Customer Reviews for

A Beautiful Wedding: A Beautiful Disaster Novella

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful closure to this beautiful story.  Oh how I have missed

Beautiful closure to this beautiful story.
 Oh how I have missed Travis and Abby.  Beautiful Disaster is one of my favorite books ever and Travis Maddox is one of my all-time favorite book boyfriends.  I just fell in love with him, and with his and Abby's story in Beaut...
Beautiful closure to this beautiful story.
 Oh how I have missed Travis and Abby.  Beautiful Disaster is one of my favorite books ever and Travis Maddox is one of my all-time favorite book boyfriends.  I just fell in love with him, and with his and Abby's story in Beautiful Disaster, and then enjoyed getting to see things from his point of view in Walking Disaster.  I was so excited to find out that Jamie McGuire was writing A Beautiful Wedding, and have anxiously been waiting to get my hands on it so I could read more of Travis and Abby's story.  A Beautiful Wedding takes place between the ending of the A Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster, and the awesome epilogue that was in Walking Disaster.  We all know they got married and got a glimpse into their lives a number of years down the road, but what happened at the wedding?  Well, hold on to your hats and get ready to find out everything you want to know about the how, why, what, and when regarding the wedding, the events that lead up to it, the reason behind the rush, the wedding night, and even a glimpse into their future.  One of the things I loved most about this novella was the relationship between Abby and Travis. Whereas in the previous novels they went through so much drama, pain, obstacles, fighting, and separation, before they finally got together, in A Beautiful Wedding we get to see a more mature side of Abby and Travis and the solidity of their commitment as they experience the unselfishness that come with totally giving yourself to another person in love.  I think you will love this side of Travis and Abby.  Don't get me wrong they are still Travis and Abby, and Travis is still the Travis we have all come to know and love, just a more grown up version.  Travis has always rocked my world with his bad boy vibe, his hotness, his swagger, and his intensity, but in A Beautiful Wedding girls, Travis Maddox will make you SWOON big time.  I loved A Beautiful Wedding and the completeness it brought to this timeless love story.  I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

posted by AlwaysYAatHeart1 on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoiler

3.49 is too much to pay for a 100 pg book, especially when plot spoilers give everything away. Please plot spoilers, give it a rest and stop ruining books for other readers. Have some consideration for others and stop being so rude and thoughtless.

posted by 8888649 on December 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful closure to this beautiful story.  Oh how I have missed

    Beautiful closure to this beautiful story.
     Oh how I have missed Travis and Abby.  Beautiful Disaster is one of my favorite books ever and Travis Maddox is one of my all-time favorite book boyfriends.  I just fell in love with him, and with his and Abby's story in Beautiful Disaster, and then enjoyed getting to see things from his point of view in Walking Disaster.  I was so excited to find out that Jamie McGuire was writing A Beautiful Wedding, and have anxiously been waiting to get my hands on it so I could read more of Travis and Abby's story.  A Beautiful Wedding takes place between the ending of the A Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster, and the awesome epilogue that was in Walking Disaster.  We all know they got married and got a glimpse into their lives a number of years down the road, but what happened at the wedding?  Well, hold on to your hats and get ready to find out everything you want to know about the how, why, what, and when regarding the wedding, the events that lead up to it, the reason behind the rush, the wedding night, and even a glimpse into their future.  One of the things I loved most about this novella was the relationship between Abby and Travis. Whereas in the previous novels they went through so much drama, pain, obstacles, fighting, and separation, before they finally got together, in A Beautiful Wedding we get to see a more mature side of Abby and Travis and the solidity of their commitment as they experience the unselfishness that come with totally giving yourself to another person in love.  I think you will love this side of Travis and Abby.  Don't get me wrong they are still Travis and Abby, and Travis is still the Travis we have all come to know and love, just a more grown up version.  Travis has always rocked my world with his bad boy vibe, his hotness, his swagger, and his intensity, but in A Beautiful Wedding girls, Travis Maddox will make you SWOON big time.  I loved A Beautiful Wedding and the completeness it brought to this timeless love story.  I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Plot spoiler

    3.49 is too much to pay for a 100 pg book, especially when plot spoilers give everything away. Please plot spoilers, give it a rest and stop ruining books for other readers. Have some consideration for others and stop being so rude and thoughtless.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    BEST Novella EVER!

