Customer Reviews for

A Beautiful Lie

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

First things first, you are going to be irritated reading this b

First things first, you are going to be irritated reading this book. You're going to feel like there's loose ends that are NEVER EVER going to be tied up. There are times you're going to be like "seriously, how is this suspenseful!! how do they NOT see what's com...
First things first, you are going to be irritated reading this book. You're going to feel like there's loose ends that are NEVER EVER going to be tied up. There are times you're going to be like "seriously, how is this suspenseful!! how do they NOT see what's coming?!" The majority of the time what I expected to happen didn't actually happen. There was only once where I guessed correctly. You're going to think "Well that was unexpected and completely different." You're going to fall in love with Garrett and want to beat Parker over the head for being an idiot, then turn around and do the same thing with Garrett...I was literally screaming "hello, haven't you people ever heard of adult conversations?! Geesh, get it together!" BUT, then you'll realize WHY they weren't talking and realize the way Ms. Sivec wrote it was perfect.

Finally, spend the money for this book - but don't start it unless you have about two hours to read 300+ pages in one sitting.

Tara Sivec is an amazing author and there were times while reading this I wondered if this is the same Tara Sivec I fell in love with. This book is completely different come her normal work and truly shows the diversity this author has to offer the world. I felt like this was tied up so well, I am not sure how there is going to be a series. BUT, it is Tara Sivec and she is amazing so I'm not going to think about that too deeply and just eagerly await her next book.

posted by TinyRed on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs an editor

This book sorely needs an editor, there are many misspellings and omitted words. The characters in this story are some of the least intelligent I have encountered. Sorry but I can't recommend this book as a good read for anyone.

posted by PJW51 on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    It took me a little bit to get into A Beautiful Lie. I had a har

    It took me a little bit to get into A Beautiful Lie. I had a hard time finding a flow with the narration style, I felt a little disconnected to the characters because of it. But when I did get caught up in the story I was really swept away with where the plot line was going to go.

    There were quite a few secrets/twists in this book. Actually, that’s a lie, there were a f-ton of them. The first few were hinted at quite a bit. To the point I think everyone will see them coming, but there are quite a few that just blew me out of the water. They came from left field and I was not expecting the story to go in that direction at all. In a good way.

    There were periods of the book (especially in the beginning) where I did find myself almost bored at times. The story seemed to drag at points. The background kept getting piled on as the story went on almost like we needed more reasons to dislike the “bad guy” so the author kept throwing more on the pile. In the beginning there was so much description text and the couple going back and forth on their feelings for one another. I promise it does get better and once we have most of the background information the story picks up.

    I liked both main characters for the most part. There were a few times that I thought Garrett was treated almost stupid (even though he’s a SEAL) while Annabelle was portrayed as this super smart person in her field. Annabelle was a strong woman, but I didn’t really feel the love for her until she started to show a little vulnerability. I suppose it helped her feel more real to me and therefore I was able to form a connection. In the end they really are the perfect couple. I can’t tell you why, but you should read and find out.

    Like I mentioned there is a big twist toward the end and the book quickly becomes action packed, it just takes a while to get there. I was completely wrapped up in the action scenes and don’t let me steer you wrong, the sex is good too. Really it has everything we need in a good read.

    A Beautiful Lie is free right now so why are you still reading this review… go one-click that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    As I am sure you have heard by now, Tara Sivec ┬┐ Author of the A

    As I am sure you have heard by now, Tara Sivec – Author of the AWESOME Chocolate Lovers Series (click here to go to my Tara Sivec Author Page) has released  her first novel “A Beautiful Lie” under her pen name T.E. Sivec.  Under T.E. Sivec, she delves into a more serious genre that is her absolute favorite to read – romantic suspense.   She loves reading a book and feeling her heart speed up with anticipation and wanted to be able to give that feeling to her fans.

    And that is exactly what she did!!!!!  Tara delivered that feeling for me.

    There was a time when I read a lot more romantic suspense novels.  If I did not already know that this was Tara’s first novel in this genre, I would have been floored!  She was right up there for me with all the other well-known authors that I have read in this genre – at points I certainly enjoyed this story more.  This series is not to be compared to Tara’s Chocolate Lovers Series (which was a favorite for me), as it is a totally different genre.  But Tara taking the leap to write “A Beautiful Lie” goes to show that she has the talent to venture into another genre and did it effortlessly.

