BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Beautiful Evil

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    i love this series!! i love that Ari isn't your average teenage heroine in most YA novels now a days. she strong and independent but also very caring. i love Ari and Sebastian's relationship they're honest and up front with each other which is refreshing. i cant wait for the next installment of the series im eager to find out more of sebastian's power

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    A Refreshing Addition To Modern Literature

    When I picked up the first installment of this series I couldnt put it down, and was eagerly awaiting this book. As I picked the book up for the first time it didnt dissapoint having me gripped all the way. Ari's personality is much more definable then most other teen girl main characters these days; she tough, yet as we learn sensitive and sometimes needy, and is loyal too the bitter end. Sebaetian is as too be expected, a total heartthrob that had me dying of jealousy for Ari but rooting for them at the same time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Even better than the first book !!!!!

    Even better than the first book
    !!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Could Not Put It Down!

    Kelly Keaton knows how to keep a story going! This book picked up right where Darkness Becomes Her left off.

    *If you haven't read the first book, Darkness Becomes Her, then this will contain spoilers!*

    Ari is a teenage girl who grew up in the foster system. After a search for her mother at a hospital lead to her venturing into New 2 (formerly New Orleans before hurricanes hit), we find out teenage heroine attending the prestigious Presby school. Her school day is anything but normal; it's filled with a training session that causes her to break, and studying in a library that shouldn't exist.

    After Athena stole two of the most important people Ari had in her life, she had to find a way to go after them. The Novem eventually conceded and allowed her to search their secret library for as much information as she could find on Athena and her temples. There is a ton of information there, and eventually she finds bits and pieces that may help on her search. No one knows about this library, unless they are a part of the Novem or apparently their children. And rightly so, because this library is hidden in plain sight and has a very interesting title that has been passed down through the centuries...

    I'm not going to delve into much more here, I really don't want to ruin it for anyone. This book is so fast paced, I'm not sure that I want to share too much for fear of spoilers! I seriously could not put this book down, I read about 120 pages in two hours last night! Kelly Keaton does such a great job at helping us imagine the world that Ari is living in, and visualizing just what her emotions are doing to it.

    I am happy to say that this is one YA novel that does not have a love triangle! There is a love interest between Ari and Sebastian, but that is it. To me this made it much more enjoyable because there wasn't all the drama involved with a triangle. Future gorgons don't need all that drama in their lives anyways, right?

    There are some great battle scenes as well, and some of them are a bit gruesome. The high energy that came off of these scenes just kept me going to find out what would happen next! Kelly Keaton is a mastermind at mixing in fantasy with mythology, and still making it believable and believable!

    I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves Greek mythology and a bittersweet love story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great

    I love the story and characters. Ari is a bad ass chick that can kick butt and she's a heart torn girl inside. If anyone isn't sure about reading these 2 stories please do there worth the money even though there not very long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    This was a very freaking good book. ^-^ It involves mythology an

    This was a very freaking good book. ^-^ It involves mythology and who doesnt love a good mythology based book? it was full of suspense and action. the main character can really fight haha. i really had a hard time putting this book down. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    A great squeal to darkness become her...

    I was so excited when I finally got to read a beautiful evil. I reread the first book darkness becomes her to rejog my memory. But i still remember what happened due to it being such a good book so i skimmed through the book reading my favorite parts. This book was awesome and must be the best boom. I loved how Ari, sebastian, and Henry go to save her father but is sent back and look for a new way there. But to only be in Atheanas clutches and sebastian is tortured to drink blood. Ari couldnt take it anymore and see sebasti be tortured so she gave him her blood and he like ignored her afterwards so i was very confused. I was so surprised when at the party when Atheana was trying to curse violet and failed so she tried to curse sebastian and Ari turned him into stone. I was more surprised when she found a way to turn him back and save him. I loved the ending but am curious to find more so i hope kelly keaton makes the next book. Im dying to find out what happens next..... ughhhh SO CURIOUS AN IS AGAIN A MUST RWAD AWESOME BOOK THAT GREEK MYTHOLOGY LOVERS ROMANCE LOVERS AND PARANORMAL TYPE LOVERS MUST READ.... IM SO GLAD I FOUND THIS BOOK EVEN IF IT WAS ON ACCIDENT I THINK THAT IT WAS FATE!!!!! LOL '-'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    gg

    anyone else notice that chapter three says she hadnt been in the cemetery since violet disapeared and in the last book it said the girl had gone in there looking for the alligator the three days before she busted into the meeting? it was goood tho!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Love it!

    This is a great series(: !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Brilliant

    This book was super awsome and appealing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Opps for the pot tha sas "a must read" correcrtion

    When i said i read 5,400 book pages a week i meant i read 5 books with 400 pages a week
    Yours truly,
    A lover of books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Fresh

    Something new and exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Gooood book!

    This is such a awesome series! It has a lot of good stuff like a little bit of drama some action and a whole lot of other stufg i highly recomd this :) -Yasmin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down!

    I instantly fell in love with this series. The characters and storyline kept me on the edge of my seat. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!

    Out of 5 stars i would truly give it a 10!!! Like this book is one of the greatest i have ever read besides the hush, hush series(read those!) Read this book and you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I really enjoyed "Darkness Becomes Her", the first boo

    I really enjoyed "Darkness Becomes Her", the first book in this series about a post catastrophic Hurricane New Orleans called New 2. Ari found out that she is a 'god-killer' or Gorgon at the end of book one. Her best friends and everyone of the Nine controlling families now know what evil lurks inside her. Some want to use her for protection from the evil Athena and as a bargining chip in a politically fueled duel between the Goddess and the Families. Ari wants revenge on Athena for her mother's death and desperately wants to rescue her little friend Violet and her Father. She is unsure of how Sebastian feels about her anymore since he hasn't spoken to her since the show down with Athena. Ari is sure he feels she is a monster. But Sebastian continues to feel drawn to Ari, himself a misfit as a half vampire-half warlock, and he helps her on her mission for revenge.

    Ari is granted permission to search the secret library that only the council knows about for any information to help remove her curse or free Violet and her Father from Athena. Henri, Sebastian, and Ari manage to get into Mt. Olympus by following one of Athena's minions to a magic doorway. After stumbling into a banquet right in front of Athena, herself, the three must a way to rescue their friends and themselves. It is a roller coaster reading ride that you will be unable to put down.

    This series is like nothing I have ever read. Keaton does a wondrous job of creating a fantasy New 2 that is based in real life. She also makes a mythological villian, the Gorgon, an identifable and courageous heroine. The story is action, romance and coming of age in a world that is seeped in mystery and magic. This is an incredible series for anyone that enjoys paranormal and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Good, not Great.

    A Beautiful Evil was your typical middle book in a trilogy. Nothing is resolved and more problems arise. I adored Darkness Becomes Her and both times I read it in one sitting, A Beautiful Evil took me a few days to get through because it just didn't hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2