Customer Reviews for

90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death & Life

Average Rating 4
( 1652 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(746)

4 Star

(362)

3 Star

(247)

2 Star

(141)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

WOW!

The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also h...
The book states in the beginning that this is his story. It is amazing to read about heaven and then continue to read how he struggled through his recovery, knowing what his after life was going to be. I read the book in 2 days, I couldn't put it down. the book also helped me confirm what heaven is all about.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-wa...
The book sounded like a detailed description of a near-death description. The author only touches on this briefly in the very beginning. The rest of the book is endless and repetitive descriptions of his depressing recovering and self-loathing. I stopped reading half-way through when he begins talking about how it is a shame most people will go to hell and not share his experience because they are not southern baptist like himself. First book I have ever chucked in the trash. DO NOT waste your time and money on this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 362 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    I was expecting not to like this book, but ended up finding it to be quite compelling. I especially like that the author did not "sugar-coat" his circumstances. Even though a minister, he admitted when he acted like a an ass, which served to increase the authenticity and believability of his story.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightening

    The book starts with an terrible accident, then there is a chapter about the pastor's visit to heaven (short but very interesting) and the rest of the book is about his recovery, the acceptance of his new physical limitations and what he learned from God throughout it. It isn't over-the-top preachy. It isn't very long, it only takes a few hours to read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    The Inspirational Story Behind: 90 Minutes in Heaven

    90 Minutes in Heaven, written by Don Piper with Cecil Murphey is truly an inspirational guide to life. The true story of the death and life of Don Piper is a phenomenal book to live by. Don Piper and Cecil Murphey have written an extraordinary book that not only answers our questions here on Earth about Heaven, but expresses every feeling and obstacle that Don has to overcome. While recovering from the accident in the hospital, ordained minister Don Piper faces many hardships and pain barley tolerable to live with. At times all he wants is to leave his life behind here on Earth, and return back to Heaven. Though, all the troubles he acquires over the time after the accident and his journey to Heaven, he becomes thankful of the little things in life. He lives by faith and God's love, and now explains the wonders of Heaven to all, in his book, written with Cecil Murphey. Don Piper writes about his amazing victories, triumphs, and accomplishments of his life back on Earth, after he ventures to Heaven. Reading his inspiring book obligates me to take of advantage of everything I do have; realizing that when I'm facing a difficult time in life; God is always looking upon us, cradling us in His very hands. Don Piper and Cecil Murphey have proficiently mastered creating an amazing novel that will have you on the edge of your seat as you turn each page.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Kind of boring

    The parts where it talks about him and recovering from his injuries is boring but the rest is pretty good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Very gripping and detailed!! Makes one contemplate their spiritual life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Amazing!

    Very touching, so true, it is another stone in the foundation of christianity

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    excellent

    If you were not a believer before, this could be the book that makes it happen for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Pretty good!

    I liked this book but it was a little slow at times. Most of the book was on his recovery. Only the first few chapters described his experience in heaven but still worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Talk about hope!

    My husband and I read this book together as he was suffering from a terminal illness. It was so encouraging! Heaven is just a dimension away. This book is good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    wish there was more

    I wish that there had been more accounts of heaven versus his struggles to recover. Over all though a very interesting read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Highly recommended--This experience keeps it real...confirms reality.

    It is an easy read that pulls one into the experience of suffering and real feelings. It allows for hope to support your future and concerns for health or physical challenges for healing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Must Read!!!

    This book really gives you an insight as to what Heaven is like. It also gives you a better understanding of our purpose on Earth. Good book when I read the first chapter I couldn't put the book down until I read the entire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Melody

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Jaredh

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN: A TRUE STORY OF DEATH AND LIFE by Don Pipe

    90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN: A TRUE STORY OF DEATH AND LIFE by Don Piper with Cecil Murphey is an interesting Biography/Autobiography. The 10th Anniversary Edition with new materials.

    A simply written story of death, life, and life after death. This was written 10 years after the original one which was released 2004. This is the impact of pain, hope, faith, and healing. An updated version! He talks candidly about his overcoming,what could have been a tragedy, miracles, prayer, his return to life and his recovery and of course his experience of "90 Minutes in Heaven". What a though-provoking tale! If you have never read this inspiring book, I would highly recommend you to pick it up, you won't regret your choice. A powerful story! Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    *Coming in July from Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group*

    Rating: 4

    Heat rating: N/A

    Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. Even before I read the first chapter, I was drawn into Don

    Wow. Even before I read the first chapter, I was drawn into Don Piper’s story. The update, and especially the succinct and moving prologue, intrigued me, and made it nearly impossible to not read further.




    I love the honest, humble, simplistic, and unapologetic way the author presents his story. He doesn’t use flowery words or exaggerated phrases, just a down-to-earth (no pun intended) conversational tone.
    While reading the first chapter I read the following paragraph several times:




    “Many times since then I’ve thought about my decision to take the Gulf Freeway. It’s amazing how we pay no attention to simple decisions at the time they’re made. Yet I would remind myself that even the smallest decisions often hold significant consequences. This was one of those choices.”




    Oh my. These statements really resonated with me. There has been so many times in my life that, as I looked back, I recognized how tiny, seemingly insignificant choices majorly impacted my life.




    As we read books (fiction or non-fiction), we hope to be transported somewhere – whether it’s in the past, the future, or a whole new world. This book definitely does that. It displays the beauty and wonder of Heaven in the best earthly words possible, and gives us a tiny glimpse of the Glory of God’s gifts.




    I encourage you to read this book. Glimpse into Heaven and get a ‘feel’ for what awaits those saved by faith in God’s grace. 90 Minutes in Heaven is a life-changing, soul-blessing story.




    Cover: Like it
    Title: Like it
    Publisher: Revell
    Pages: 256
    Pace: Steady/Fast
    First Lines (prologue): I died on January 18, 1989.








    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Revell Books book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    enjoyable read

    thought provoking, enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Positive and encouraging!

    Don Piper's near death experience is a true, encouraging witness to the place God has prepared for us in heaven. His story gave me a sense of hope and peace for what is to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Recommened

    Enjoyable book. Recommended. 3 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 362 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19