    It had a little slower of a start, but I am ok with that.  I rather have the character development and flashback stories so that I can really feel connected to the characters and their story.   I had a sense that things were going to kick up into high gear….but I had to patiently wait for it.   So, for some that need to get sucked into a book in the first several pages……..I am telling you to WAIT FOR IT……

    This book kept me wanting to read to find out all the answers and to figure out what the heck was going on.  It was full of action, suspense, twists, turns and those OMG surprising moments when you start to get your answers……and the good news is YOU WILL get your answers in THIS BOOK, they just might not be what you expect them to be.  Of course, let me not forget to tell you that T.E. can write a steamy romance scene….oh my……they will not disappoint ;-)

    Although some readers find it confusing to follow a book switching back and forth from different character’s point of views, it was not too hard to follow for me.  I really do enjoy getting into the characters heads and to know how they are feeling  (Isn’t that why we get all sucked into buying a sequel to a book because it is in the point of view of the male crush in the book?).  I am one who likes to have the point of view switch back and forth, even though it was a little confusing.  I loved to have the inside scoop what was going on in Parker and Garrett’s heads.  Even though I kept trying to tell them to do something about it already! (I don’t want to give anything away here)

    I really loved the characters Parker and Garrett.   I love a book with a strong, smart, independent, kick-ass heroine……and Parker is her…….we don’t see nearly enough of them.   Then there is Garrett, ok ladies you have to get ready for this one because he is going to be another one of your “book boyfriends”!  He had so many qualities that WILL have you wanting more!

    Will all of the pain, longing and regrets be worth it?  Go pick up your copy of “A Beautiful Lie” and tell us.  It is a read that is sure to keep you on your toes and paying attention to the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    4.5 Stars from Sara! I will first start by saying that I am now

    4.5 Stars from Sara!

    I will first start by saying that I am now convinced that I will buy any book Tara Sivec authors in the future, I have yet to read something by her that I was able to put down until I finished it. She could write a book about the historical significance of lint collecting and I'm totally there!

    Ok, so now on to this book. Oh man...there are just so many things to like about it, I hardly know where to begin. I guess first I have to comment on the fact that Tara just really knows how to set up romantic tension. The tension between the H/h for the first part of the novel was just delicious. It's a slow build and then BAM! Hotness ensues. Thank you for that.

    Second, this is just such a departure from her other books, but in a great way. It's got burning hot romance, intrigue, espionage, betrayal, mystery...you just cannot put it down until you know the entire story. It ensnares you, like any good book should, from the first chapter and doesn't let you go until the end. Honestly, I'm just blown away. Kudos.

    The characters in this book are also well constructed as well. You really learn them, learn their story, which pulls you even further into the book. The character development is top notch, as well as plot development. There's nothing that comes out of left field in a bad way. I mean, the plot keeps you guessing and trying to figure things out, but it never makes you think "HUH?" like some other books of this genre. All around, it's just a well written, well developed book.

    I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars!

    Review provided by Sara at Crystal's Many Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    beautiful

    Great love story that had it all in this romance novel. A beautiful lie is a perfect title for this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Kept me on the edge of my seat!!

    Could not wait to see how it all ended...some surprises and some things I had a feeling were going to happen...but still liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    loved it!

    LOved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    A Beautiful Lie by Tara Sivec was the beginning of what I suspec

