Customer Reviews for

97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!

this book is fascinating. It shared many insights into life in the tenements on New York in the late 19th and early 20th centuries most especially about foodways of the immigants

posted by 2937431 on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

More expensive for the Ebook then the paperback book?

I just won't buy an ebook when its more expensive then the paperback version. It makes no sense at all.

posted by EffieTX on October 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Wonderful!

    this book is fascinating. It shared many insights into life in the tenements on New York in the late 19th and early 20th centuries most especially about foodways of the immigants

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    Informative Book

    Very informative book on the history of food of the many immigrants who migrated to New York. One could almost imagine the families sitting down to dinner with their foods that they had gathered and prepared from the many push carts and their own gardens. Thought it was very amuzing that the Italian food was not considered very healthy and good for you to eat. Today it is referred to as the Mediterranean diet. It is now considered healthy and very delicious. Everyone loves pasta and pizza. It was interesting to see how the "Americans" tried to Americanized the immigrants. The immigrants still kept their traditional foods and we are benefiting today from those traditions in our culinary tastes. Enjoyed the recipes.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Highly recommend this delightful compendium of Eastern European immigration to the NY tenement life.

    I read a prior review and synopsis on this book and was MORE delighted than I could imagine. It gave me a "delicious" insight into how our appetites have been shaped by the immigrant women of an Eastside tenement on 97 Orchard. The included recipes lure me in to new found delights. The actual history that Ms Ziegelman brings forth are new revelations to me on some experiences of these immigrants and the life conditions they lived! Very original and a rare find.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Fun reading

    Thisis agood read for any one with an immigrant parent or grandparent . It resonates whether you are grrman iris italian or irish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More expensive for the Ebook then the paperback book?

    I just won't buy an ebook when its more expensive then the paperback version. It makes no sense at all.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Very different, interesting

    This book isn't at all what I thought it was, but I enjoyed it just the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Nice little slice of history

    Well researched. Interesting to move right in with people of another time and see life from their perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Adds flavor to an already rich history

    97 Orchard Street is in the neighborhood where I was raised.
    Yet, I never visited the street until last summer. The Museum was fascinating. Ziegelman's book enriched that experience. Not only did she describe procurement of food she provided the recipes. A worthwhile read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    not good

    Chapters are too long.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Mish mosh boring and shouldnt be

    Glad for sample doesnt know his foods e g noodles and bread potato and soup and rice and dumplings and beans and beer m a

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Aaron Ziegelman and his family have swindled more than 1/2 milli

    Aaron Ziegelman and his family have swindled more than 1/2 million dollars from our family. They are disgusting people and should be in jail.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2