    This Novella did NOT disappoint! You get a more detailed account of Abby & Travis' Vegas wedding. Plus a brief look into their lives after. I only hope we will someday soon be reading "A Beautiful Baby"?! Maybe?? Great job, Jamie!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Not worth $3.49. for 102 pages. Good

    Not worth $3.49. for 102 pages. Good

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You know, sometimes there¿s come a point in the life of a series

    You know, sometimes there’s come a point in the life of a series where you want to sit the author down and say to them, “Listen, it’s been swell. It’s getting old, though. Just stop. Just stop it and let the series die a peaceful death.” (I’m looking at you Pretty Little Liars.) Unfortunately, that time has come much sooner for the Beautiful series by Jamie McGuire.

    Beautiful Disaster was a fine book. It certainly could have been (and *should* have been) a stand-alone book. We didn’t need the same story from Travis. Be honest, there wasn’t enough of a change between Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster. Yeah, I get it… It was the same story so most everything should be the same. Okay, but no. It was the *exact* same story with *very little* changed, repacked, and sold as a separate book. There was no difference between Abby’s point-of-view (BD) and Travis’ point-of-view (WD) and the last time I checked, they were two separate people no matter how in love they actually are.

    All that nonsense aside, we couldn’t possibly let Abby and Travis rest in the land of ended series, could we? Nope! Now we’ve got A Beautiful Wedding which practically changes the story that we were led to believe… within the first few pages! Super Fans of the series certainly won’t like this. I’ll be honest, I didn’t too much care for it, either. Though I’m not invested in the series whatsoever it still ruined the story that I previously read.

    I didn’t care for this book at all. I didn’t really care for Walking Disaster, either, though. I guess I have a horrible tendency to read books that I know I’m not going to enjoy. This should certainly be a lesson for me, but I doubt it will be.

    Be sure to check out all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    After finishing Beautiful Disaster, I remember being a bit bumme

    After finishing Beautiful Disaster, I remember being a bit bummed because I wanted to see Travis and Abby get married. Just finding out they got tattoos wasn't enough for me- I wanted details! Lucky for us, Jamie McGuire decided to write a novella to fill us in on how Abby and Travis got to that point and how everything progressed from there.

    I really enjoyed this novella. It was cute, sweet, and funny too! Abby and Travis are one of those couples that really drive you crazy and will make you shake your head at them and wonder, 'How are these two even together?' They are both stubborn, passionate individuals and you can see that in all aspects of their lives, especially their relationship. However, Travis and Abby really do love each other deeply and we are reminded of that in this novella so many times.

    "And when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever."

    I will say, some of Abby's decisions bothered me (as they did in the previous books) and I was really fearful for where McGuire was going to take this novella. We really get to see firsthand that Travis is not the only one who is extremely protective of Abby- she is of him as well. She would do anything to ensure his safety and while that would seem endearing, it actually caused some inner conflict. One of my favorite things about Travis is that he is so attentive to Abby. He cares about her comfort and he puts her wants and needs first and that is a very beautiful thing. Oh, and did I mention this novella was dual POV? Oh, yes folks- you get to see our boy in action and he will make you laugh, swoon, and then cry all in the span of 160 pages!

    There is absolutely one scene in this book that gave me chills. In fact, I think it made the whole damn book because of how emotional and beautiful it was. I wasn't expecting it, and yet it was so pivotal to not only the novella, but for Abby as well.

    Travis and Abby are both still trying to process the events that took place in Keaton Hall and we really get to see firsthand just how much of a toll this takes on both of them not only mentally, but emotionally as well. It was worrisome to wonder if Abby and Travis were really in their right state of minds at this point to go forward with their plans to get married. We do see some insecurities, some self-doubt, and some hesitance in the beginning, but come on. It's Abby and Travis- nothing is bound to go as planned! However, all of those things aside- these two truly do love one another and want to be together forever and nothing is going to stop them from doing that.

    This novella has a lot of great moments in it: some will have you laughing out loud (Trent!), some will have you happy sighing from all the sweetness, and some will have you fanning yourself because of how sexy and steamy Abby and Travis can be together. I felt McGuire did a great job of answering our questions as to what really happened the night Travis and Abby got married, as well as gave us a little taste in what came next for our couple.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Now, you know how much I love Abby and Travis!! So when I heard

    Now, you know how much I love Abby and Travis!! So when I heard about this book you know I jumped on it!!

