Customer Reviews for

The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 1089 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(480)

4 Star

(311)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Detective Lindsay Boxer chases a jewel thief, a murderous movie star, and a killer with a vendetta against women and children.

The Most Personal - A young mother and her infant child are ruthlessly gunned down while returning to their car in the garage of a shopping mall. There are no witnesses, and Detective Lindsay Boxer is left with only one shred of evidence; a cryptic message scrawled acro...
The Most Personal - A young mother and her infant child are ruthlessly gunned down while returning to their car in the garage of a shopping mall. There are no witnesses, and Detective Lindsay Boxer is left with only one shred of evidence; a cryptic message scrawled across the windshield in bloodred lipstick.
The Most Dangerous - The same night, the wife of an A-list actor Marcus Dowling is woken by a cat burgular who is about to steal millions of dollars' worth of precious jewels. In just seconds there is a nearly empty safe, a lifeless body, and another mystery that throws San Francisco into hysteria.
In the book, 9th Judgement by James Patterson, you find yourself in the perfect blend between CSI and Criminal Minds while deciding if the two cases are separate or the same killer. I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book by Hachette Book Groups to review and again, being a fan of this genre, I loved it and would recommend this book for anyone who loves crime and mystery fiction.
If you would like to know more about this book and where to obtain a copy for you to purchase, please click on the link below.
http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780316036276.htm

posted by Heart2Heart on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Maxine Paetro Is The Real Writer

The publishers for a long time knew that every James Patterson book that is cowritten his name is boldly displayed and his co writer is in small print. This is a classic marketing trick and it works. But on the downside it is quality that suffers. Many Patterson fans al...
The publishers for a long time knew that every James Patterson book that is cowritten his name is boldly displayed and his co writer is in small print. This is a classic marketing trick and it works. But on the downside it is quality that suffers. Many Patterson fans always compare them to his earlier works and they have to finally come to reality that he does not write them.

posted by Darth-Vader on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lindsay and the girls are back!

    Lindsay, Claire, Yuki and Cindy are back for the ninth installment of The Women's Murder Club series. A serial killer, penned the Lipstick Killer by the police, is terrorizing the streets of San Francisco. Mothers and their children are being targeted and killed in a vicious manner. The killer only leaves one clue: a message in lipstick "WCF". Lindsay and her partner, Rich Conklin, are angry that someone is killing mothers and innocent children. They are determined to bring the killer to justice.

    Lindsay and Rich are also pulled into the "Hello Kitty" case. A robber, who breaks into homes while the home owners are entertaining, to steal their jewelry. This time, the jewelry thief breaks into the home of actor Marcus Dowling and before the night is over, Casey Dowling, his wife, is shot and killed. Given his celebrity status, Lindsay and Rich have their hands full trying to solve his wife's murder.

    I really enjoyed The 9th Judgment. It started out with a bang-literally-and did not slow down until the final page. The authors did a good job with going back and forth between the two cases. What helped with the transitions were reading the perspectives from both the Lipstick Killer and Hello Kitty. I do have to admit, I wasn't prepared for knowing the identities of both from the beginning. It added to the suspense when Patterson and Paetro revealed more of their private lives.

    All in all, The 9th Judgment is a great addition to The Women's Murder Club series. Fans will sympathize with the police force as they race to stop the Lipstick Killer from killing innocent mothers and children. True to Lindsay's style, she risks her life to make sure justice is served. As usual, I'm waiting for the tenth book to be released. I do hope Patterson will soon allow Lindsay and Joe to marry. I want Lindsay to receive her happy ending-she definitely deserves it!

    3.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Lindsey is once again faced with a psychopath killer is not only ruthless, he's smart too. His prey of choice? Women and their child. He gets them when they least expect it. His signature is a cryptic message and Lindsey knows right away that this wasn't just some random act of violence.

    On the night of the first mother-child murder, a man and his wife's home is broken into, jewelry is stolen from a safe and the wife has dead. Does this case have anything to do with the murders? How many more people have to die before this puzzle is pieced together?

    I'm a huge fan of James Patterson and the Woman's Murder Club. I enjoyed reading this book but I felt like it was a little bland, not as intriguing as most of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    An OK read

    Was hoping to love this book so that I would want to dive into the entire series. Like the book OK, but won't dive in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Uopo

    Mkoujhgtwoi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Refreshing Pause

    Book 9, in "The Women's Murder Club" series

    This series still manages to keep me faithful, a great filler when squeezed for time. I am not surprised it is still going strong after 9 novels, the short chapters and fairly captivating police cases are populated with smart, brave, tough and vulnerable characters. A stress illuminator after a hard day, an easy, light and fast read you can zip through in no time.

    The story has the Club members focusing on two main events in a style we are familiar with. Mr. Patterson leads his readers into scenarios that are brutal but nevertheless intriguing.

    In the first event: Lindsay is sent to investigate a case of a serial killer named "lipstick killer", a psycho who targets mothers and their babies and leaves messages at the crime scenes. In the second event: she juggles a case involving a cat burglar named "Hello Kitty" who robs rich women of their jewellery while they entertain friends at their home. All the while, Lindsay's saga continues both professionally and personally......

    The story focuses mainly on Lindsay although the other members of the "Club" do play some of the critical roles they are known for in this series. On the down side, the plot follows the same tempo as the previous books, another story that is farfetched and quite predictable. Although the writing style is rather basic and choppy it is all the same entertaining.

    I consider this novel a refreshing pause.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    Very Entertaining

    Another good read in the Women's Murder Club series. I'm never disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Easy Summer Read

    This series always, fun and easy.
    Still think " First to Die" was best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Women's Murder Club Is Back

    James Patterson brings us the 9th installment of the women's murder club. Wealthy people in San Francisco are being robbed. Women with children are being shot and killed. Lindsey Boxer and her partner have the cases. The plotting is smooth and quick and the twists are not entirely predictable.

    The one complaint I have about this book is that there is not enough interaction between the women. Yuki has a small part in the book. Claire and Lindsey are there and Cindy. But their interaction as a group is severely limited.

    The book is still a fast-paced thriller and contains the same punch as all Patterson's book. I just wish there would have been a little more Women's Murder Club in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Big Fan of Women's Murder Club

    I am a huge fan of the Women's Murder Club. I use to watch the t.v. show. Very disappointed when that got cancelled!!!! This book however was not as interesting as the others. Most of these books I had a hard time putting down. I enjoyed it, because I got to visit with my friends Lindsay, Cindy, Claire and Yuki, but it left me wanting more. I really enjoy the characters. I'm hoping that The 9th Judgement is just a gateway to the 10th - Whatever- Because of the way it ended. If you are a fan, you will enjoy it! If you are not, I recommend that you get 1st to die and start at the begining. Very much looking forward to the next installment of The Women's Murder Club!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Good Escapse

    Lindsey Boxer and the women will keep you entertained in this latest episode of the Women's Murder club. A good book for a rainey day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9