    A Beautiful Lie by Tara Sivec was the beginning of what I suspect, will be a brilliant Romantic Suspense series. There was mystery, intrigue, action, sexual tension, (hunky) SEALs and many convoluted twists and turns to keep you guessing. (oh, did I mention SEALs???!!!)  The book opened with such a clever hook, that there was no way I was going to stop reading until I was finished! There was so much to this story, and I feel this review barely scrapes the surface.  
    When you first meet Annabelle Parker, she was a young woman shrouded in mystery, and seemed quite a simple character with little depth. Not shallow, just someone who seemed to be hiding – both emotionally and mentally. Despite her instant attraction to ‘Mr Sexy Blue Eyes’ Garrett (and we’ll get to him I promise…), she played it safe and denied herself the man she knew she loved, to be with the man less likely to hurt her. Through an interesting twist of events, we soon discovered that there was LOADS more than meets the eye with Parker; and despite her shuttered, aloof façade, there was an incredibly strong, generous, intelligent, and warm-hearted woman on the inside. She was determined to never love deeply, to shield her heart, to never again know the agony of loss.  
    Admirably loyal, humble and protective SEAL and Computer geek, Garrett McCarthy, was not only the gorgeous man in love with Parker, and the man who had denied his own needs and desires for many years, he was also sexy as all get up! (and talented in the bedroom!) In his presence, Parker’s resolve weakened. In his presence, her skin would be tingling with goose bumps and sensual awareness. In his presence, she could lose herself. But would she? How could you resist the man who says this about you? “If you were mine, I would never be able to walk away from you. If you were mine, I'd worship every inch of your body with my hands, lips, tongue. If you were mine, I wouldn't be able to stand in the same room as you without running my hands over your skin and tasting your lips” Yup! With thanks to the Author, we also had a really good mental picture of his powerfully sculptured, deliciously hot bod – thank you Tara Sivec! 
    The story moved at an excellent pace and was substantial in length; was cleverly written, keeping unsolved many loose ends until later, with many layers of intrigue all interspersed with a sexual tension and heat that gets your blood boiling.  (Yes, the sex was HOT!). In some ways, it was predictable, (good verses evil) but not to the point where you felt certain that you had correctly guessed the ending.  
    The flashbacks in the story were fitting and provided the exact amount of back-story required each time. As there was little warning when switching time, this caused momentary confusion. Similarly, as it was written in Third Person, at times, it took more effort to discern whose head you were in; occasionally distracting, but not detrimental to the story. I often wanted to slap both Garrett and Parker telling them to ‘Just. Tell. The. Truth’ about what they both felt! 
    Despite that, A Beautiful Lie was a winner! Romantic Suspense is my favorite genre, so I am possibly biased. The book was gritty, intelligently descriptive, passionate and engrossing; incredibly hard to put down, staying in my mind for days. Grab this book – you wont regret it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    You know, it's not always easy for authors to cross genres. Espe

    You know, it's not always easy for authors to cross genres. Especially when they've developed a huge fan base in another. In this case, I think it worked. 




    I'm going to go ahead and jump in with my thoughts on Annabelle. Did I like her? Eeh...I felt a bit indifferent towards her at the beginning. Don't get me wrong, I felt bad that she was grieving over Milo, but she didn't reel me in until further into the story. Now, I did end up liking her. She's pretty rad, but I think she had the potential to be bad ass. I would have liked more butt kicking scenes with her. I admire a chick who can throw a dude down. 




    Ok now Garrett, he kinda of stole the show for me. I had a serious crush on him. Not only is he smart, but he's a NAVY SEAL people! You can only imagine how stacked he must be. Am I right ladies? Anyway...besides his sex appeal, he's a very sweet guy. He's loyal and protective. Oh, and he definitely has skills in the bedroom. My biggest peeve about Garrett and Annabelle was that I got so frustrated that they wouldn't just share their feelings. I mean, can you imagine the torture of being in love with someone for 8 years and not telling them? I know they were dealing with the loss of Milo, but still. Once they got going though, I was thrilled. 




    Although I had the plot pretty much figured out early on (because I think I'm Sydney Bristow), I still enjoyed seeing the story unfold. Also, this book had such a different feel to it, even down to the writing style. I don't mind reading books in third person, even though it's not my favorite. I did feel like I really had to pay attention to who's voice I was hearing. It bothered me a bit. Not enough to stop reading though. 




    Overall, I'd say I enjoyed it. This is such a different style for Sivec and I believe that as the series progresses it will get better and better. I look forward to following along with this series. If you like a bit of suspense mixed in with your "love stories", check this one out. 




    Favorite Quote:
    "If you were mine, I would never be able to walk away from you. If you were mine, I'd worship every inch of your body with my hands, lips, tongue. If you were mine, I wouldn't be able to stand in the same room as you without running my hands over your skin and tasting your lips. If you were mine..."-Loc 1558 ARC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    great book!  different from the types of romance books i've read

    great book!  different from the types of romance books i've read lately.  the suspense kept me reading so much that i finished the book in a day.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great book!!!

    I have to say I was skeptical at first, but once I got into it I couldn't put it down. VERY different from her previous books. But she did really well. Keep up the good work! I can't wait to read more! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1