BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 1086 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(479)

4 Star

(309)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Detective Lindsay Boxer chases a jewel thief, a murderous movie star, and a killer with a vendetta against women and children.

The Most Personal - A young mother and her infant child are ruthlessly gunned down while returning to their car in the garage of a shopping mall. There are no witnesses, and Detective Lindsay Boxer is left with only one shred of evidence; a cryptic message scrawled acro...
The Most Personal - A young mother and her infant child are ruthlessly gunned down while returning to their car in the garage of a shopping mall. There are no witnesses, and Detective Lindsay Boxer is left with only one shred of evidence; a cryptic message scrawled across the windshield in bloodred lipstick.
The Most Dangerous - The same night, the wife of an A-list actor Marcus Dowling is woken by a cat burgular who is about to steal millions of dollars' worth of precious jewels. In just seconds there is a nearly empty safe, a lifeless body, and another mystery that throws San Francisco into hysteria.
In the book, 9th Judgement by James Patterson, you find yourself in the perfect blend between CSI and Criminal Minds while deciding if the two cases are separate or the same killer. I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book by Hachette Book Groups to review and again, being a fan of this genre, I loved it and would recommend this book for anyone who loves crime and mystery fiction.
If you would like to know more about this book and where to obtain a copy for you to purchase, please click on the link below.
http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780316036276.htm

posted by Heart2Heart on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Maxine Paetro Is The Real Writer

The publishers for a long time knew that every James Patterson book that is cowritten his name is boldly displayed and his co writer is in small print. This is a classic marketing trick and it works. But on the downside it is quality that suffers. Many Patterson fans al...
The publishers for a long time knew that every James Patterson book that is cowritten his name is boldly displayed and his co writer is in small print. This is a classic marketing trick and it works. But on the downside it is quality that suffers. Many Patterson fans always compare them to his earlier works and they have to finally come to reality that he does not write them.

posted by Darth-Vader on April 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 309 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For a first Patterson read I wasn't disappointed.

    This book was provided for review by Hachette Book Group.

    Even though I didn't realize it was abridged until after I finished it, I still liked it. I would like to know what was cut out from the original version, but even without it I don't feel as if I was shorted.

    The killer in this one is sick, truly sick. To go around and kill mothers and their children is just wrong. But it made for a great story. I did feel for the burglar though, once I realize why the burglaries were being done I almost felt sorry and wished the burglar had taken different actions to get what was needed. But both of these story lines going on together made the story that much more interesting. Trying to figure out two separate plots really kept me engaged (and I need to find a new adjective... Thesaurus anyone?).

    The character I connected the most with was the Hello Kitty burglar. That character was so dynamic. Like I said I almost was sympathetic to what was going on. The other characters were well written, and they all played an integral part in the story, they just didn't draw me in like the burglar did.

    I liked the narrator for this one. Her voice was almost soothing to listen to. I don't want to say she used different voices for the characters, as that implies an almost puppet show feeling, but she did a good job a differentiating for the listener who was talking without being able to read who was talking.

    This was the first Patterson book that I've read, and I really enjoyed it. I don't know if I'll go back and start the series from the beginning, but I will definitely grab more of his books as they come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Good but.....

    I am a HUGE Women's Murder Club fan, I mean they just can't write them fast enough for me!! This store line was just as interesting and exciting as all the previous books, but it was not the best. There were a few too many character stories going on and the conncection between characters seemed weak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Women's Murder Club strikes again

    Entertaining, as usual. Well-woven plot with the surprising twists expected from Patterson and Paetro. If I want a fun mystery, with a little sexual tension and sassy banter, this series never fails to please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    These women are a must read!

    Real, career oriented woman with passion for their job and man! Ladies you want to be when you grow up! James Patterson had managed to keep the suspense in every chapter while getting to know each character personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    highly recommend

    Great story by Patterson. fast paced, keeps your interest throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    great read

    still got it just like the previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Good

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Good read

    All in this series are good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Love this series!

    Another great Women's Murder Club book. I have read all the books in this series and this is my 2nd favorite. COULDNT PUT IT DOWN!
    A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Good read

    This is a fun series and best when started from the begining. Suprising twists and likeable characters, but don't get too attached. You never know when a bad guy might take out one of your own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    This book was entertaining and a quick read. I don't understand why in every book the main character always has to get injured by being blown up or shot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    A tale with a twist

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Weird ending but still good

    I didn't enjoy the epilogue at all. There seemed to be way too much information and twists all in that little part. However, the meat of the book was just what I hoped for...quick moving and suspenseful. I'm hoping we'll see more of the ladies murder club working together in future books. They seem kind of bumping into each other in this book and I rather them work together to solve the mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Easy and Entertaining!

    If you read any of the books in this series you will want to read them all. They are structured with short chapters which makes them easy to read. All are fast paced, action-oriented page turners. This was not my favorite book of the series; however, I was not disappointed. A weird minor twist between the main character and her fiancee that flaired and then dissipated in the final few chapters was a bit odd... Anyway, it was an entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    .....my favorite "womens club"

    As always, James Patterson at his best. 'An excellent read, fast paced with an intricate web of characters. I love the Women's Murder Club series.

    J. Carroll Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    My favorite "club".

    As always, James Patterson at his best. 'An excellent read, fast paced with an intricate web of characters. I love the Women's Murder Club series.

    J. Carroll Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    My favorite "club"

    As always, James Patterson at his best. 'An excellent read, fast paced with an intricate web of characters. I love the Women's Murder Club series.

    J. Carroll Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Doesn't Disappoint

    Being that James Patterson is one of my absolute favorite authors, perhaps I'm a bit biased in writing this review. Each book in this series feels like a dip back into the lives of the characters. I like that. I did find a bit of frustration with a situation between Lindsay (the main character) and her fiance. I even said, "Oh, come on!" out loud. Very few stories make me say anything out loud as I read. Patterson redeemed himself shortly thereafter so I will let it slide this time. This is a great, fast-paced read (as are all his books) and you don't have to have read the others before picking up this one to find yourself engrossed in the lives of the characters.
    Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Very Good

    I have to say I really enjoyed this book. I have only read pne other Womens Murder Club book, the 8th, but on its own this book is very good. I enjpyed the characters' relationships and how the criminals' identities intertwined,(I don't want to spoil it by saying how) A definite must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 309 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16