    Plot: The plot is simple. It follows the events leading up to Abby and Travis’s wedding. I pretty much knew what is happening or rather what would happen, still there are a few new things the reader gets to see.

    1. Why they got married. (Honestly, I wish I hadn’t read this part. It sort of ruined my happily ever after for Abby and Travis.)

    2. A secret letter. OMG. This letter made me cry sooooooooo hard. LOVE!

    It’s a great addition to the series. Though for me, I would have not wanted to know some things. A Beautiful Wedding is still an awesome addition.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Loved this novella! YES, finally, the ending I'd been needing all along. I worried it had been too long since I'd read BEAUTIFUL DISASTER and WALKING DISASTER for this short story to make an impression. I was so mistaken! Right from the beginning I was transported back in time. Jamie McGuire did an amazing job of making the reader relive, reexperience all the love (and some of the angst) a third time around. Both Abby and Travis have POV's. An unforgetable love story with a superb ending finally! I highly recommend reading this book.
    S.A.K.

    P.S. there's actually sex scenes too!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    I missed Travis and Abby!

    This was so nice. I fell in love with these characters and I'm glad Jaime McGuire decided to add this short story for them. I loved how Walking Disaster ended and told of the future 10 years later but this was a piece that had been missing from their journey. I refer this story to all my friends and everyone just fell in love with Travis. Why do girls always fall for the bad boys? In this case I'm glad Abby did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Loved it!!! Ready for more!!!

    Was a very good read!!! Can not wait for more of the Maddox men!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Wanted more :(

    I LOVED Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster. I don't usually read books over again, but for those I probably will. I might have had too high of expectations for this novella, however, it just didn't seem like the same Abby and Travis I fell in love with before. It seemed a bit rushed and similar to fanfiction quality to me. Whereas, Jamie McGuire is usually a MUCH better writer than that. I hate to say anything negative, but I wish that she would have left the story alone rather than adding this to it. But I'm glad some other people enjoyed it! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Amazing! Loved all three books! Travis and Abby's story is by fa

    Amazing! Loved all three books! Travis and Abby's story is by far the greatest I've read. Not one to spoil the book so I say it's a must read!!!
    I really hope Jamie writes another that book that continues from the end of Walking Disaster. Like maybe a Beautiful Baby, or Beautiful Forever???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Good read

    I love, love, love Travis & Abby! I can not get enough of them! And I love that we got a glimpse of this chapter in their lives. Jamie McGuire is a genius!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Shanna Godley

    I loved this book. I didn't realize how much I missed Travis and Abby and the other characters until I read this. Hope to hear more about them in future books! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    ..

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Love love love

    It was amazing!!! I am ready for more Maddox men! Lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Wow

    Wow! I loved this book! It was a perfect novella to follow BEAUTIFUL DISASTER and WALKING DISASTER! I loved seeing the actual wedding and what was going on in their minds! I don't think Abby married Travis just to keep him out of jail, maybe it was her initial thought to why she wanted to do it, but it isn't the reason she ended up marrying him. She married him because she loved him and couldn't live without her other half! Also, on the opinion of whether Travis should have been held responsible for the deaths from the fire. No, I don't think he should be held responsible, Adam set the fight up in a dangerous place and added the lanterns. Everyone that showed up including Travis was there of their own accord, he didn't pick the place or make people go. Anyways, I love Travis and Abby and I fell in love with Travis all over again! I hope there are more books to come on the Maddox family including an update on Travis and Abby! I loved it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Loooooved it!

    Would have given 5 stars if it was longer and went into their married life more, other than that super easy & a great read. I read it in one day easily

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Thank you for another chance at having Travis and Abby in my life!!!

    I absolutley fell in love with Travis Maddox and both Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster easily made their way into the list of my favorite books!!! This one is no different! Seeing them go to Vegas and get married was an absolute perfect end to a perfect series!!! I can't wait to see what Jamie McGuire has in store for us when she writes about the other Maddox boys!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved it

    **spoiler alert** It was nice to see what happened with the wedding. But it was emotional to see travis go through the event of the fire. Not sure though if I liked the way abby handeled that situation. Almost like she only married him to keep him out of jail and wouldn't have married him otherwise. I almost want to say that travis should've been held responsible for that fire and not just adam. Really conflicted on that. Also would've liked to seen an epilouge several years down the road.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8