due respect, anyone with a sunday school knowledge of the Bible could come up with this. It doesn't provide a perception of reality. It seems very contrived. Very disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Not what you expect

    The title of the book should not be called 90 minutes in Heaven. Don Piper speaks about being in Heaven for probably 7-10 pages out of the 200 pages in the book. The book is just about his recovery from his car accident and that's about it. Overall, it was a disappointing read.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Great if you're a Christian

    I will preface this by saying this book was a gift and I'm sure I am not this author's intended audience. I am not a declared religion and I felt this book provided only thoughts on the true value of being a Baptist and to heck with everyone else...literally. There was no information provided other than this man's horrible accident and the recovery process. I hoped to read something involving facts or historical data of others with Near Death Experiences...anything besides reading what might as well be a thrown together hodge podge of events. It is not my intent to deface his experiences or question his encounter...I am just reviewing this book, the content, and its delivery. The writing was not good. The stories were not well thought out and I felt I was reading a Who's Who of this man's particular church. I'm sure there is an audience for this type of book...just not me. I barely finished it.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    To Jesus on July 1st

    Really? On a book like this? Norm people like me hate people who beg for immoral stuff because it is stupid and wrong. How old are you any way? If you are over 18 get a life and suck it up. If you are under 18 leave the ladies alone and again get a life. This is for reviews about the book not your personal lonely disgusting life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    C'mon, pleeaassee!

    Really?????

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    The cover

    Perfecrly describes what happened to my mom amd sister tonight, minus the heaven part

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Not Recommended

    Do not recommend this as it is a very short description of Heaven and mostly consists of the author's injuries and recovery. Hate to think that you have no memories of your family and friends when you get to Heaven. Makes this life seem pointless. Gave one star only because I had to, didn't want to rate at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Awesome( not)

    Boo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Disappointed

    Well i didnt even finish this one He died for maybe 2 chapters and the rest was his recovery Very disappointed.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Someone

    Whats it about?????????????

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Unbelievable

    this is imossible. Unless the med team thought he was dead even tho he was alive-maybe. But it is impossible!!! If you die there is no coming back!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    do not like ordered in error

    Can't believe I ordered this book.....wish I had read more about prior to ordering it I would have saved myself some cash.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    not recommended!

    he doesnt really mention heaven, i was very disappointed because i thought he would have mentioned more about Jesus! and heaven! i personally put the book down when it went against Chrisianity does not align with Scripture!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Not what I thought it would be!

    I was looking for more of a description of what the experience was in Heaven, not what happened during his recovery.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8